We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Sowerby Bridge B&Bs / inns

The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor

Oldham Road | Rishworth, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4RH, England
Hotel amenities
The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor to your Saves list
61%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Big72 Bolton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
12
24
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just called in here for lunch on the way to pick our daughter up from university for the weekend...probably one of many journeys to come....On arrival we were promptly shown to a table but unfortunately that was the only prompt thing that happened. We were waiting quite a while to be offered drinks, and in the end had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. Unfortunately I was off when you visited and unaware of any issues. It would be of immense help to me if you could call me to discuss the issues you encountered. Kind regards Eric GM More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked two nights as a treat for my partner before she left for a long period of time to Africa. We unfortunately were left sorely disappointed. The room booked was classed as Superior, boasting a large room with a view of the resisvoiur. The room we got, though nicely decorated was anything but spacious and we had a view... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Daniel M, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment at your stay. I moved your room as soon as you made me aware of the issue. As a new manager I wasn't aware that the mistake made on you room was possible so I down graded that room on our system immediately after our conversation. I think your quote is a... More

Bournemouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a really good stay. Have been before. New manager is making improvements all round. Service standards high. Staff very welcoming which was appreciated having traveled from the South coast. Lovely room. Food quality great. Location just off the M62 so convenient for Leeds and Manchester. Thank you. Nick.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I have shown it to the team and it raised a few smiles. it isnt often that people take the time to leave positivity on here so we appreciate all the pre. kind regards Eric More

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for the Wine Dine and Duvet Deal. Had a very nice 3 course meal and a bottle of wine,good choice on the menu, excellent breakfast. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Would certainly recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel M, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. not many people make the effort to give positive feedback here. so we appreciate it greatly when we get it kind regards Eric More

Prestatyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Made arrangements to meet up with family at this venue, having travelled from North Wales and Blackpool. Booked in advance for lunch for nine people at 1.00 pm. Served with main course at 2.45 pm. Enough said.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

thank you for your indepth review. More

Bannockburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Stayed at the hotel Friday 12/09/2014 .We had travelled down from Scotland for a friends wedding ,the wedding was at 1.30 pm but we didn't realise check in was 2pm .The staff quickly cleaned one of the 6 rooms they had and we made it to the church on time .The staff were friendly and helpful .The room perfect for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

It was fantastic to meet you all. Hope to see you again soon More

Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We booked online a table and then called the Turnpike that morning to confirm but when we arrived we were told they didn't have a record of our booking. Thankfully they were quiet so we still got seated. Unfortunately the service didn't improve they seemed to have plenty of staff and not that many customers but we had to ask... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

I am sorry twe fell short of expectation on your visit, as I am sure you are aware from the previous reviews and responses that I am sure you have read, I am relatively new into the Turnpike and there is a lot of work to do here. Its a shame you have written us off so quickly. especially as... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at the Turnpike Inn over the Bank holiday as a last minute getaway to do some walkingand visit Haworth. The price of £44 for a double room inc breakfast seemed very reasonable so we were not expecting anything special. The motorway can be seen in the distance but we never heard any traffic and the view of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review Its always special when someone uses Trip advisor to be positive. We always try to be keen on pricing and you found a gem of a deal, well done! we all look forwards to looking after you again Kind regards Eric More

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

7 of us (from different parts of the country) met up here on the recommendation of 1 of our party who is a regular customer. 4 out of the 7 meals were cold. It was obvious that the frying oil needed changing as the batter on the fish and onion rings had bits of food clinging to it. The hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Daniel M, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review unfortunately as a new manager into the business, I need time to investigate the issues you faced on my day off. As I am already dealing with a member of your party who chose to take a more direct route by communicating directly with us, you will have to excuse my prioritising them. I am,... More

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stopped off on our way home from the Lakes and was very disappointed. Food was average and quite expensive. I ordered fish and chips which was ok but the portion was small, mushy peas were very thick, hard and I could stand my fork upright in them. My wife's beef dinner was cold and the Yorkshire pudding was flat. I'm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel M, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am relatively new into the Turnpike and Addressing the menu is a main priority for this week. All your points I Believe are valid, but cant be changed in 2 minutes. all change next week! Thanks again Eric More

Been to The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor

Address: Oldham Road | Rishworth, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Sowerby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sowerby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor is a thriving, dog-friendly country inn with 6 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Turnpike Inn At Rishworth Moor Sowerby Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.