We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant Inn

3.0 of 5 Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Pheasant Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Pheasant Inn
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    70
    22
    14
    9
See reviews for
42
141
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (252)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We found this place on a map showing locations of pubs serving good food. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent and all the staff were very helpful and welcoming. We ate in the bistro which had a really pleasant atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to this hotel restaurant many times. We chose an early meal time to avoid the busy time! Very good service from a pleasant young waitress, food arrived quickly. All but the pudding was delicious! The pud was disappointing, rather tasteless and not as advertised on the menu and the coffee was rather bland also. But nonetheless we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After reading great reviews we decided to give the pheasant a try. What a treat. We were greeted with happy faces and our two night stay was relaxing and enjoyable. We ate in the restaurant both nights. One criticism, my partner didn't enjoy his fish on the first night (too much batter) and when we pointed it out nothing was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had great expectations when entering the bar of this hotel/restaurant/pub. An old traditional room with blood red walls, lacquered and glossy, with low ceilings was the perfect location to limber up for dinner with some of their large and varied spirits and fine whiskey selection. An antique punch bowl at the end of the bar showcased their many wines... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steyning, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Over the years I've heard good things about this pub and restaurant so when we were staying nearby we decided to book a table. Unfortunately the restaurant was fully booked but the Bistro was available and we were told the menu was similar. I thought the Bistro looked a but tired and lacked atmosphere. We heard comments (rather too loudly)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

for about 30 years my wife and I have been visiting the pheasant for short stays, usually in early autumn, when the lake district is at its best. for the last few years this has been a annual holiday, always keenly anticipated and much enjoyed, and for the last couple of years we have made it the destination of choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
matwylie, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry for the problems you experienced whilst staying at The Pheasant Inn. In particular we are very sorry that you were not put in the room on the first night which you had specifically requested when booking. That is completely our mistake. There is no excuse and it should not have happened and I can only sincerely... More

Preston, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in one of the dog friendly rooms and had a really lovely weekend. The room was clean and comfortable, good size and in a lodge next to the pub. We ate in the guest lounge on our first night so our dog could sit next to us, and the staff were really helpful and the service friendly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights last week using the Inn as a base for walking and local sightseeing. Very pleased with the accommodation, staff all very efficient and helpful, food absolutely perfect, decent portions and very tasty (the two don't always go hand in hand), we used the Bistro each night. The Inn is in a good location just off of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have eaten many times at The Pheasant over several decades and it has never let us down. This time it was for Sunday lunch for four, in the Fell Restaurant rather than the Bistro which can seem a little noisy when full. Orders were taken as we enjoyed drinks in the lounge but we did not have to wait... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel. A friend and I stayed for one night in August 2014. The room was fine and the food (both breakfast and dinner) excellent. The staff are helpful and attentive. The location is good for Keswick and the northern fells generally. Although just off the A66, one is not aware of traffic noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay