We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Last Shola

Gowri Estate | Salem Dt, Yercaud 636602, India
The Last Shola
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
9
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a wonderful time with loads of activities. Enjoyed the trek to heavens ledge and cycling downhill from bison tank. Private boating was nice but had no luck in fishing. Loop Road was scenic; stay was good with nice food. Remember to carry your own drink. Overall wonderful experience

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kaybros123, Manager at The Last Shola, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Last Shola Cottages. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Regards, The Last Shola Team More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This is a place that should be better than what it is. it has views, space, and remote location. We booked and paid for a room for 3, however we got told that only 2 beds were available and we would have to pay again for a third bed. so they gave us a mattress on the floor with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kaybros123, Manager at The Last Shola, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for writing the review and giving us an opportunity to understand your concerns and work on areas for improvement. We have currently finished our annual regular maintenance and upkeep of the rooms. We are surprised to hear about you having to pay for the 3rd bed, when you have already booked online for 3... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Unless there is nothing else available, go for The Last Shola. Not worth the money! Though food was ok and the guide assigned was very well behaved, I feel the management has to be more organised in planning the activities amd instruct the boys serving food to be more hygenic. There was no hot water in the. morning and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kaybros123, Manager at The Last Shola, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, We are sorry to have provided a less than satisfactory experience during your visit to The Last Shola. At The Last Shola, we try very hard to ensure your delight, however, on rare occasions such situations do arise. We thank you for bearing with us and giving your feedback. Hot Water is provided through a wood... More 

Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

When i wanted to go out of chennai for a weekend, I decided for yercaud and I wanted a place which is peaceful, clean and safe. I never heard about this place before and found about it in a blog. It is an excellent place for a couple and the staff is very helpful. I would recommend Heaven's ledge for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Kaybros123, Manager at The Last Shola, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for you review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Last Shola. We do hope that you will refer our place to your family and friends when they visit Yercaud. Regards, The Last Shola Team. More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We were a group of 6 families that chose this property after narrowing down our choices considerably, for the Independence Day break. While the rooms were ok, the food turned out to be a major disappointment. All of us in the group are foodies so one can picture the disgust when we discovered that the food supplied was woefully short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kaybros123, Manager at The Last Shola, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your recent holiday at The Last Shola. We have made note of your concerns and we are always doing our best to ensure that the guests have an enjoyable stay at our resort. Please allow us to clarify a few concerns. The Kitchen is... More 

Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 7 friends who decided to visit the plantation during our visit to Yercaud. The drive to the estate is pleasant and filled with greenery. It was so refreshing to drive through the winding road and arrive at the plantation. Once we got there we went straight to Woodlands Lake and had a walk around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kaybros123, Manager at The Last Shola, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Last Shola Cottages. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Regards, The Last Shola Team More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The resort is great and located in a coffee estate. The staff are friendly and ready to accommodate anything that you need. Mobile phones do not work here so for some of us we were happy to not receive calls and put away our mobiles for the trip. You can wake up to the sound of birds which is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kaybros123, Manager at The Last Shola, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for your review. We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay at The Last Shola. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future. Regards, The Last Shola Team. More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had an awesome day in last shola. At first we booked the hotel because all the hotels at independence day weekend were full. The resort is way ahead of yercaud and if you don't have proper route map then its difficult to reach since GPS wont work. But once we reached there it was totally worth the effort. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kaybros123, Manager at The Last Shola, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Last Shola Cottages. A route map is available on our website to find the directions to the place. We will take your feedback and ensure the same is mailed to all future customers. We do hope to see you again in... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

If you have nowhere to go, then choose The Last Shola. It should be called 'The Last Resort', if you ask me. Now for the details: The place is totally child unfriendly. We had 7 kids with us who had no place to play. At Heaven's Ledge, we had to keep constant watch over them failing which they'd drop down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kaybros123, Manager at The Last Shola, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your recent holiday at The Last Shola. We have made note of your concerns and we are always doing our best to ensure that the guests have an enjoyable stay at our resort. Please allow us to clarify a few concerns here We did... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The only review that seems genuine is by Ankit. Food is substandard and less in quantity. There are no telephones, no mobile connection and kitchen is 1 km away, and no staff visible. The manager is seen rarely and he understands only Tamil. Place is poorly maintained, taps run brown water, there is no room cleaning service available, if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kaybros123, Manager at The Last Shola, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your recent holiday at The Last Shola. We have made note of your concerns and we are always doing our best to ensure that the guests have an enjoyable stay at our resort. Please allow us to clarify a few concerns. Firstly the mobile... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities