We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roxbro House

Hotel website
5 Castle Terrace, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Offers & Announcements
UP TO 35% OFF ROOM RATES
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Roxbro House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

652 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

A fantastic and luxurious B and B overlooking Warkworth castle. Relaxing guest lounge, complimentary wine and cheese in the evening and an amazing breakfast. Would definitely recommend and return. Lovely little touches like chocolate and biscuits in the room as well fresh milk delivered outside your room in the morning.

Helpful?
1 Thank justine19732015
barnard castle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a last minute break, lots of nice little extra,s, well worth a stay and would highly recommend it. Very clean and tidy, loved the fresh coffee and free wine and cheese. Lovely hosts, will be back

Helpful?
1 Thank Bucksy
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having booked this B&B based on good reviews and reports from friends, we would like to start by saying that it lived up to our expectations in every way. Fab room with castle views, nice breakfast and friendly staff. Unfortunately our two night stay was overshadowed somewhat by a couple of disrespectful and inconsiderate guests in the next room. This... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen5763
fusspot123, Owner at Roxbro House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. All here are just so sorry that your weekend was somewhat overshadowed because of the two guests in question that you have mentioned. It goes without saying that we can't apologise again enough for their terrible behaviour. We are simply not used to people conducting themselves... More 

Silsden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having just returned from a weekend at Roxbro House I really can't recommend it enough. The service, decor and food were all spot on and the room pinics that they offer are a lovely touch. Despite a disturbance,due to some of the other guests, we had an enjoyable stay. The hotel staff were extremely apologetic and dealt with the situation... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie S
fusspot123, Owner at Roxbro House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and of course can't apologise enough for the behaviour of the two guests who disturbed everyone during the night with their pound drunken behaviour. I can assure you we are not used to guests conducting themselves in this way and the situation... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have visited Roxbro many times, and will visit many more. Never fails. Wonderful from beginning to end. Luxurious yet cosy surroundings, beautiful food with added extras, and lovely hosts, all in beautiful Northumberland. High recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Eva S
fifer
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and i stayed here on saturday 9th jan After being showed round we found our room very satisfactory, really enjoyed reading paper with glass of wine and cheese at happy hour in residents lounge.(free of charge)nice touch .Breakfast faultless served by very pleasant young lady,only fault glass shower screen swung over bath whilst showering (room 2) however this... More 

Helpful?
Thank FiferWdg
Pudsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

My son and I randomly booked Roxbro House for a Saturday night in November as we were attending a family celebration in Fulton. What a lovely experience it was. We were welcomed warmly, given a quick tour and shown the complementary home made cake and honesty bar in the Guest Lounge. A beautiful period property in tip top condition and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

We had two nights away at Roxbro House. This time we had the Ethel Noble room it was as described, the view of the castle was great from both the room and the bathroom. The bathroom with the slipper bath was lovely with plenty of room in the bathroom. The breakfast is great and there is plenty of choice if... More 

Helpful?
Thank conqueror55
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

It was our first time at this establishment although we visit Northumberland quite often but it certainly will not be our last. What at absolute gem, which sits in the shadow of the castle, from the fabulous welcome, the spotless and beautifully decorated rooms, the free cheese and wine to the magnificent breakfast our stay was a joy.In the village... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeteG5653
Durham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

Stayed for a couple of nights - pretty much the same experience as most people - convenient location; nice chatty host; great breakfast; nice extras (chocs; wine cheese etc); very nice furnishings (even though they're not "my thing") .............. yes we would stay here again, particularly good value at "winter rates".

Helpful?
2 Thank NCX
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
10.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
12.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
5.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.0 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Hope & Anchor
The Hope & Anchor
#8 of 11 in Alnmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#