We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Ashprington B&Bs / inns

Waterman's Arms

3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bow Bridge, Ashprington TQ9 7EG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Waterman's Arms to your Saves list
Waterman's Arms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
80%
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashprington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mike H
  • Overview
  • Reviews (155)
  • Photos (53)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    24
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
30
89
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We called in for a pub lunch with our two sons and in-laws (78 and 77). Food was great, wonderful real ales, my wife said the chips were the best she had ever tasted. Our children paddled in the river with rainbow trout swimming close by. Unfortunately my father in law managed to trip and fall over the step which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and that your sons had fun in the river! We hope your father in law is okay and have now placed signs to warn of the step. Thank you for your constructive feedback we shall look into this matter... More

Downton, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Made an overnight stop at this historic pub with accommodation. I had stayed there several times before but not for several years following a drop in standards. A new team is now in place and our greeting was very cheerful and the receptionist particularly helpful. As most rooms were already let, we were allocated rooms at the back of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that after many times of staying here that you came again! Sorry to hear that you did not like the room as much as you like the superior doubles which I recall you talking about when you have stayed before. We shall make sure when you... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at The Watermans Arms with my son and his family. Having driven past it so many times in the past on our way to Dartmouth we decided that as it looked so nice, we must give it a try. We were met by Lucy on reception and she was, so helpful and friendly , just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! It's great to see that after many times driving by, you decided to stop off for the night! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient service, making sure everyone feels welcome and is always greeted with... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed last week for a short getaway, and wish we stayed longer! The Room was very spacious, clean and had a generous supply of tea/coffee in room. It was very peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast was lovely and eating in the evenings was a delight as it was warm enough to eat by the river. All staff were very attentive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Great to hear that you like our Superior double, all been refurbished since the new ownership with Shabby Chic decor, for a classic look but still in keeping with the character of the Inn. We are happy to... More

GB
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having used this hotel for the last 20 years, recently it has become very poor. the bar/restaurant has been set up in such a way that it is for maximum capacity the dining area may as-well be set up for all to be one party, we were there this stay for Valentines weekend and the intimacy of the restaurant was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

We were sorry to see that you did not have a more enjoyable stay with us, and our facilities did not live up to your expectations. Sorry to hear that you didn't like our restaurant area. As our restaurant only holds up to 30 people, but with sitting in the bar area and outside either by the river or on... More

Sully, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Booked well in advance in order to be near wedding venue on 21/6/14 At the booking stage felt price @£100 per night for B and B in an inn was steep but hoped for a special experience. Room looked "tired" certainly not refurbished eg bathroom door heavily finger marked needs a repaint. Shower door kept falling out off the bottom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

We are very upset to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us! We are very sorry to hear about your bathroom and your breakfast experience. Thank you for letting us know about the bathroom. But can assure you that we have now fixed it so that the bottom part does not pop out of the runner. We... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Arrived for one night as part of a wedding party. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. They very patiently and efficiently organised us all with local taxis (large group so this was a bit of a moving target!). Every request was carried out with a smile and the whole experience was an absolute treat. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Glad you liked the breakfast! Our breakfast is made with all locally sourced produce, so you really get the full taste of what you are eating! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient service, making sure everyone... More

Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our first visit here since the change of owners and was not disappointed. Staff was very welcoming and attentive. The food was deliousios. The room we was in had been decorated in a way that complimented the inn. Looking forward to our next visit to The Watetmans.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us! It's great to hear that you liked how we have decorated the room and that you enjoy dining with us! All our food is cooked fresh to order, so you really get the full taste of... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have been staying in Tuckenhay for twenty years, so obviously we like it there. This was the first time we have stayed in the Watermans Arms although we have eaten and drunk there many times.The food has never been brilliant but has always been adequate and particularly good when we had young children growing up and they always looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We remember you very well and made notes on the comments you made on check-out. We took the radiator in the bathroom comment very serious and disconnected it that very day. We are in the process of having all our radiators refitted to ensure this kind of thing does not... More

Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Each month nine of us visit a different place in the Torbay district for a meal. This month it was the turn Waterman’s Arms and I have to say that the food and service turned out to be one of the best in the area. The staff were attentive and welcoming, giving a really good service. Although we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a brilliant review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us! All our dishes are made fresh to order with locally sourced produce, so you really get the full taste of what the region has to offer! We really pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient service,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Waterman's Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Waterman's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterman's Arms

Address: Bow Bridge, Ashprington TQ9 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ashprington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterman's Arms 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Waterman's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermans Arms Totnes
Watermans Arms Hotel Totnes
Waterman's Arms Ashprington, Devon

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Ownership From November 2013! Les and Sarah Gresty welcome you to their Beautiful 17th century Inn. With 15 en suite bedrooms, some with views of the river. Great food using local produce, open all day with an extensive selection of beers and wines. Large outside seating area and separate outside restaurant open during the season, May until October. Free Wi-Fi throughout Inn and gardens, family friendly and dogs welcome! A wonderful place to unwind or use as a base to explore the beautiful South Hams, business rates available. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waterman's Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer