We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Basse Cour

3 rue de l'Oisellerie, 72610 Ancinnes, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Basse Cour
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
La Basse Cour
La Basse Cour
La Basse Cour
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
60
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Hollis Center, Maine, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A very comfortable B & B amid a region of picturesque small villages in the French countryside and a real bargain as well. Hosts Phil and Jude immediately make you feel at home in this beautifully restored old house and their extensive gardens are not to be missed either. We would definitely return and recommend it very highly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Excellent B and B highly recommended. Lovely grounds, high quality rooms. Jude and Phil very friendly and helpful, good information of the area -maps, leaflets attractions etc. Nice village and area, defiantly will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Putting aside the beautiful old farmhouse and our room itself, the lovely gardens and terraces set this apart from other places we stayed - a lot better than a lot of Sawdays! Comfy, clean bedroom and super shower. A guest sitting room with telly, books, drinks and wifi were an unexpected bonus.There was a photo album showing how the house... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

This place delivers everything it promises - and more. Perfectly situated for a stopover when travelling either direction on the autoroute, or as a base for a short break in Normandy. The rooms are very comfortable, quiet and charmingly colour-coded. The generous breakfast with homemade jams and marmalade etc satisfyingly kick starts the day. The hosts - Phil and Jude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review - we appreciate it very much and we're looking forward to your next visit. We've made a few updates to the rooms since last summer - nothing drastic, just some new carpets in the sitting room, new floor coverings in the bathrooms, fresh paintwork, some new sticks of furniture. Nothing drastic so... More 

Pethshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

A very comfy stay. Everything wonderfully clean and spotless and very fine value at 70 euros a room per night. Breakfast very pleasant. What it isn't is the full Sawday/"Lost In France" experience with quirky quirkiness everywhere, pre-Revolution furniture etc. The renovations of the property make for a pristine, - and perhaps slightly clinical - stay rather than a trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour, responded to this review

Hi M We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and found everything comfy and in pristine condition - also that our restaurant recommendation was a hit, I think you mentioned "among the best you've had in France". Funnily, Sawday did offer to list us but we declined as they wanted to charge almost £1,000 for the honour! You're right on our... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

It is quite dismaying that there are one or two churlish comments about La Basse Cour on this website. One can only assume that these 'renegade' people simply do not appreciate that any B&B establishment is purely and simply the home of the hosts. Rules are clear about arrival times and within the parameters of this a warm welcome can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour, responded to this review

I would like to explain to anyone reading this review that "Mike6412" has subsequently removed his review after we posted our management response and after the ripostes in the reviews posted by "VCPipeman" and "bluemooner45". Many thanks to both of you for putting the record straight. It was lovely to meet you both and we're glad you were able to... More 

Cuddington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I don't pen many reviews and would normally review somewhere within a week of my stay, However, upon reading 'Mike6412's I feel I have to comment on some of the unfairness of his review. My wife and I stayed at La Basse Cour for a week during early September 2013, a period overlapped by Mike6412. Although I cannot recall his... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour, responded to this review

I would like to explain to anyone reading this review that "Mike6412" has subsequently removed his review after we posted our management response and after the ripostes in the reviews posted by your good self and VCPipeman. Many thanks for putting the record straight - we'll look forward to seeing the two of you again some day soon, I hope.... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We can recommend this beautiful B&B in the knowledge that you will not be disappointed. The hosts Jude & Phil are excellent and the rooms are of the highest standard with an addition of a lounge for the evening. If you like gardening or just enjoy being in a wonderful garden then go to this B&B where your hosts love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour, responded to this review

Hello again and thank you for the super review. But thank you even more for enjoying the house and the gardens - as you can tell, we don't work hard in the garden just to keep it to ourselves, it's definitely for sharing. :) You're right, we don't have a restaurant in walking distance unless you REALLY like walking! Bourg-le-Roi... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

What an absolute gem! Chosen originally at random, probably the best b&b we have ever used ... And there have been lots! This place is idyllic. Beautifully restored farm house, gardens a delight, room immaculate, warm welcome and helpful advice about what to do. (Phil and Jude are the perfect hosts). So pleased we booked an extra night. Borrowed bikes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour, responded to this review

Hello John and Gill We hope you'll be back, too - it was a pleasure for us and we're glad you enjoyed yourselves. Your borrowing the bikes also prompted me to fit those new bike tyres that I'd been putting off! The Mansonière Gardens at St Ceneri are super, aren't they? Now you know what we're aiming for here. :)... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

just stayed for one night as a stop-over on the way elsewhere. welcome wasn't as warm as we got everywhere else and the town of Alencon is nothing special compared to other places in France. I agree with a review from another traveller that there are too many signs everywhere telling you what to do, it makes you feel a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Basse_Cour, Owner at La Basse Cour, responded to this review

As you were only here one night, perhaps you did not really have time to appreciate Alençon. Monday night when you stopped over, is when many French businesses have a day off so it would have been quieter than normal, though any day of the week I’ll admit it’s not Paris or Bordeaux! It’s a French town with a pretty... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
3:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay