We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Professional photos View all
The Pheasant Inn
Add Photo

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    159
    92
    30
    14
    9
See reviews for
48
177
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (304)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner and I found this charming little pub while staying at the sky den close by in kielder. We ate here on the first night and was the best place we found for food so returned on the last night, the service was warm and welcoming and the food is home made, rustic and full of flavour. The terrine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Spotted a sign for this place whilst driving around Bassenthwaite Lake, and decided that it might be nice to call for a pub lunch the following day. The place looked very nice with an 'olde world' atmosphere in the bar, We decided to peruse the menu in the bar over a drink. When I was asked for just short of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matthew W, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear you were not happy with our prices. We think our prices are reasonable and reflect the very high quality food and drink we offer. Our menus use quality local produce and all dishes are freshly prepared daily in our kitchen by our team of highly qualified chefs. Our wine list... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely pub with great traditional bars. Sunday roast beef lunch was tasty with good service. Only gripe is that when the beef was served the waitress described it as medium. I was never given the option of how I would like it on ordering and would have gone for rare. It wasn't quite pink enough for my liking but still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch. Thank-you also for your comments about the Roast Beef which have fed back to our kitchen team. More 

Ravenglass, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic weekend away from it all. The staff were so friendly and helpful in every way. The food was scrumptious. The rooms very comfortable and cosy. A lovely hot soak in a bubble bath and great showering too. I would recommend a stay here to re charge, read the papers and pamper yourself!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for letting us know about your stay and we are delighted you had such a lovely time and felt very relaxed and pampered. We certainly would like all guests to go away feeling that they have been well looked after and we hope to see you again soon. More 

LaGrange, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Typical very old English pub great atmosphere. Lunch menu extensive and very good. Highly recommended. Fortunately a very sunny day for the Lake District, the gardens and views where magnificent. Friendly bar staff. GPS will help you find it its hidden away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for your feedback and we are really pleased you had such a lovely lunch and also that the weather was so kind to you whilst you were here. We are also glad you enjoyed the character of our Lakeland Inn and hope to welcome you back soon. More 

Keswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are regular visitors to The Pheasant Inn, we have enjoyed afternoon tea, meals and sometimes just a drink. We called in on the way home from work for a glass of Prosecco and a sit out in the beautiful gardens. Very disappointed to be informed they had run out of Prosecco and other than champagne they had nothing similar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your feedback and we are very sorry to have disappointed you when you called him. Our apologies that we were out of stock of Prosecco, (sadly there has been some issues with stocks of Prosecco nationally) and that none of our alternatives were suitable. We are also very sorry about the customer service you received, this... More 

Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You're always guaranteed a sumptuous pint of Guiness in the Pheasant bar. My wife and I like to pop in for a quick sandwich and some delicious fries. The wine is rather over-priced, but it's a great venue with a fantastic feel. If you're not a dog lover, you may not appreciate the fact that the bar normally has at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose the restaurant for dinner rather than the brasserie because it was said to be quieter and better choice. The table were too close together, the staff were willing but untrained and the steak was full of grizzle. The cover charge was unwarranted for the service and quality (or lack of quality) of food. The 500ml carafe of wine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was only fortunate enough to stay for a half hour while waiting for my cousin to arrive. THe locals were incredibly friendly & helpful, and they helped to get us back on track, as we were a little lost. We would love to return to stay one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hants
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an 18th century inn, well restored and with modern plumbing and electrics, close to Bassenthwaite lake but an easy drive to the whole of the national park. The food is excellent and the menu changes daily. The staff provide quick and cheerful service. The hotel manager was very helpful first in rearranging rooms to fit us in, then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay