We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hare And Barrel Hotel

80 Brandon Road, Watton IP25 6LB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Hare And Barrel Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The young lady who escorted me to my room was very polite and I had been contacted earlier in the day to check that I was aware that the hotel was closed Sunday evening. I was in room 8, a double room of reasonable size and with decent furniture. However the mattress on the bed was dreadful, like laying on... More 

Helpful?
Thank tojo33
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on bank holiday Monday after Christmas. We found the accommodation to be exactly as we had expected. Very clean and for the price we paid £68 bed and breakfast a great last minute stay. The bed was very comfortable, the room lovely and warm for our arrival which was very appreciated on a cold and... More 

Helpful?
Thank donnymoor
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Booked last minute as we had a party to go to in Watton and found the staff attentive from the start. We only had breakfast which we found to be really good. Room was cosy . We would certainly stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Pirate1966
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015 via mobile

The staff were really lovely here, although the facilities we had were dated and the mattress was so uncomfortable - please replace this as we would return if the bed was comfortable. The shaving light could not be put on in the bathroom due to no pull in place. Despite one radiator not working the room did warm up well,... More 

Helpful?
Thank jsjagjp
Malcolm R, Owner at The Hare And Barrel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments however all the light s in the bathroom come on with the main pull switch so if you had mentioned the light bulb it could have been replaced in 2 minutes. ( light bulbs do blow ) We only put 1 of the 2 radiators on in the room as at this time... More 

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

The room was clean and so was bathroom both of which slightly shabby .The hotel and bar was good though we had a bar meal in evening excellent value good choice of bitter too .As for breakfast in morning a full english was offered with fresh juice and grapefriut prunes etc on offer .The staff were very helpful they couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Stayed in front room which was a bit noisy from passing traffic but settled during the night. Ate in the restaurant where the food was good but more expensive than similiar standard restaurants we visited in the area. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy312015
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

Booked in after a very long day....and after leaving a previous hotel after just half an hour. ...received a lovely warm and friendly welcome ....food is fab.....the room is cosy ...and the staff are amazing. ....will definitely stay here again ...

Helpful?
Thank Tracey E
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Old fashioned charm here in abundance. Malcolm and his team provide excellent service with aplomb . This is a place to savour the atmosphere, enjoy the food and drink. Gorgeous part of the world . Go on give it a try, we loved it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Damonwalker666
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

My sister in law stayed here to visit her brother(my hubby) who,sadly has only weeks to live.We all had a meal in the restaurant with our two children aged 25 and 14 and the care they all put into our meal out made it very special ,im especially grateful for the very thoughtful discreetful way they helped with my husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellie C
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

This is the kind of pub/hotel/motel people always used to stay in, before they invented "boutique hotels" and laminated flooring. If you are looking for "stylish" - whatever that means this week - you will not be rating the place. However, it's a pleasant place to stay for a night or so, the pub's good, the food provides generous portions... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pauvregourmand
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watton
0.5 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
11.5 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
11.6 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willow House
The Willow House
#1 of 3 in Watton
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
2.6 mi away
Phoenix House
Phoenix House
#1 of 1 in Little Cressingham
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay