We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Ashprington B&Bs / inns

Waterman's Arms

3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bow Bridge, Ashprington TQ9 7EG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Waterman's Arms to your Saves list
Waterman's Arms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashprington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014
AngelaGillette Sully, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (151)
  • Photos (53)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    24
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
28
88
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GB
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having used this hotel for the last 20 years, recently it has become very poor. the bar/restaurant has been set up in such a way that it is for maximum capacity the dining area may as-well be set up for all to be one party, we were there this stay for Valentines weekend and the intimacy of the restaurant was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

We were sorry to see that you did not have a more enjoyable stay with us, and our facilities did not live up to your expectations. Sorry to hear that you didn't like our restaurant area. As our restaurant only holds up to 30 people, but with sitting in the bar area and outside either by the river or on... More

Sully, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Booked well in advance in order to be near wedding venue on 21/6/14 At the booking stage felt price @£100 per night for B and B in an inn was steep but hoped for a special experience. Room looked "tired" certainly not refurbished eg bathroom door heavily finger marked needs a repaint. Shower door kept falling out off the bottom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

We are very upset to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us! We are very sorry to hear about your bathroom and your breakfast experience. Thank you for letting us know about the bathroom. But can assure you that we have now fixed it so that the bottom part does not pop out of the runner. We... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Arrived for one night as part of a wedding party. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. They very patiently and efficiently organised us all with local taxis (large group so this was a bit of a moving target!). Every request was carried out with a smile and the whole experience was an absolute treat. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Glad you liked the breakfast! Our breakfast is made with all locally sourced produce, so you really get the full taste of what you are eating! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient service, making sure everyone... More

Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our first visit here since the change of owners and was not disappointed. Staff was very welcoming and attentive. The food was deliousios. The room we was in had been decorated in a way that complimented the inn. Looking forward to our next visit to The Watetmans.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us! It's great to hear that you liked how we have decorated the room and that you enjoy dining with us! All our food is cooked fresh to order, so you really get the full taste of... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have been staying in Tuckenhay for twenty years, so obviously we like it there. This was the first time we have stayed in the Watermans Arms although we have eaten and drunk there many times.The food has never been brilliant but has always been adequate and particularly good when we had young children growing up and they always looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We remember you very well and made notes on the comments you made on check-out. We took the radiator in the bathroom comment very serious and disconnected it that very day. We are in the process of having all our radiators refitted to ensure this kind of thing does not... More

Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Each month nine of us visit a different place in the Torbay district for a meal. This month it was the turn Waterman’s Arms and I have to say that the food and service turned out to be one of the best in the area. The staff were attentive and welcoming, giving a really good service. Although we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a brilliant review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us! All our dishes are made fresh to order with locally sourced produce, so you really get the full taste of what the region has to offer! We really pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient service,... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just back after a weekend stay for a wedding; Rooms - Bright, comfortable and great value. Bar / food - Traditional and cosy bar with good atmosphere. Great service and sunday roast! Lovely outdoor drinking and eating area by the river Dart. Service - Really made our stay - staff were all extremely attentive and helpful. Being 4 Scotsman on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review! It's great to hear that you enjoy your stay here, and hope you had a great time at the wedding! We pride ourselves on our friendly and hospitable service, making sure everyone feels welcome and that we can do everything possible so you have a great stay! We... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I would just like to say that I have lived in the South Hams for 11 years and finally found a lovely family orientated pub. The customer service is excellent, friendly & courteous and the food is fab. I was just so pleased that when a rowdy hen party turned up carrying sex toys that were not appropriate as there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at The Waterman's! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient service, making sure everyone is comfy and feels welcome! It's great to hear that you liked the food too! Fresh and locally sourced, really brings out... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Travellers searching Trip Advisor and contemplating a visit to the Waterman's Arms, may be interested in my visit there, which of course will be my last. With absolutely no justifiable reason the Landlord was unduly rude towards us. I’d been invited to a Hen Night in the village celebrating with a few drinks locally. My daughter and I live here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is the first time I have stayed here , and sadly the last ! On a positive the location is beautiful and the pub is pretty. The room was pleasant although small and I think on the pricey side. Breakfast was very average (with burnt toast ) once someone turned up to serve us. The waitress was lovely but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Waterman's Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Waterman's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterman's Arms

Address: Bow Bridge, Ashprington TQ9 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ashprington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterman's Arms 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Waterman's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermans Arms Totnes
Watermans Arms Hotel Totnes
Waterman's Arms Ashprington, Devon

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Ownership From November 2013! Les and Sarah Gresty welcome you to their Beautiful 17th century Inn. With 15 en suite bedrooms, some with views of the river. Great food using local produce, open all day with an extensive selection of beers and wines. Large outside seating area and separate outside restaurant open during the season, May until October. Free Wi-Fi throughout Inn and gardens, family friendly and dogs welcome! A wonderful place to unwind or use as a base to explore the beautiful South Hams, business rates available. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer