We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterman's Arms

Certificate of Excellence
3.5 of 5
Bow Bridge, Ashprington TQ9 7EG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterman's Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Waterman's Arms
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    36
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
109
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
88 hotel reviews
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ten of us went here for a meal on a Friday night. The location is absolutely gorgeous, on the river front with plenty of car parking space. At night the area is totally black so it is great to be able to see the stars! I wish I had taken my camera for pictures of the hotel reflected in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Mmm - the plus points were newish clean en-suite shower room and the staff. The major negative point was the bed, which was absolutely terrible. It started off life as a slatted bed with mattress on top, obviously some slats had broken so a peice of hardboard had been put under the mattress, which was utterly useless. Some much better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at The Waterman's. Great to hear that you found our staff friendly. We pride ourselves on giving a friendly and efficient service to all our guest. We are so sorry to hear you did not like the bed in room 5. I remember you mentioning it upon... More 

London UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here at short notice. Stunning beautiful location beside Bow Bridge. Outdoor tables. Good parking. Rooms basic but clean. Good but fairly basic menu. Not a gastro pub but Good beer and friendly staff. Breakfast hit the mark but nothing special. Overall happy with o choice especially the location which has great walks from the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bletchley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been here many times. ...never disappointed! Wonderful dreamy setting and fabulous food for children and adults! Also. ..very whitty chalk board signs! !!...wish i could Add the pictures! Les and hannah are very attentive hosts and the relaxing atmosphere is a welcome break from daily life!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review! Great to hear you enjoyed our food! All locally sourced and made fresh to order! Thank you for your kind comments on myself and my daughter! We pride ourselves on giving a friendly service to all that visit The Waterman's. Great to see you enjoyed our witty signs! Thank you... More 

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I were taken to this charming pub by my brother who lives in Devon. It is situated in a beautful spot near Dartmouth. The lunch menu was excellent but with the prior knowledge of my brother, we asked about their home made pies. We were told yes they had 3 lamb pies left which were duly ordered.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Waterman's! Great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed one of our homemade pies! Made with the finest local produce from around Devon and cooked fresh daily! Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Watermans Arms-and what a fabulous place it is!!! Surrounded by the most beautiful countryside and right next to the river, it was our idea of heaven :-) The pub is very quirky, lots of nooks and crannies, the room that we had in the annexe was really lovely-couldnt fault... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Hello Sally W Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at The Waterman's! We are so pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us! Great to hear that you found the annexe room lovely! Once we took over The Waterman's we spent a lot of time doing up the rooms to... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Traditional old country pub with HUGE log fire in the bar. Family run enterprise and they couldn't have made us feel more welcome. We were in the quiet part of the year, February, so didn't expect to see too many other visitors so we had the place almost to ourselves at times which was great next to the fire sipping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit here to The Waterman's! It's great to her that you were made to feel very welcome when you were staying. We pride ourselves on our friendly service, making sure everyone feel welcome and happy while they are here! Thank you... More 

Wellington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a very pleasant stay - nice spacious room and plentiful breakfast that was freshly cooked, you could have eggs in any form you wanted! Staff very friendly and helpful. If you are into walking there are some lovely walks in all directions from the pub. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Waterman's Nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the room spacious! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast here, made with the finest local produce and cooked just the way you like it! Thank you for your kind... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

Having known this pub from childhood it was great to visit again. The last time I visited it was a huge disappointment, so a huge relief that it was really good. The land lord was very welcoming and attentive, the food was great pub food just what we wanted. My only comment is I wished they were burning logs instead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you J40LUC for taking the time to write us a review! Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Waterman's! So pleased to hear you enjoying our food, made with all locally sourced produce and cooked fresh to order! Sorry about burning coal instead of wood, we usually burn logs on our fire but must of ran... More 

Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Loads of character. Everyone very welcoming. Nothing too much trouble. Food was great, everything freshly cooked - breakfast too, no overdone bacon! Spent a couple of lovely evenings in the bar chatting. Good position for touring Brixham, Dartmouth, etc. We will be back, maybe when it's a bit warmer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this review

Hi Chris B Thank you for your great review! We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us! Glad to hear you found The Waterman's to have loads of character! The Waterman's is a 17th Century Inn which has been use as many different things over years, which includes a jail house and patrol station!... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question