We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Sowerby Bridge B&Bs / inns

The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Oldham Road | Rishworth, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4RH, England
Hotel amenities
The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com
62%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
weekendaway1 Huddersfield
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
19
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and i booked a room for the night to celebrate out anniversary. We were greated by a very well mannerd gentleman but very badly dressed. He wore a white shirt that needed a good iron a thin black tie and black trouses which were full of dried on food. We checked in booked a table in the resturant.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am sincerely sorry that it was not up to the standards you were expecting, we are all working hard to improve the quality of the service here at the Turnpike. Our staffing issues are still causing problems with everyone working long hours and service slipping as... More

Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visit the turnpike every Mother's Day and usually have a great meal. This year was average at best. The food was fine but service was poor, it wasn't overly busy so I couldn't really say that was the problem. The staff were friendly and trying to do their best, so I suspect it was what was going on in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochdale
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Turnpike has gone through many incarnations over the years and having had such a lovely makeover I was hoping that the food offering would have improved. Over two visits recently I just felt that both the service and the food is very average, and the prices therefore seem very high. The staff are very indifferent and considering I dined... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been twice now and disappointed both times. The first visit was atrocious, long waiting times, having to ask repeatedly for the drinks we ordered, having to wait very long time for the food. The second time we booked to bypass the waiting time for a table. However like previous reviewers their prized asset the carvery has now gone!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Have visited for Sunday lunch many times but probably won't go back in a hurry after today. The usual carvery has gone and the 'roasts' served now seem to consist of thinly cut re-heated meats of the mass catering variety, not the hand carved options as before. Poor selection of vegetables too. The last few times I've visited, the service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Four of us visited The Turnpike on Saturday 8th March 2014. The venue is very nice and the staff friendly and attentive. However the food is expensive dressed up pub grub. e.g. a pork pie in gravy starter over £6.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Rude, rude, rude!!! Having driven from Whitby, my husband suggested the turnpike to stop and have lunch. However, we enquired about a table and we're told (in no uncertain terms) that they were fully booked, All day, by one of the bar staff, when it was quite clear that there were empty tables and it's obvious that you cannot simply... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Me & my partner took advantage of the Wine, Dine & Duvet deal which is great value for money. Had a 3 course meal with wine, 1 nights stay in a double room and full breakfast the day after. We were also able to take our dog but decided not to but next time we will! The whole experience was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Decided to go out for Sunday lunch, having looked at a few web sites went for the Turnpike as the site offered a 25% off food and drink voucher. It was quite a trek for us but well worth it. The service was excellent plenty of staff which makes a huge difference. We opted for the carvery which was excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicola_Crabtree, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch here at The Turnpike. I am very pleased to hear that you found your visit, the food and service pleasurable. I hope to welcome you back again in the future. More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have eaten here several times as it makes a useful meeting-up point for us. In the past the food has been reasonable if not outstanding. However it seems to have changed management or similar as our lunch here yesterday was very poor indeed. Not only was the food poor and generally just microwaved we asked to change the fish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicola_Crabtree, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here to The Turnpike. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed- had I been made aware of any issues on the day I would have dearly liked to have rectified them there and then in order that you left satisfied and happy with the service you received. I do... More

Been to The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor

Also Known As:
The Turnpike Inn At Rishworth Moor Sowerby Bridge, Yorkshire, UK
Address: Oldham Road | Rishworth, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Sowerby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sowerby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor is a thriving, dog-friendly country inn with 6 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor to your Saves list