We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Baths

PO Box 133, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
27 (0) 22 921 8026
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Attractions in Citrusdal
Type: Spas
60 visitor photos
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    12
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Robertson, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 NEW

We camped at the baths for 3 nights staying on 2 of the un-electrified sites. They were in the shade and absolutely fine. The braai place needed maintenance but was acceptable. The toilets and showers that we used were also acceptable and clean. The actual baths were clean and well looked after. They are very relaxing and we recommend them.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Our family decided to spend my sons 10 year birthday at The Baths. We've been before numerous times and have stayed at their inside Chalet's, but we were a party of 8 people so we decided to book their Melkhout house which is situated just outside the main gate. It is a massive house, that accommodates 8 people with ease.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

Baths is really a awesome place. I love all about it except the camp sites, although very beautiful and very well situated, if you go camping with a tent, you have a problem getting the pegs in the the very very hard ground. I used very strong pegs and it still bended. Took me 4 hours to get some in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place in 1974 for the first time with my parents.Forty years later I came back.Not much has change.This is a small GEM of a place. Love it, love it, love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review

Hi Nico Welcome back after 40 years .... I am very glad that you have enjoyed the stay. Hope to see you soon again and thank you for your support. Manie More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Our annual visit to the Baths never disappoints. Great place for resting and relaxing. Olsen house always a winner! Clean, warm water. Beautiful surrounds. The jacuzzis have all received an overall. Don't expect luxury, but if you need a break from city life, this place if worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review

Dear sir Many thanks for the feedback and your loyal support Much appreciated ! More

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Myself, my mom and my 5 year old daughter, have just returned from our second weekend stay at The Baths, in the space of 3 months (1st visit: June 2014_2nd visit: August 2014). This place is undoubtedly Cape Town's Best Kept Secret. We cannot fault the place. Staff are friendly and helpful. Facilities are clean. Pools are sparkling. Chalets were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Nagel Many thanks for the feedback and your loyal support Much appreciated ! More

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I is completely interested in visiting "The Baths" after we read all the reviews. Over half the reviews is negative! i been to the baths in the 90' and my experience then was very similar to what people experience still!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review

Dear Sir I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, like other people do. Unfortunately people's taste differs , and The Baths is not eveyone's cup of tea. More

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Lady at reception rude and have no idea of customer interaction. Least to say we than left - its almost feel like a goverment run venue

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review

Unfortunately we do have a dayvisitors policy that we stick to. People can't use the facilities without paying. More

Vredenburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I visited The Baths for the week-end dated 20 June to 22 June 2014. We stayed in the Willem Danster Chalets. We had such a wonderful week-end that we did not want to leave on Sunday. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our chalets was perfect with everything you need. The private hot baths were just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our most recent stay was very dissapointing, no lights on at chalet as we arrived in the dark, no lights on at the swimming pool when we wanted to go for a evening swim (luckily there was a beautiful full moon), and the food at the restaurant was very poor - rather take your own to make as there are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed The Baths also viewed

Been to The Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing