We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Gordon's Bay B&Bs / inns

Manor on the Bay

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   117 Beach Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Manor on the Bay to your Saves list
Manor on the Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
96%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Nightingale1961 Cirencester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
43
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed overnight at the Manor on the Bay, whilst travelling around the Western Cape. The room was delightful, spacious room and bathroom. Everything was thought of that you might need. The breakfast was all delicious and cooked to order. My only negative was that we stayed in several exceptional hotels and guest houses whilst we travelling, but the Manor... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The family room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The view on the sea was very relaxing. The service was very good and welcoming. The amount cupboard space was perfect for a family of four. This was the best family room I ever stayed in. Don't try the complementary rusks, once you do, you can't stop, they are so delicious.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in room 6. Handles of cupboard need to be repaired. Kept falling off because they are stripped. Didn't refill rusks and sherry. On the positive side, commend you on providing us with early breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

After a week-long and action-packed business trip encompassing both Johannesburg and Cape Town, I faced my final day in beautiful Cape Town in a dated city centre corporate hotel with 3000 extra people in the city for an event...I wanted to remember my first encounter with SA positively and...Manor on the Bay revitalised me - leaving me with South Africa's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. Glad the Manor served you well. Thank you for the dinner recommendation. We will consider this as I think it could add value for business delegates and late arrivals. Hope to see you back here soon! More

Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our stay at Manor on the Bay was in one word: awesome! The rooms are spacious and clean, the service is excellent and the view of the Gordons Bay harbor and False Bay from the front lawn is extraordinary. If given the opportunity we will definitely visit MOTB again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review! We look forward to having you back at the Manor. More

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed. The whole place is looking run down. It needs a good paint, the garden is neglected and the pool was dirty. Our room had damp on the ceiling, the lamp was broken, the showers drain was blocked and the TV didn't have the channels promised. It is over priced for what we got.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Chris Thank you for your review. Not always easy to read the odd negative review, but appreciated never the less. We welcome constructive feedback as this keeps us on our toes and able to improve our facility. Sadly most of what you've mentioned does need attention. You did however stay the day / week that we had a lot... More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We booked into this wonderful little hotel having had a disastrous experience at our prior booked accommodation. The staff were completely wonderful, they put us at our ease and found us a fabulous spacious and spotless room. The location of this hotel is peerless with wonderful views out over the bay from the main dining room and conservatory and many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanelVanReenen, Manager at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Freeman, Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you at Manor on the bay. We would love to see you again! Warm Regards Annelie More

Southampton, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It's difficult for me to review this hotel, as I wasn't able to stay there. My wife and I made a booking via Booking.com, but were told on arrival that we didn't have a booking, and that they were full. We had received confirmation of the booking, but the staff were uninterested. I appreciate that these things happen some times,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Administration is done well. Rooms are sufficiently equipped. Staff is friendly. I can reccommend the venue. Liked the safe parking inside the premisses. The conferencing facilities are very good and can be recommended for smaller groups. Food is excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanelVanReenen, Manager at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for rating us. We look forward to accommodate you at Manor on the Bay again. More

Umea, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We decided to have the Manor on the Bay as our 'home' for six weeks. when we once again travelled from Sweden to South Africa. Manor on the Bay is perfectly situated both locally (close to the beach and restaurants in Gordon's Bay) and in the Cape Town and Wine Routes areas(short drives bring you to city malls, wine estates,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanelVanReenen, Owner at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review! We miss you 2. Really hope that we'll see you again. Room 9 will always remind us of your lovely stay. More

Been to Manor on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on the Bay

Also Known As:
Manor On The Bay South Africa/Western Cape
Address: 117 Beach Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor on the Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor on the Bay Guesthouse is situated 50m from the beach, offering affordable accommodation, value for money and great discounted specials throughout the year, in picturesque Gordon's Bay, Cape Town, South Africa. We are 5 minutes’ walk from upmarket restaurants and Bikini Beach with Blue Flag status. Gordon’s Bay is a top tourist destination in close proximity to Cape Town, Table Mountain, the Winelands (Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Paarl, Helderberg) and over 12 golf courses and located on Route 43, one of SA’s most scenic routes (Gordon’s Bay to Hermanus costal road). Also famous for the Southern Right whales visiting us each year: Gordon’s Bay, Gateway to the Whale Route, August – November. Enjoy the warmer sea water – about 9 degrees warmer - than Cape Town’s icy waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manor on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.