We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekapo Springs

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 6 Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Springs)
Phone Number: +64 3-680 6550
Website
Today
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Description: Enjoy outdoor hot pools, ice skating & snow tubing in winter & dare to...
Enjoy outdoor hot pools, ice skating & snow tubing in winter & dare to ride the new 11 metre high - 53 metre long TRIPPO water slide in summer. There is also an artificial summer tube. Enjoy a treatment at the Day Spa or relax in our fully licensed cafe onsite.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 323 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 144
    Excellent
  • 126
    Very good
  • 36
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Very relaxing

The pools were cheap for entry and very relaxing, lovely and warm and hardly anyone in them. Good coffee and cheap food choices in the cafe. The showers could do with an... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 15, 2015
Foodlover438
,
Wanaka, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

Tekapo Springs have three pools of different temperatures all having great view across the brilliant blue Lake Tekapo. We were staying at the holiday park next door and went on both days we were there. We could have sat in there for ages! Everything is very clean and lockers provided. There is a café serving drinks and snacks. Also a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

I have been a regular visitor to Lake Tekapo for over 18 years and when it was announced that there was plans for hot pools I waited with enthusiasm for the opening day. My wife and I have been there many times and have always came away satisfied with the experience. We have always been greeted by friendly staff at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

What a great day we had. A beautiful drive, after some early snowfall the night before. Was very chilly, but we were well prepared. We bought a combo ticket to try all three activities. First up we hit the slope on the tube slide. Although a little icy on the first run, as the 'summer' slide has a fine sprinkle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wanaka, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 NEW

The pools were cheap for entry and very relaxing, lovely and warm and hardly anyone in them. Good coffee and cheap food choices in the cafe. The showers could do with an improvement, kind of like a school swimming pool changing room

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

After a cold walk on Mt John, the Tekapo Hot Springs were perfect. Soaked away the stretched muscles and warmed us through to the bone. Lovely site too. And enjoyed the beer afterwards too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

We had a nice day at the Hot Pools. Highly recommended. An awesome view and really warm water (38-40 Degrees), will help you to relax. The nice fireplace after the warm session, a book and a hot chocolate was the peak at this nice day. I also liked that they designed it in a supportive way for people in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Director of Sales at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Tekapo Springs. The view from the hot pools is breathtaking and it won’t be long until the ranges are coated in a dusting of snow. The 3 hot pools offer a range of temperatures from 36 – 40 degrees and an ideal way to keep warm on these cooler days. We are glad to... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

We shout the kids every queens birthday weekend for a swim and ice skating. The ice skating is a joke. It's a pond. Quite funny watching people making waves when they full over This has happened for the last four years a complete waste of money to have wet kids. Do we need to dress them in wet suits let's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Owner at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Hullo Leanne, I am disappointed you had this experience at Tekapo Springs. I assume you are referring to Anzac weekend perhaps when the weather was a balmy 23 degrees Celsius as Queens birthday is coming up last weekend in May. We always try to get the ice rink operating for Easter weekend and April school holidays and April is always... More 

Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We go around 4 pm, the temperature outside is 10' so when we go to first pool at 36' is very good. There are 3 different pool and the 40' pool is not for children. They give you wrist band so you can go to the pool anytime you like in one day. My suggestion buy the ticket via internet,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Director of Sales at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and is great to hear you enjoyed your time. We do indeed have some great promotions and recommend everyone to visit our website or sign up to our newsletter. The all day pass gives you the freedom to come and go freely throughout the day. Explore the wonders of Tekapo and then return for some... More 

Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

Recently booked a massage with Sonje, as well as an eyebrow wax. Fantastic wax work and felt so relaxed and comfortable for the duration of the massage. Sonje and Crystal were both incredibly helpful, friendly and genuinely lovely people! Thanks very much for a relaxing afternoon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Director of Sales at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Tekapo Springs and we will pass on your comments to our therapists. The girls offer some fantastic treatments and is a great way to spend an hour or two. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Came up this way for my 40th birthday and even though it was a windy day it was still quite pleasant. Apart from all the water on the ice skating rink it was a great experience. The pools were good and I like the fact that you had 3 options of pools that changed in temperature and an adults only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Director of Sales at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Tekapo Springs and we appreciate your comments. Skating is a lot of fun and is a nice way to heat up afterwards with a dip in one of our 3 hot pools. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Travelers who viewed Tekapo Springs also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Tekapo Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tekapo Springs and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tekapo Springs staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?