We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekapo Springs

6 Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Springs)
+64 3-680 6550
Website
Improve this listing
83%
Ranked #8 of 13 Attractions in Lake Tekapo
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Wellness & Spas
Owner description: Enjoy outdoor hot pools, ice skating & snow tubing in winter & dare to ride the new 11 metre high...
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
More attraction details
Attraction details
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Wellness & Spas
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Owner description: Enjoy outdoor hot pools, ice skating & snow tubing in winter & dare to ride the new 11 metre high - 53 metre long TRIPPO water slide in summer. There is also an artificial summer tube. Enjoy a treatment at the Day Spa or relax in our fully licensed cafe onsite.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children

Hotels near Tekapo Springs

Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    103
    32
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

What a difference a few hundred meters makes. After receiving terrible service round in the township at one of the cafes, we drove round to the hot pools. Like the cafe they have a captive audience, evn more so than the cafe. We were more than pleasantly surprised at the difference in service. A few hundred meters was more like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. We are pleased that we gave you a positive impression of Lake Tekapo and that you made the most of our cafe offerings while you were here for a soak in the hot pools. We hope to see you again soon when you can try the new cafe summer menu! More 

Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Great location for a relaxing soak in hot pools overlooking the beautiful Lake Tekapo. Nice big pools all well supervised.Facilities are great,and staff very friendly. A must for visitors to beautiful Tekapo

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs! It is fantastic to know that you enjoyed your time here and took in the stunning view that is on offer from the Hot Pools - with the warmer weather approaching the view is equally good from the cafe patio with a coffee. We pride ourselves on offering great customer... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014 via mobile

Really great sights and the hot pools were much appreciated after having experienced several blustery and stormy days down at the lake. It was very clean and the overall experience was very relaxing! we went in the morning and it was quite perfect. Best part is you can re enter anytime on the same day so long you keep your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. It is great to hear that you had such a relaxing time in the hot pools taking in the stunning views of Lake Tekapo. Our passes are for all day entry so it is fantastic value to come and go as you like throughout the day. We hope you enjoyed... More 

Elora, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Booked two spa appointments for my wife and her friend online , confirmed by phone with the receptionist only to find no such appointment was booked..... Their response for this was sorry !!! That was it !........ Wow what great customer service .....I THINK NOT ! The worst part is was time wasted , driving there , waiting there ....... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RebeccaTekapoSprings, General Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Dear Rick C Yes, we were extremely sorry for the unfortunate double booking in the spa. However, we did more than just say Sorry. We offered the ladies an alternate time of 5.15pm (one hour and 15 minutes after the original booked time). This was not acceptable as they had dinner plans. I then offered an early morning option for... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
83 attraction reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

A beautifully appointed swimming and recreational facility. The massage and beauty treatments are world class and the view is to die for. Definitely a highlight of a South Island trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. It is great that you made the most of your time here to truly escape and relax with a massage. We have recently refurbished our Day Spa with a new name - Tekapo Springs Glacial spa. We hope to see you again soon and experience the new look Spa and... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We spent a nice afternoon moving between the 3 hot pools as needed. It was a nice way to spend the afternoon. The day itself was warm and sunny and it would have been nice to have some shaded areas to sit out of the sun. Would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. We have to agree that it is an amazing spot to relax the afternoon away. We do have shade sails that we put over the pools in the warmer months. Sometimes they do have to be taken down in windy weather and there has been unseasonally winter weather of late... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Amazing views so peaceful and relaxing. Moderate price to value ratio. Be sure to take water very few water fountains.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. We have to agree that the peaceful surroundings really do allow to to simply relax in the hot pools. There is a few water fountains that allow our customers to stay hydrated as well as water bottles for sale from our cafe. We hope that you visit next time you... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

would be good as well, especially in the middle of summer when you have a choice of warm, hot and hotter on a 35 degree day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. There is a cold water pool in the long term development of the complex as this is an area that we have identified a demand for. We do have a plunge pool as part of the steam & sauna upgrade. This pool is at lake temperature which ranges from 8-12... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The wooded setting with views of the lake is very picturesque and the whole setup is relaxed. By that I mean it is less commercial than say Hanmer Springs. The water is fresh water so it is really an outdoor heated swimming pool which was great as you did not have to worry about the children putting their heads under... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. It's great to know your family had a great time enjoying the facilities that we have to offer and I will pass on your comments to our staff. With the relaxing environment the landscape really allows our customers to escape the everyday rush and with our water treatment allowing you... More 

Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

Reviewed by 9 year old son: the pools were clean and warm. I would like to have had a private cubicle to change in. I enjoyed it.😅

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. It is great to know that your family had an enjoyable experience in our Hot Pools and they truly are a great spot to sit back and relax. We do have a family changing room available and it is unfortunate that our team at Reception did not inform you of... More 

Travelers who viewed Tekapo Springs also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Tekapo Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tekapo Springs staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?