We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castlecary House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Castlecary Road | Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castlecary House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castlecary House Hotel
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    92
    38
    20
    23
See reviews for
56
111
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
There are newer reviews for Castlecary House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

This was our 18 yr olds choice of venue for her family birthday meal. there was a party of 14 ranging in ages from 7 months to 70yrs old, so lots of differing tastes and requirements. On entering the dining room we werent really impressed with the set up as it looked as if the tables had just been put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for the birthday celebration, I was pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your dinning experience but I am sorry that you felt that the restaurant set up wasn't what you had hoped for. If the occasion arises where you wish to consider us again, we have a superb small private dining room which lends... More

Wick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Together with my husband we have booked the hotel last minute, just for one night. We arrived in the evening, very tired after a long drive. We were not expecting anything special, but were very surprised to find the hotel friendly, our room was very big, clean and the bed was very comfy. Our little boy was with us, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Your review means a great deal to us all – a huge thank you. We have a new Head Chef joining us within a matter of weeks and I know that the hot breakfast offering is part of his planned review. With all good wishes, Jonathan More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I had arranged to have meal in the bar to the side of the Castlecary, I used to come here regularly and have memories of lovely steak pie dinners and a nice busy and cosy wee bar. It was practically empty which was unusual for Friday night dinner time. Once placing our order, I had a wee chance to look... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I hope that one day we will be able to show you that we can do much better and if you wish to reach out to me personally please feel free to do so at any time. With kind regards, Jonathan More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights here in August, We had a delightful time in a lovely, spacious and very clean room (253). We were very pleased with the accommodation and we had breakfast every morning in the restaurant. The food was excellent and the waitresses could not have been better or more pleasant. We also had a family... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review and recommendation – a huge thank you. With all good wishes, Jonathan More

Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Had an overnight stay here recently - a "courtyard" room (247). Have traveled extensively, internationally, & never ever seen / come across such a "dusty" hotel room. It was filthy. Wardrobe shelves / drawer handles etc., etc.. Janet, at reception, offered to have the room cleaned (which she did) & also offered to change the room & a free lunch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

We were naturally extremely upset to learn of the disappointment we caused you. We truly hope that you will choose to stay with us again because we would not wish the memories you took away with you to be your lasting ones of Castlecary House Hotel. Please feel free to reach out to this office whenever we can be of... More

Argyll And Bute, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed at this fab hotel for 1 night only as was attending a wedding nearby. We had a big room with a double bed for myself & my daughter & 2 single camp style beds for my two grandchildren. Very good value for money which included an excellent breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, the team joins me in thanking you for your wonderful review. Please reach out to us if we can assist with any future reservations and we will be happy to assist you. With regards, Jonathan More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I'm local to the area so have driven past this hotel often, but as I now live in England I sometimes stay in hotels when visiting family. We couldn't get booked last minute into one of the major chains and my brother found the Castlecary House Hotel for us. I'm very glad he did. The family room we booked was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a lovely review – thank you for your many kind words. We look forward to all your future stays and to your reaching out to us whenever we can be of assistance to you. With best wishes, Jonathan More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as a place to hang our hats when going to a wedding nearby. Upon arrival we were greeted by an unfriendly staff member who informed us we weren't staying in the main body of the hotel but instead in the outhouses across the road. We were given a key and pointed in the general... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent stay at Castlecary House Hotel. I am sorry to read that your stay wasn't what you had hoped for and assure you that this isn't representative. Yes it would appear that you had booked a external room in the Courtyard Mews ( all booking systems carry a description... More

Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

The secret to good customer services not in there being no problems but in how problems are dealt with. Well the staff here shrug and don't even answer. My sister in law had a cockroach in her room and when she complained they said "well we'd need to see that" to which she replied "I have a photo". On viewing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Always difficult when you get a review like this. No one likes reading them, particularly when it is at complete odds with all our previous reviews. I was saddened to read this TripAdvisor review, which reads somewhat like a publicised attempt at confrontation, it appears some of your comments are inaccurate and bordering on the imaginary. I understand that your... More

Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
458 reviews 458 reviews
148 hotel reviews
558 helpful votes 558 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night to go to the Fringe Festival in Edinburgh ( 35 to 40 mins drive - but saving ££s in Hotel fees...). We were accomodated in a kind of challet thing - most accomodation appears to be in a string of bungalow type outhouses - initially thought it was a bit like Butlins ! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

All the team really appreciated your very kind review and join together in looking forward to welcoming you back. With all good wishes, Jonathan More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Castlecary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecary House Hotel

Address: Castlecary Road | Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlecary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castlecary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecary Hotel Glasgow
Castlecary House Hotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay