We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Thatcham B&Bs / inns

The Swan at Thatcham

Station Road, Thatcham RG19 4QL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Swan at Thatcham to your Saves list
The Swan at Thatcham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
Ranked #1 of 3 Thatcham B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
WildestLee Trowbridge, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (52)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
14
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This Marstons pub is in a great location, right near the train station. Very nice food, quick, but it felt like they were trying to make pub food into posh pub food. I had my Burger served on a wooden block, and my chips served in a cup ?? just serve it on a plate and be done with it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Myself, wife and 3 girls visited on a recommendation from a friend and we weren't disappointed. My wife had a steak, perfectly cooked to her liking and I had a steak burger, one of the best I've had (I've had a lot of burgers). Good food and although it was late in the service and there wasn't a lot of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

For a large group of friends to meet up on a sunny day this was a great venue. But if you are someone who knows what real home cooked food tastes like, then avoid the food here. Very bland and my sister was violently ill afterwards! The head waitress was not good at receiving complaints, but all the other staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Avoid if you can , Not the greatest of locations but could be a good pub if a few details were attended to, ie cleanliness , being made to feel welcome , and just overall shabbiness , foods not that great either while I'm at it. Will be voting with my feet, hope you do too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LucindaFranciosi, Manager at The Swan at Thatcham, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are disappointed that you didn't find us to your expectations. Without further details I am unable to offer more in response to your review, however we have ensured that areas which we do have influence over have been reiterated to the team. Regards Will & Lucinda More

Travelers are raving about these Thatcham hotels

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

we went for a meal at lunchtime , and had two very nice ham egg and chips .The food was hot and fresh , the staff were pleasant and the price was reasonable .It does what it says on the tin.We didnt stay here , so cannot comment on the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucindaFranciosi, Front Office Manager at The Swan at Thatcham, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal, hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Will & Lucinda More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at The Swan for two nights when we went to Newbury Races. A group of 7 of us, arrived just before 9 on the Friday. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were warm, clean and comfy - no complaints. I actually liked the fact the rooms were not attached to the pub. We had dinner both Friday... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is not a cosy country pub. It is situated on a busy road by a roundabout. I arrived to offhand staff and to realise the tiny room in the 'stable block' opened directly onto the car park. There was a big coconut mat set into the floor and no bolt or chain on the door. There was no soundproofing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LucindaFranciosi, General Manager at The Swan at Thatcham, responded to this review

Hello Mr Annoyed! Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are disappointed you had the impression you were to be staying in an idyllic country pub, we do not advertise ourselves as that, we quite openly advise we are close to Business parks and Thatcham rail station. Alongside that the rooms are again advised to be in... More

Wedmore, Somerset, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Swan to break our journey on the way to a family christening as it was conveniently situated just a few miles off the M5 near Newbury. We arrived late and no problems. Surprised to find room was in a stable block adjacent to Hotel and entrance to room was just through door straight off the car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucindaFranciosi, General Manager at The Swan at Thatcham, responded to this review

Hi Phillip Thank you for leaving a review. Firstly our apologies over the executive room, this was an error through Bookings.com and has since been amended as we do not have any executive rooms!. The restaurant/rest room amenities despite being tired have all been painted or repaired where possible, unfortunately we are awaiting a major refurbishment and have been stuck... More

Blackpool
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Had a lovely meal of Fish, Chips and mushy peas. It has been a while since we were last there and the food has improved dramatically. Really worth a try, and we will certainly be going back. Did not stop in the hotel so unable to comment on the facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucindaFranciosi, General Manager at The Swan at Thatcham, responded to this review

Hi Mad Seasider Its good to hear you enjoyed your Cod & Chips, even so we have the same chefs as your previous visit! practice makes perfect as they say!!! Best wishes Will & Lucinda More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Thanks for my lovely stay in January, the room was fab, clean, plenty of tea bags and milk and the bed had a great position for me to watch TV. Really chilled out and I cannot wait for my next visit. Cheers all, until the next time :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucindaFranciosi, General Manager at The Swan at Thatcham, responded to this review

Hi Bristol Bird Thanks for the review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Will & Lucinda More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Swan at Thatcham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Swan at Thatcham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Thatcham

Address: Station Road, Thatcham RG19 4QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Thatcham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Swan at Thatcham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An old style coaching Inn, situated next to Thatcham Rail station and the Kennet & Avon canal. Ideally located for Newbury races as well as travel into Reading, London or to the southwest. The pub has Six bedrooms in converted blacksmith stables, four doubles and two twins rooms all en-suite. The restaurant & bar serves traditional ales as well as food all day. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer