We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nishimuraya Honkan

Certificate of Excellence
469 Kinosakicho Yushima, Toyooka 669-6101, Hyogo Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nishimuraya Honkan
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nishimuraya Honkan
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    114
    15
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
64
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Completely lived up to the expectations based on the great reviews. Lovely building, tasteful rooms - we had one of the simpler rooms but it was still very large (a mini suite) with a garden view, and very discreet, not overlooked. Incredibly professional service with good English. oved the food too. Make sure you try both the in-house onsen as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KinosakiNishimuraya, Front Office Manager at Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this review

Dear ItaloUK, Thank you for your very kind review and we are glad your stay was everything you hoped it would be. We hope you come to visit us again in Kinosaki Onsen and we will work hard to make your next time even better than the first! More 

London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I chose this venue as a an unusual addition to our more traditional Tokyo - Kyoto - Kanazawa tour and our first time in Japan. Kinosaki onsen is a delightfully quaint and pretty town right next to the sea of Japan, and with 7 old public baths alongside numerous trinket shops, a craft museum, some excellent restaurants (particularly recommend Orizuru... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KinosakiNishimuraya, Front Office Manager at Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this review

Dear Austin A. Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and your very detailed and kind feedback. Also, thank you very much for visiting us in Kinosaki Onsen as part of your first trip to Japan. Please allow us to apologize that the second night meal and western-style breakfast did not live up to expectations. We will... More 

Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Hashimuraya Honkan is a beautiful ryokan, one of the nicest we've ever been to. The house is quite large and beautifully decorated with a very nice garden you can stroll through. Food and service were superb and the baths are very nice as well. The staff seems to be more relaxed around foreigners than at some other places. So this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KinosakiNishimuraya, IT室 at Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Kinosaki Onsen with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future! More 

New York, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I can't say enough good things about Nishimuraya. It was the high-point of Japan for our group of five 30-somethings. Service was top-notch from start to finish. I was pleasantly surprised by how much English was spoken by the staff. One recent reviewer complained about the lack of English, which seems unreasonable to me. This is a traditional Japanese Ryokan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KinosakiNishimuraya, IT室 at Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your very warm and valuable feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future :) More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Pricey but totally worth the stay. Exceptional food, with rice and food cooked in your room. Felt completely absorbed in Japanese tradition, we even wore yukata and robes outside of the inn to go to the public hot springs which are included in your stay. Sitting in our own hot bath overlooking a private garden was peaceful. The staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KinosakiNishimuraya, IT室 at Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your time in Kinosaki Onsen with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future! More 

Bellaire, Texas
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
76 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

This is the first place that we spent the night in Japan and I don't think that we could have picked a better place to stay. We took the train from Kobe and enjoyed seeing the countryside. A Shuttle bus met us at the station and took us to our room which had a nice view of the garden. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KinosakiNishimuraya, Front Office Manager at Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this review

Dear TomFromBellaire, Thank you for spending your first night in Japan with us in Kinosaki Onsen! Thank you also for taking the time to write a review and give us your valuable feedback. We will share your kind words with all of our staff and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Nishimuraya in the future! More 

Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

We stayed at Nishimuraya Honkan for 1 night in April. They have a free shuttle which pick you up from the train station. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the staff for the check in. The staff also showed us around the premise. The hotel is beautifully decorated, with a quaint Japanese garden and a small museum which housed many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KinosakiNishimuraya, IT室 at Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Nishimuraya Honkan and for your kind feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back to Kinosaki Onsen again! More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

My wife and I have been to Japan numerous times, and each time we try and visit a new onsen town. We saw the wonderful reviews this ryokan had on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a go. It was by far the most expensive ryokan night we've ever had, but without a doubt worth every penny. Although they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KinosakiNishimuraya, IT室 at Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this review

Dear WooblesCafe, Thank you for your kind feedback and comments about our ryokan and Kinosaki Onsen. We are happy you enjoyed your time here! We are looking forward to welcoming you back again! More 

San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

disappointing about the service and considering it's a popular place for international visitors, staff didn't speak adequate english. dinner felt very rushed, it started to bring 2 courses a time, including my soup. i had to stop eating my appetizer to eat my soup before it got cold. i had to call the front desk and ask to bring out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KinosakiNishimuraya, Front Office Manager at Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this review

Dear jackiecooke, Please allow us to deeply apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We slowed the serving of your dinner at your request but we did not correctly understand how you wanted it slowed down. We offer our most sincerest apologies for disappointing you. We are training and working with our staff to improve their... More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Arriving at Kinosaki train station, it's a small station so no worries on multiple exits, the shuttle buses are parked right outside the main entrance. Just mention Nishimuraya and your on your way. Brilliant welcome, shoes off and we get the low-down on the onsen rules, get fully kitted out with our clothing for the next 2 days - yes-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

194 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (156)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay