We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Ferndown B&Bs / inns

Smugglers Cottage

577 Wimborne Road East, Ferndown BH22 9NW, England
Hotel amenities
Smugglers Cottage
Ranked #4 of 4 Ferndown B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ferndown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My partner stayed here as part of his working away.. So all recollections are his own.. The stay consisted of a cold, damp stay.. The windows were drafty and you were given sheets instead of a duvet/ quilt. The biggest let down for the cottage was the lack of security.. The rooms are unlockable, meaning I had to take all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and we are sorry that we did not come up to your expectations. I find it puzzling that you found the room cold and damp as the heating was on and you could have turned it up at any time. We do not have a damp problem. We are a very old property... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Roger & Victoria who own Smugglers Cottage are the most friendly couple you could meet. We spent 5nights in their lovely home, and we were really well looked after. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and we were given fresh milk every day so we could have drinks in the room. The breakfast was excellent,freshly cooked and piping hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Nick and Linda Thank you fro your wonderful review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again at Smugglers Cottage. More

Redhill, Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

One night only and first visit. Greeted like lost friends. The owners are very warm and welcoming and offered us fresh milk in a flask to add to the tea/coffee available in the room. Could possibly have preferred a cold drink though. The room is found via a spiral staircase which may be challenging to some.(other rooms available) The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you so very much for your kind review. Roger and I take a great deal of trouble over the total Smugglers experience and are very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. We do hope that you will come again for a little longer next time. More

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Pretty place, very nice rooms, staff were nice. Didn't like the shower very much as it was slow which meant we had to be in there longer. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you are under 30 as its quiet and older people stay there. If you want to go for a night out it wouldn't be suitable as when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear NatAllP Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Sorry about the shower, we are a very old property with six bathrooms, so our showers may not be a fast as you would like. We have many young visitors and no one has yet complained about late comers at night, in fact we host many wedding guests... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We actually selected this B&B due to the location of the event that we needed to go to, but having been there would definitely stay again, for the price the room was lovely, very comfortable, the show took a bit of getting used to but it seemed to add quirkiness to the place. Breakfast was lovely, and we were really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Sharon Thank you so much for your very kind review of Smugglers Cottage and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will come back in the future and stay a little longer. Victoria Garlick More

Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A lovely old residence decorated with charming curios. Our welcome was very warm and the host knowledgeable about the area in which we were staying, advising us on dining options. We found the room and the bathroom to be quite small, having to take it in turns to do our morning ablutions. The bed was comfortable. The room was on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Hans Thank you so much for your very kind review and we are so very glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Sadly, when the original part of the cottage was built in 1540 as two workman's cottages, space was not of great interest to the builder and therefore our rooms and bathrooms are not large by... More

Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A very warm welcome from Victoria made feel at home straight away. Our room was comfortable and provided well for the family, 2 adults, 1 child and a small dog. The breakfast was perfect and we were all very well looked after.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Luke and family Thank you for your very kind review, you were a delight to have in the cottage and I'm glad you managed in your room, although it was a tight fit! I do hope your daughter enjoyed her triathlon and will look forward to welcoming you all back for the next competition. Victoria More

MLGWesgate-On-Sea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A very old and charming building the Smugglers seemed like a great find. We had a single room which had a pull out extra bed and a door leading to the garden, which was brilliant because we could sit out until late in the evening and enjoy a glass of champagne or two! For this reason we retired late but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you did not entirely enjoy your visit. Most people staying at Smugglers Cottage enjoy the communal experience of sitting at one big table, in fact you are only the second to make this comment in eleven years. We do realise that not everyone enjoys the same experience and... More

Heath Hayes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just returned from another great stay at the Smugglers Cottage. As before we received a lovely welcome from Victoria and Roger the owners who can never do enough to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The cottage is warm and homely and retains all its charm and character. The breakfast is a must, excellent quality using all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review, it makes all the hard work worth while. We have enjoyed you staying with us again and look forward to your next visit. More

Gloucestershire, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

If Roger and Victoria took part in one of the rating systems they probably wouldn't get too many stars. But that would be the fault of the systems themselves, which tend to favour blandness and uniformity above originality. There's nothing bland about Smugglers Cottage, from the thatched exterior to the interesting interior rooms crammed with antiques and nicknacks. Our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for your review, always very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at our cottage and for giving us your 4 stars. Very glad that you enjoyed your breakfast, we do try to source everything locally from good quality suppliers. We do hope that you will come again. Roger & Victoria More

Been to Smugglers Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cottage

Also Known As:
Smugglers Cottage Ferndown, Dorset, UK
Address: 577 Wimborne Road East, Ferndown BH22 9NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Ferndown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original part of Smugglers Cottage was built in 1540 and was two workman's cottages. These were knocked into one and the back part built on in the early 1900's. Many of the beams are from the timbers of a Spanish Galleon wrecked at St Albans Head. On curving beams of the drawing room door, the ship's plumb line has been used and, because of the salt absorbed from the sea all those many years ago, the wood is now as hard as ebony. When built, Smugglers Cottage was one of only five cottages on the heath and woodland and consequently was probably used as a natural way station for smugglers making their way inland from Poole Harbour. Here in the comfortable, well concealed building they would sort and share, quarrel and fight, drink and laugh without detection. Now Smugglers Cottage has been a Bed & Breakfast of sorts since the 1930's. The cottage is furnished with many antique pieces which Roger & I have collected over the past 40 years. We hope you will enjoy eating off our Victorian mahogany dining table. The beds are modern and we hope that you will get a very good nights sleep before joining the other guests for our locally sourced and freshly cooked to order breakfast. We have car parking at the rear of the property and during the summer we invite you to sit in the back garden before going out for your evenings entertainment. We do not have a bar but are happy to provide glasses, etc, should you wish to bring in your own alcoholic beverages. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smugglers Cottage to your Saves list