We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bowood House and Gardens

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Route A4 | Derryhill village, Derry Hill, Chippenham, England
Phone Number: 01249 812102
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 6:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 184 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 83
    Excellent
  • 54
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
A Good Day out for Grandchildren

I pre- purchased a family ticket for a grandparent, parent and two children aged rising 5 and 6. We visited on a truly horrible day with rain nearly all day. In spite of this... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 20, 2015
susan H
,
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

I pre- purchased a family ticket for a grandparent, parent and two children aged rising 5 and 6. We visited on a truly horrible day with rain nearly all day. In spite of this the children loved the adventure area until the higher areas became slippery. As the weather was so poor we encouraged the children to go into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello susan H Many thanks for your lovely review - it sounds like you got to see most of the attractions here at Bowood despite the weather. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your day and will pass on your comments to the staff. I hope you can visit us again (hopefully on a sunny day) - we are open until... More 

Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

I visited with my 6 yr old daughter yesterday. For the price, it's good value. A small farm with well kept animals, small tractor and digger rides for them to use. The big draw is the huge children's play area targeted at children under 12. Plenty of high wires, slides, swings, climbing frames, trampoline, death slide. Plenty of staff around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello MrsLapin Many thanks for your lovely review - I'm really pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your day with us. Do come back and see us again before the end of the season - we are open until November 1st. With kind regards. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Stunning landscaped gardens, brilliant adventure playground, ok house (just the orangery - but with excellent art collection), restaurant has excellent quality buffet at reasonalbe price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello S W Many thanks for your great review - I'm pleased you enjoyed your trip to Bowood - sounds like you had a good lunch too. Great stuff - hope you can come back and see us again soon (we are open until November 1st). With kind regards. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

Overpriced with little to see. Paid £22 for a couple and there was only a small one floor single wing of the house. There was a nice collection of a few paintings, sculptures and family memorabilia. The garden with flowers was not much bigger. There was no access to see the walled garden, greenhouses or out buildings. There was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Shane S Thanks for your review. I'm sorry that you did not come away feeling that you had a great day but I do find your comments at odds with the feedback we normally get. Price wise we make sure we are competitive to other local attractions and with so much space here and so much to do we... More 

Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

We live fairly locally, decided to make a birthday trip to Bowood to see Tractorland as our boy adores Tractor Ted. If this is your plan, don't bother. Basically a tiny petting farm (worse than most roadside farm cafes) with a wooden model of Tractor Ted. Save your time. Adventure playground looks good for under12s, can't complain. However, I wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello SomeTravellings I was sorry to read your review and to hear that you did not come away from Bowood having had the same lovely experience that most of our visitors do. The House is still a private residence which is why not all of it is open to the public but that is also what gives it such charm... More 

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

A lovely garden with the sweeping lawns and superbly placed trees one would expect from a Capability Brown design. The walks are easy and mostly paved, there is an interesting pergola and some rare trees in the same area. The house has a stunning collection of paintings and drawings, plus memorabilia from the 18th and 19th century adventures of various... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello John G Thank you so much for your lovely review - I'm really pleased you had a great day with us. Sounds like you got to see lots that Bowood has to offer which is great but not sure about the 'Basement' tour or Banana Tree as we don't have them here - maybe you were getting a couple... More 

solihull
Level Contributor
411 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

My wife and I had recently rejoined HHA (£75.00 27 properties last year) and decided on a lovely sunny Sunday to visit Lydiard House (arrogant council staff...Jobs Worth !) and Bowood House. Having arrived at Bowood House we explained to the most courteous lady on reception that my Dear wife had forgotten her HHA membership card but the good lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello busterSolihull Many thanks for your kind review - I'm really pleased you and your wife enjoyed your visit. We have strong links with the HHA and it is great that you were able to take advantage of your membership with a visit here. I hope we can welcome you again in the future. With kind regards. More 

Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
279 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Bowood is a little bit odd and I found out why when, after touring the "house", you find that the "real" house had been neglected to the point where it had to be razed and the family instead turned the orangerie (not too shabby!) into living quarters, instead. The building is worth a quick tour, just to peek... but then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello bravo-cinzia Many thanks for your kind review - I'm really pleased you enjoyed the House and Grounds. The landscape you mention was designed by 'Capability' Brown over 250 years ago and is one of the best examples of his famous work in the UK. Next year sees the Tercentenary of his birth and we are planning various ways to... More 

england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

As members of the HHA, we had free admittance to the property, which meant we were able to bypass the queue to purchase tickets.as you enter the grounds, there is a small petting farm, with sheep, goats, pigs and chickens. It's small and a nice add on, but wouldn't take more than 10 minutes to view. There are also two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello mabelEngland Many thanks for your review. I will pass on your comments about the restaurant to the catering team and make sure they are addressed. I'm concerned that you felt that some areas were 'off limits' as we have literally hundreds of acres of beautiful grounds and 'Capability' Brown landscape to explore as well as the large adventure playground... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Unfortunately I went on a summers day where the weather changed quite dramatically. If you are a family with children you can at least use the kids part to play however when I was there the weather started to get very windy and wet so all I really did was see the house which is nice but I have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Tigger1013 Thank you for your review - I'm sorry that the weather seems to have spoiled your visit. Most people find that there is a lot to see in the house - it is not completely open to the public as it is still the family home of Lord and Lady Lansdowne (which is part of the charm of... More 

Travelers who viewed Bowood House and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Bowood House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bowood House and Gardens staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?