We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Ferndown B&Bs / inns

Smugglers Cottage

577 Wimborne Road East, Ferndown BH22 9NW, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (28)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Smugglers Cottage
Ranked #4 of 4 Ferndown B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ferndown
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
14
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this cottage for my 90 year old parents and myself. When we arrived we were taken aback by the charm of this very old thatched cottage. The owners were very warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were cosy and decorated with interesting antique items which added to the charm. The beds were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guests You are too kind with your review but it is gratefully accepted. Your parents were delightful to have at Smugglers and we look forward to your return. Victoria More

Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room cramped, cold and noisy (situated on a busy main road).Television so high on the wall we had to watch television standing up. Bathroom down the corridor of a good size, but needed a deep clean and the plug holes needed to be cleaned out to enable water to run away. Breakfast less than sumptuous -sliced bread, tinned fruit and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guests Good try but I think two reviews are not allowed. take it on the chin and give up please before things get out of hand. Victoria More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Dirty bathroom, was able to scrape filth from surface of sink, dusty to say least. Not very clean overall. Wouldn't shower in this place due to standard of hygiene displayed in the rooms. I know it's an old building but that doesn't give freedom to not clean. Would rather sleep on the gravel outside. Not good would not recommend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guests I normally thank people for their reviews, however in this instance I do not feel able to. I feel your review was down to the fact that you originally booked for three nights but decided for no good reason to leave after two nights. Under our cancellation policy if people cancel with no good reason, i.e. health problems... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Lovely stay at the Smugglers. A charming building with quirky doors and windows and a welcoming ambience. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. You get a proper bed spread not a polyester duvet. Delicious breakfast! Hope to see you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Lord Rockwood Thank you for your review and we so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will return some day so that we can look after you again. More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My partner stayed here as part of his working away.. So all recollections are his own.. The stay consisted of a cold, damp stay.. The windows were drafty and you were given sheets instead of a duvet/ quilt. The biggest let down for the cottage was the lack of security.. The rooms are unlockable, meaning I had to take all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and we are sorry that we did not come up to your expectations. I find it puzzling that you found the room cold and damp as the heating was on and you could have turned it up at any time. We do not have a damp problem. We are a very old property... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Roger & Victoria who own Smugglers Cottage are the most friendly couple you could meet. We spent 5nights in their lovely home, and we were really well looked after. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and we were given fresh milk every day so we could have drinks in the room. The breakfast was excellent,freshly cooked and piping hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Nick and Linda Thank you fro your wonderful review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again at Smugglers Cottage. More

Redhill, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

One night only and first visit. Greeted like lost friends. The owners are very warm and welcoming and offered us fresh milk in a flask to add to the tea/coffee available in the room. Could possibly have preferred a cold drink though. The room is found via a spiral staircase which may be challenging to some.(other rooms available) The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you so very much for your kind review. Roger and I take a great deal of trouble over the total Smugglers experience and are very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. We do hope that you will come again for a little longer next time. More

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Pretty place, very nice rooms, staff were nice. Didn't like the shower very much as it was slow which meant we had to be in there longer. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you are under 30 as its quiet and older people stay there. If you want to go for a night out it wouldn't be suitable as when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear NatAllP Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Sorry about the shower, we are a very old property with six bathrooms, so our showers may not be a fast as you would like. We have many young visitors and no one has yet complained about late comers at night, in fact we host many wedding guests... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We actually selected this B&B due to the location of the event that we needed to go to, but having been there would definitely stay again, for the price the room was lovely, very comfortable, the show took a bit of getting used to but it seemed to add quirkiness to the place. Breakfast was lovely, and we were really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Sharon Thank you so much for your very kind review of Smugglers Cottage and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will come back in the future and stay a little longer. Victoria Garlick More

Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A lovely old residence decorated with charming curios. Our welcome was very warm and the host knowledgeable about the area in which we were staying, advising us on dining options. We found the room and the bathroom to be quite small, having to take it in turns to do our morning ablutions. The bed was comfortable. The room was on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Hans Thank you so much for your very kind review and we are so very glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Sadly, when the original part of the cottage was built in 1540 as two workman's cottages, space was not of great interest to the builder and therefore our rooms and bathrooms are not large by... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Smugglers Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Smugglers Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cottage

Address: 577 Wimborne Road East, Ferndown BH22 9NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Ferndown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cottage Ferndown, Dorset, UK

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The original part of Smugglers Cottage was built in 1540 and was two workman's cottages. These were knocked into one and the back part built on in the early 1900's. Many of the beams are from the timbers of a Spanish Galleon wrecked at St Albans Head. On curving beams of the drawing room door, the ship's plumb line has been used and, because of the salt absorbed from the sea all those many years ago, the wood is now as hard as ebony. When built, Smugglers Cottage was one of only five cottages on the heath and woodland and consequently was probably used as a natural way station for smugglers making their way inland from Poole Harbour. Here in the comfortable, well concealed building they would sort and share, quarrel and fight, drink and laugh without detection. Now Smugglers Cottage has been a Bed & Breakfast of sorts since the 1930's. The cottage is furnished with many antique pieces which Roger & I have collected over the past 40 years. We hope you will enjoy eating off our Victorian mahogany dining table. The beds are modern and we hope that you will get a very good nights sleep before joining the other guests for our locally sourced and freshly cooked to order breakfast. We have car parking at the rear of the property and during the summer we invite you to sit in the back garden before going out for your evenings entertainment. We do not have a bar but are happy to provide glasses, etc, should you wish to bring in your own alcoholic beverages. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Smugglers Cottage to your Saves list