We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 March B&Bs / inns

The Anchor Inn

Save
You added The Anchor Inn to your Saves list
12 Norfolk Street | Wimblington, March PE15 0QA, England
Hotel amenities
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 March B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in March
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Retford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed in the pub on a weekend break - great room, lovely shower room and the pub has a really good menu and (according to hubby) good range of beers. Reasonable prices and I love the mix of traditional pub with modern update. Great base for seeing the area - we went to St Neots and Cambridge and don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
March, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I live in the village of Wimblington and over the years we have had several landlords of The Anchor. However the "new" landlord and landlady have really made an effort. The dining room has been revamped and the selection of food is really wide with plenty of veggie options. They do a "two meals for £12" offer which means, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Fell in love with this beautiful village and decided to stop for a meal. Well priced and good quality. As we left we bumped into the chef who was genuinely happy to be there, told us about the renovation and menu. It was a lovely afternoon meal. Very clean and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight in room 1 for dinner, b&b. Dining area in pub is attractive, recently renovated and food good. Room 1 is a good size with excellent ensuite. All squeaky clean. Tony very welcoming and kept kitchen open - we'd arrived late at 8-30pm. Dinner very pleasant and we would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

we have never stayed here before , so did not no what we where walking into. But very pleased to say just excellent dinning area, excellent bar, and the room was EXCELLENT, very clean everywhere the staff could not do enough for use. Breakfast was something to die for very well presented and hot more if we wanted it. Plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Corozal Town, Belize
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Who would guess this little village could have such a gem in its heart? My beautiful spacious and well-appointed room had a spotless and very attractive bathroom. The new owners were busy redecorating when I arrived, so dinner was not an option that evening. Breakfast made up for that the next morning - a nicely cooked and presented full English... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

Quiet when we arrived about 6 o'clock bar maid very welcoming. Had a drink and then great food compliments to the chef .Atmosphere was very welcoming from staff and locals : )thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

recently spent 2 nights and couldnt have been more pleased. A friendly welcome, food to die for and room 1 spotlessly clean and well decorated. Wont hesitate to stay again next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thurso, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had to find a pet-friendly hotel at short notice and found the Anchor Inn on a dog-friendly accommodation website. We arrived to a very warm welcome and were shown to a lovely room (1) at the top of the stairs. It was immaculately clean, beautifully and tastefully decorated, with a huge bathroom! Even though it faced the road, it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We booked this inn because of the reviews. Our experience - the rooms are in an extension behind the inn, approached by a Upvc door leading directly onto a dirty staircase smelling strongly of damp, heavily overlaid by cheap room spray. We were taken to room no 5 which was very dingy and decorated in 1950's style in brown and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
theanchor, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. To try and cover all points, the stair well up to the b and b is new however it is not an exention of the old building but a rebuild and the rooms are all in the old building. I can only think that the damp smell... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Address: 12 Norfolk Street | Wimblington, March PE15 0QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > March
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Anchor Inn March, United Kingdom

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay