We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: PO Box 133, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
Phone Number: 27 (0) 22 921 8026
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 70 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 16
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Wet Weekend!

We had a really great weekend. We were in room 35 which was a beautiful room with a big shower and bathtub. I would recommend that the cleaning staff take a bit more care to... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2015
Marcus C
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW

We stayed in a self-catering chalet against the hilltop. I don't mind a place being older, but there's no excuse for filthy. The bathrooms looked like they hadn't been cleaned, the walls were mouldy, and the bedding stank (definitely not freshly laundered), and all of that for a hefty price. I ended up sleeping in my sleeping bag on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

I enjoyed the natural mineral pools, one hot another cold, also the clean and well-appointed chalet with beautiful views of the valley and distant mountains, surrounded by fields of citrus trees. All of this in a divine, restorative silence with fresh country air. Enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We had a really great weekend. We were in room 35 which was a beautiful room with a big shower and bathtub. I would recommend that the cleaning staff take a bit more care to ensure a clean room but nothing to ruin a great weekend. The staff at McGregor's were very friendly but the food could probably be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Myself and husband arrived at The Baths on Sunday 18Th January 2015. On arrival at the Main gate " Mannetjies" was extremely helpful. At the reception Kobus and he's co worker was helpful and gave us the layout and rules of the The Baths. We stayed at the outside chalets. We made friends with each and every person staying on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Into the mountains. Warm water private mountain pools makes for a interesting visit. More populated pools (two) are available as well as private jacuzzi rooms. Very hot and lots of campers in season but well worth the visit especially the restuarant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I tried to book a camping site for a weekend away and didn't know it can be so difficult. I checked the webiste and sent an e-mail request to reservation at the Baths. I received a replied confirming there were sites available for my desired period and that I should call the reservation to book it. I called first time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review

Dear Maggie Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize and I will definately investigate the matter. I do find it very strange to hear that you have made so many attemps to do a booking , but without success. The staff do handle lots of bookings daily , and we have never received complains of this kind before. The... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We camped on the rivers edge, very large pitch, nice and quiet, and very shady. The Baths and pools were excellent. The main pool was 43 degrees, and the second pool was 27 degrees.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review

Dear Juliabunn I am very glad to hear and you did enjoy your stay at The Baths. Many thanks for the feedback and your loyal support. All the best for the new year 2015. Kind Regards George More 

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We arrived at The Baths seeking an overnight stop over before we travelled on to our next destination. A simple camping site is what we needed for our sleep over, only to be told that they had none and that it was fully booked, even for day visitors. The "Manwoman" referred us to their neighbour, Natures View and suggested that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We stayed in one of the Olsen Building apartments. It is basically equipped and has air-conditioning. But the best thing was that it has an outside bath, completely secluded and the warm water comes from the eye. We stayed during the week, so the kids and crowds were at a minimum. It was wonderful to go from the warm pool,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review

Dear Justine I am very glad to hear and you did enjoy your stay at The Baths. Many thanks for the feedback and your loyal support. Kind Regards George More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We celebrated our son's birthday at the resort. Our original accommodation was a charming, newly renovated Cape Dutch house on the hill. It was spotless and quiet. We moved to the luxury apartments which had air conditioning as it is very hot this time of the year. These were lovely especially the upstairs room which had its own outside and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review

Dear Lauraine Many thanks for the feedback and we do appreciate it a lot. We do try our best to ensure that guests enjoy their stay at The Baths. We are also in a process, busy to upgrade our accommodation units. Kind Regards George More 

Travelers who viewed The Baths also viewed

Been to The Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Baths staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?