We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Hatsukaichi B&Bs / inns

Guest House Kikugawa

You added Guest House Kikugawa to your Saves list
796 Miyajimacho, Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture 739-0511, Japan
Hotel amenities
Guest House Kikugawa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hatsukaichi
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Really lovely place to stay with a friendly welcome, quiet and nicely set out rooms and a convenient location for exploring Miyajima. The dinner was utterly brilliant - lost of great dishes wonderfully cooked.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed only one night and after leaving early the next morning wished we'd booked another night to see more of the island including Daishō-in temple on Mt Misen. Anyway our Japanese Room was excellent and the room including ensuite was huge by Japanese standards. It was clean, tidy and unlike other feedback there wasn't a bed bug in sight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in room 207 (Japanese loft room), really enjoyed the location, the place was clean and very authentically Japanese. The breakfast was superb. The staff were reasonably helpful. Unfortunately were were terrorised by bed bugs and had a sleepless night. The guest house doors get locked after 23:00 and we could not get out or get any service at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kikugawa, オーナー at Guest House Kikugawa, responded to this review

We appreciate your bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We were able to notice the bug.We coped with it immediately. The hot wind extermination and disinfection extermination by a special contractor are carried out. We will continue until we can exterminate completely. Thank you very much for letting us know... More

Barcelona, Spain
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in this guest house for a night. It was the most expensive accomodation we booked during our holidays in Japan, but worthy if you want to try ryokan (kind of) and overnight at the beautiful Miyajima. Unfortunatelly, one of the highlights of our experience in Japan was spoiled by this guest house. The japanese room was allright, expensive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Miyajima was the highlight of our trip to Japan. Definitely stay the night there; once the tourists clear out, everything is so peaceful, plus the torii and shrine are lit up, which is really pretty spectacular. However, all the shops and most of the restaurants close, so it was very nice to have dinner at the ryokan. Kikugawa was more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you have the time to stay on Miyajima, it is worth it. This little guest house has dinner and breakfast options and we shelled out the extra for both. We were so pleasantly rewarded with a beautiful dinner prepared in 7 courses with fresh local food. They catered to a seafood allergy which was a great thing. They have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very nice place to stay on this stunning island. It is pretty good value, and very well kept and maintained. The staff are fairly helpful, but nor on a par with other places we stayed in Japan. They were not great hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 1 night in this ryokan with my family ( 2 adults And 2 small children). Excellent location just 3 minutes from the ferry, friendly welcome. The room was japanese type with good futons and traditional pillows ( quite hard so be prepared), decent seize for 3 futons. We didn't do dinner or breakfast there as prizes are steep.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here one night on our trip to the island.It was conviently located, very close to the ferrys which was a major plus since we were taking an early ride out. The island itself is very tiny, we were very close to the main streets and temples. We had two rooms there, one a traditional japanese room and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New Westminster, Canada
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels and ryokan over four vacations in Japan and this establishment I think provided the hardest bed and pillow (even though we stayed in a Western-style room and not a traditional one). The walls are also very thin: we heard people in next room having a simple, quiet conversation. Good location (very close to ferry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Guest House Kikugawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Kikugawa

Address: 796 Miyajimacho, Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture 739-0511, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hatsukaichi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Guest House Kikugawa Hotel Hatsukaichi
Guest House Kikugawa Japan/Hiroshima Prefecture - Hatsukaichi

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (17)
Room/suite (1)
Bathroom (1)
Dining (10)
View from room (1)
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (5)
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay