Overview: Willem Marinus Dudok was born in 1884 in Amsterdam. Late twenties, he became City Architect of Hilversum. Over five decades Dudok... more »
Overview: Willem Marinus Dudok was born in 1884 in Amsterdam. Late twenties, he became City Architect of Hilversum. Over five decades Dudok... more » designed a total of 25 housing complexes in Hilversum. The quality of Dudok residential neighborhoods located in the expressively designed angle parties, careful layout and the variety of roof heights and building lines. Usually the houses are not isolated, but they are part of a plan. So you find in the middle of residential neighborhoods is often a school: a building with a vertical accent in the form of a tower or chimney. His most famous building is undoubtedly the townhall of Hilversum. Dudok died in 1974 at the age of 89. He is buried in Northern Cemetery in Hilversum designed by him. This Cemetery is also a POI in this trip. less «
From May 2011 you can rent a Segway at the starting location.
Call +31 (0) 35 201 06 60 for reservations. (min. 3 days in front)
Here at the Havenstraat (Portstreet) you find the Old Port. The port was constructed in 1876 at the end of the canal and ran from 's-Graveland to Hilversum. The excavated sand was used for the construction of the canals of Amsterdam and as building material for the expansion of Hilversum itself. The old port was in decline after the construction... More of the New Haven in 1938 at the Hilversum canal.LessMore Less
The Bavinchschool was built in 1922 and is highly asymmetric. This contrasts with the Bathhouse further down the street. The small part of the city between Bavinckschool and Bathhouse form a whole. This is because the houses have gabled roofs and Bavinckschool and Bathhouse are flat. In1929, the building was extended with the wing on east side and... More they changed the gym and changing rooms. As part of the fourth housing complex and still used as school.Less
This reading room (libary) is part of the first housing complex that Dudok in Hilversum South was built for the workers. The public reading room and the "workers houses were designed and built in the period 1915 to 1919. The public library is also the main gate and the passage of two streets. The houses were built with simple materials and few... More facilities for rent as low as possible. The rent for the lag time between homes EUR 1.00 and EUR 2.00 per week. Despite the complex is conveniently built, partly due to the variation in facades. The total complex included the public reading room, 180 homes, shops and a public urinal.LessMore Less
The Geranium School dates from 1918. It was the first school built Dudok in Hilversum. The high tower of the school is the highlight of the quarter and a striking landmark. The architecture of the school and homes in this neighborhood is called the 'Amsterdam School'. This style is characterized by varied brickwork, excellent ornaments and wood... More trim. Now the houses seem small, but for the first residents was a major improvement in their current living situation.Less
One of the latest designs of Dudok in Hilversum, the very spacious cemetery 'Zuiderhof. A wide avenue left and right gives access to the graves. The auditorium and entry are in sober colors - white and blue-kept. Also a water feature is not lacking. The cemetery is directly in the beautiful 'Hoorneboegse heath.
Pumping station was for rain drainage and sewage from the town of Hilversum. The pumping station was built in the style of the Amsterdam School. The rain water was discharged into the pond and pumped to the Old Port, the dirty water was pumped to the sewage farm to Loosdrechtseweg. The pond is about 1 ha, with two islands. The excavated sand was... More used for raising the walls around the pond and for leveling the sport terrain on the other side of the track.
Restoration of the park in 1996
Restoration of the waterpumping station in 1997.Less
This massive school building was built in 1920. The school has many distinguishing features of the 'Amsterdam School'. Apart from the public since 1920 ULO who was located, was also the trading school. After 1968 the Rembrandt School was a Day and Evening College. From 1999 to 2001, the building has since been restored and is again used as a... More school. In the year 1920 is also expanding this part of Hilversum rapidly. Apart from the school are also increasingly built houses.Less
Tunnel rail link from Hilversum to Utrecht and Amersfoort. Year 1938. On both sides of the tunnel a plaque with the arms of Beatrix and the inscription: "Princess Beatrix tunnel. Also on both sides of a plaque with a picture of the situation before and after construction of the tunnel with the lyrics, "1873 by 1938 for high speed separation 's... More fast movement united"
and across the state, "Technology and the labor force that separated and brought together again. "Less
On the Minckelersstraat Dudok designed three school buildings. The two remaining schools are now called the Minckelers School. Notest the low windows for the childeren. This school is also more colorful than the other buildings. The playgrounds are safe from the road closed. The composition of the building blocks on the other hand leads to a... More tower. This tower overlooks the entire neighborhood. This style of stacking blocks, "the romantic Cubism" is why Dudok became famous. The tower is from the Swallow Square clearly visible. The houses on the Nachtegaalstraat go out almost seamlessly into the adjacent school building.Less
Dudok designed some 20 schools for the rapidly growing municipality Hilversum. Every school is different. Often they stand in the middle residential area, they rise above the houses (usually with a tower) and have a different architecture than the homes with their brick walls and sloping tiled roofs. For Dudok were schools and social center of the... More architectural the district, a role that often churches elsewhere to play. The Nassau school has three wings that start at the same height as the surrounding houses and converging at the
tower. The playground is always closed to the public road. The Nassau school has more colored tiles, more plantersand has more 'unusual' types than the houses.Less
The Duivenstraat is a national monument. Here Dudok designed in 1928
housing for people with little money. The houses are very small: a ground floor and a loft. It is now almost impossible to propose that whole families lived. The quality of the Duivenstraat is not so much the house itself, but the ensemble as a whole. The street knows the... More beginning and end a constriction and an increase wooden houses with green facades which have a rural feel.
Between these strictures is a larger piece with a little garden. The tower of the Nassau School is exactly in the axis along the length of the little garden and is therefore from the Duivenstraat clearly visible. The Pigeon Street was restored in 2003, with the original appearance was the starting point. The street now looks almost as 1928, but the houses are larger now. Some are merged. Of The 37 houses are 25 remaining, two houses sometimes making it or three doors. The low houses in the middle of the street have an extension to the rear, making them two times as big. These extensions are not from the street.Less
Population growth not only asked for more housing and schools, but also more space for burial. At the Pond, the North Cemetery Berlage (1930), which Dudok sober with a lot of black witdetails it executed. Such as balanced, vertical glass sides. Walking on the tight, yet monumental cemetery, you will find peace and tranquility, also designed by... More himself grave Dudok (Section XIII).Less
The school was built in 1929. Dudok was using for the nursery Expresionistische style and held this additional account users. Especially for the students made Dudok de windows "kindergarten level". The tower of the school proved to be a very attractive nesting birds. Hence the school the nickname "Pigeons School got. In 1997 the building was... More restored and has since been also used as office.Less
This school was built in 1930. The Multatuli School in 1996 and renovated in the old colors restored. The Multatuli School is now used as a primary school. Most of the Dudok's schools look like the town hall. They are desinged in the same period and have the same characteristics. Dudok made extensive use of continuous glass and bold for its... More time.The colors characterize the architecture of Dudok the high chimneys, breaking the horizontal plane and offset.Less
Villa on the James Pennweg 19. Design by Dudok in 1952, and in 1953 realized. Built for the Persian princess Fatemah Khanoum the Katschaloff. Hate wanted a house with three wings in a Y shape. This villa is located in the district Trompenberg. In the pictures you see include the old situation before world war II.
Dudok The route ends at the town hall. One of the newest monuments in Hilversum. The Hall was built in the period 1928 to 1931 to build and is the world famous masterpiece by architect Willem Marinus Dudok. The former director of public works of the city Hilversum used a modern design and the colors of the arms of Hilversum, yellow and blue.
For ... Morethe construction of Town Hall Hilversum in 1923 the church bought the property "Den Witten Hull". The Hall is situated in the beautiful park setting of Villa District "The Ancients Eng" on the edge of the center of Hilversum. The facades are constructed in special yellow bricks of different size and with shadow gap. During the restoration in the period from 1989 to 1996, most bricks replaced. This was necessary because the bricks were fired too low. Due to the porous structure was hoping in winter moisture and freezing destroy the bricks. The total construction cost of the Hall were in the 20 years around 1.3 million guilders. Restoration amounted to more than 60 years later than 32,000,000, - guilders.
The tower is 47 meters the highest point of the hall.
Besides the town hall has much more built Dudok in Hilversum. He built residential areas, schools, baths, cemeteries and sports a gallery. Dudok also designed gardens, ponds and a pavilion.
As "director of Public Works" of the municipality of Hilversum, Dudok early 1915 to the city from the nucleus' as a flower "will develop. Therefore, no new construction in the center but in the rapidly expanding suburbs needed. Because of the emerging (carpet) industry and later the advent of radio broadcasting, rising employment. This is also a growing population explosion Hilversum, from 35,000 inhabitants in 1915 to 100,000 in 1958!
It is therefore very much built. Thus designs and builds new homes throughout Dudok with the associated infrastructure: parks and public buildings.Less