We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shimoda Yamatokan

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2048 Kisami, Shimoda 415-0028, Shizuoka Prefecture
Special Offer
公式ホームページ予約限定で7大特典が付きます♪
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Shimoda Yamatokan
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    106
    88
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
95
47
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (238)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

i insisted to stay at this hotel due to the rave review about this hotel even my husband suggested elsewhere. but we were not thrilled at the end. This hotel is quite some distance away from Shimoda city center and the station. it would be best if you drive or arrive by shuttle. yet the last shuttle from station departs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay with us. We regret that we cannot provide our total services for this time. No meal and B&B package are all self-service applied. If you have chance to come Shimoda again, we recommend you two meals plan with our total services. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

We had a nice stay and the Japanese breakfast was excellent. Service is good on an individual basis, but hotel policies are strange. We were told we could have a late checkout and then they tried to bill it to us, while no price was ever discussed. Nevertheless, we had a great stay as the onsens are nice and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

We are very happy to your nice feedback. Wonderful view, nice seafood, good hospitality are our treasure. There are any package with meals or no meal in our hotel. We recommend you with two meal package, anyway. If you have any change to come Shimoda again, we look forward to see you. Thank you very much. More 

HK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

The hotel is definitely a good choice. Beach views are perfect. We can't help spending hours by just sitting in the room and facing the beach. Of course, enjoying hot spring inside the room together with the fantastic view is also extremely relaxing. The meals provided by the hotel are also good. Lots of choice for fish. Staff are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

We are glad to hear from your feedback. Stunning ocean view from our hotel is our treasure. We hope you enjoyed nice view. Looking forward to see you again anytime you would like to refresh! Thank you. More 

Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

I've stayed here a couple of times. The first time we had a standard tatami room without dinner/breakfast included. We just brought out own drinks & some food that we microwaved from a local 7eleven (not walking distance). The room is very cheap when you do it this way. The second time we stayed we had dinner & breakfast included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying with us. We are happy to hear from your nice feedback. We are always waiting for your coming. Hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We stayed in the tatami room on the 4th floor which was really big for two pax. The room came with a seaview balcony. The onsen is awesome and it was not crowded on a Friday. Managed to have the onsen to myself quite a few times. Liked both the japanese and western style Onsen. Muz try the outdoor japanese... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying with us few month ago. We are very happy to here from you. We are very proud of our sea view. Looking forward to see you again! More 

Hong Kong Region, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

An amazing experience that I would gladly do all over again (which I most certainly will). The coastal views are breath-taking and the whole staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Although a few of the dishes served for dinner and breakfast were not to my liking, I would attribute that to personal taste rather than poor quality or preparation. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your staying with us. We are very happy to hear from your wonderful feedback. We hope you enjoyed our breath taking view and Japanese style seafood except some dishes. Food dishes will be able to arrange whatever you want. Please try next time. As you know, about 2 hours, 45 minutes from Tokyo on Odoriko... More 

Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Located on a cliff right in front of a quiet beautiful beach. The building is a bit old, but very well maintained and cleaned. Old fashioned traditional Tatami rooms, but the bed is comfortable as they put an extremely thick good mat underneath. Extremely kind and helpful staffs. Great food - recommend to book a package with breakfast & dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear from your great feedback. We hope that you enjoyed our stunning ocean view and you had experienced our local seafood cuisine. Our baby rental gears are always helpful for travelers with kids and baby. If you have any request, we will be prepared for your comfortable stay. We may be of service to you... More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for one night in early November. I picked the hotel because of its ranking in trip advisor and really to give my wife a treat as she loves onsen. The hotel is in a cove very popular for surfers and only a 5 minute drive from Shimoda. It is up on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay to "SHIMODA YAMATOKAN". We are happy to hear from your nice feedback. We hope you enjoyed our view and hot spring and local cuisine. There are any packages here, for instance "the room with the private open-air bath", "In-room service" etc..., please try any other packages in the next booking. More 

Fujisawa, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Four stars because of the delicious and multicourse meals—though two days of them were a bit too abundant—the restaurant (UMI room) staff, hotel staff in general, location. Beautiful view! Was disappointed in the room we got for 14,000 yen and 20,000 yen per person (including two meals per day) for the respective Friday and Saturday stay. It was run down,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
s-yamatokan, マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback. First of all, we apologize about smell of the cigarette. There are no "non-smoking room" in our hotel. But you can request with no ashtray and deodorize with spray and put air fresher on the guest room. Please request our style of "non-smoking room" on your booking. And about our long steps and corridor,... More 

Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I really enjoyed the onsen baths at this beachside ryokan. Make sure that you pick a day when you can go to the Eastern style baths, those were the best. They even have an out door bath higher on the cliff with a fantastic view of the beach. My first floor room had a great view of the beach. Swimming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
s-yamatokan, マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback. We are proud of our stunning ocean view . If you have another chance to come our hotel, please try to stay upper floor because you will see more stunning ocean view! We look forward to see you in the near future again. Thank you. Shimoda Yamatokan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

537 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (58)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (350)
Viewed
Amenities (122)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Luxury Room with Outside Bath (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
Seaside Pool (3)
Viewed
Standard Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)
Viewed
Twin Western Style Room (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimoda
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 72 in Shimoda
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Hotel Izukyu
#4 of 72 in Shimoda
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Prince Hotel
Shimoda Prince Hotel
#16 of 72 in Shimoda
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda View Hotel
Shimoda View Hotel
#9 of 72 in Shimoda
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Kurofune Hotel
Kurofune Hotel
#24 of 72 in Shimoda
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Inn Seiryuso
Inn Seiryuso
#8 of 72 in Shimoda
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay