We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Canoa accommodations

Hostal Coco Loco

Save
You added Hostal Coco Loco to your Saves list
Fernando Cassis, Malecon, Canoa, Ecuador
Hotel amenities
Hostal Coco Loco
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Canoa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canoa
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    9
    11
    12
See reviews for
3
27
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I do not recommend staying at Coco Loco. The toilets were perpetually blocked, which seems to have been the case for months, yet received no attention from the owner. The dorm was never cleaned, except by paying customers who couldn't stand the squalor any longer. Despite being on the equator, there were no fans in the rooms, and we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pool table and the bar were awesome to have, but our room smelt like musty sewage, we had a fair number of large bug friends in our room, and the bathrooms were super clogged all of the time. The price was good, I highly recommend you check out your room before you decide to stay there

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canoa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I were passing through Canoa and stayed right on the beach in Coco Loco. We had a private room for a great price. There were a lot of other travelers there, so it was a great place to meet people and find out what was going on in town. Good WIFI and there's a pool table! Fun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friendly staff and relaxed Feeling you get when You get here makes you want to stay indefenetly sadly this isnt possible but comming here from the north and south is a thing you should do more than once. accomodations are bacic but clean the hangout area is cossy and comfortable so I would say if you like the backpackers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So I arrive after a long bus journey, I stumble across a cool looking hostal on the beach. When I checked in I'm surrounded by backpackers from everywhere relaxing and having a drink or two. Very cool music, good grilled food - alcohol at local shop prices and hammocks, outside pool table shaded cover and sun spots. Not one word... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I was living in Bahia and first started surfing in Canoa, this was the place I would always come to eat, drink beer, leave my backpack, etc. while I was out in the water. Since then I continue to come back over and over, and always have had a great experience. The owner, Elizabeth, is very sweet. Coco Loco... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The recent reviews here are right.. Coco Loco is pretty run down. Your Lonely Planet guide raves about this place, but Coco Loco has definitely seen better days. I literally have yet to see unclogged toilets, and the whole place is a bit musty. The owner is a nice gal who sounds jaded and tired of running the place. It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Well no, Coco Loco isn't new anymore. She has seen a lot of great times had by a lot of great people. I wouldn't say she is run down, just older and wiser. I like to think the Coco Loco has character. We have a full time maintainance man who keeps things running as smoothly as you can in front... More 

Warrenton, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok, so my wife and I stayed here our last night in Canoa…It was nice that the owner took in some dogs or cared for them but they crapped every where and were like dying. It was a very sad sight to see. The place kinda smelled and our room was very musty. The public bathrooms were always clogged and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Yes, I do feed street dogs. Yes, we do work with an awesome group of travelling animal doctors to spay and neuter street dogs and cats. If one has a poo we clean it up right away. My three year old plays in this yard, There is not poo everywhere. There is no smoking in rooms or anywhere indoors. People... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

we decided to go to the coco loco because it was suggested in our travel guide. unfortunately our stay was horrible: the room was okay but it was not possible to close the door to the balcony, that everybody could go in all the time. the bathrooms were dirty and clogged and the staff was not able to repair that.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

This is a duplicate review, as for the breakfast...We don't serve breakfast September, October, November. We might have been trying to be nice and order breakfast from across the street for you. Wont be doing that again since being nice gets you Horrible!!!! reviews. Hope you enjoyed the other hostal and loved Canoa! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Although the first impression is good due to the location close to the beach as well as the outstanding building, our stay was very disappointing. The most annoying issue were older, drunk men (obviously friends of the owners) that were bothering us at the bar and in the communal bathrooms. Not a nice thing when you have to go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Well, not sue where to begin with this one. We are in a constant battle with the city about the sewage pipes. The new treatment plant is scheduled to be finished in a month or two. We really do try SO hard to maintain clean bathrooms, it doesnt help that people put things that don't go in toilets, in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostal Coco Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Coco Loco

Address: Fernando Cassis, Malecon, Canoa, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Canoa
Number of rooms: 9

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay