We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sanbona Wildlife Reserve

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: btwn Montagu & Barrydale, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 (0)41 509 3000
Website
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Description: Nestled at the foot of the towering Warmwaterberg Mountains in the heart...
Nestled at the foot of the towering Warmwaterberg Mountains in the heart of the Little Karoo, Sanbona Wildlife Reserve celebrates the spirit of the San people who once roamed this distinctive area. Sanbona and the spirit of the San people welcome you. More than 54 000 hectares of undulating mountains and plains, indigenous flora and fauna, rock formations and rock art make this a destination not to be missed.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 113 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 87
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Wonderful experience of Africa!

We had a very satisfying time at Sanbona as we came to enjoy what was there, not to lament its not being, say, the Maasai Mara National Reserve. Our excellent guide got us up... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 21, 2015
M J
,
Pismo Beach, California
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW

We had a very satisfying time at Sanbona as we came to enjoy what was there, not to lament its not being, say, the Maasai Mara National Reserve. Our excellent guide got us up close to all the Big 5, as well as one of those lasting visual memories--hundreds (thousands?) of Eland kicking up dust in the evening sky. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 via mobile

A long drive from Cape Town to see almost no game made for a disappointing experience. You can get the same peace and quiet elsewhere in SA for far less money and less inconvenient travel. It is a shame that overseas visitors will see this place as a safari experience when it is certainly not at all comparable to what's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen P, Manager at Sanbona Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review

Dear John L, We thank you for your comment and regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Sanbona Wildlife Reserve. We would however like to take this opportunity to clarify a few points. Sanbona is located in the semi-arid Little Karoo biome, and is as natural a system as the Western Cape has to offer,... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at Tilney Manor and throughout our stay had very mixed feelings about this place. While the accommodation is lovely and the food and service is good, we found the actual wildlife experience awful. We've had the privilege of travelling fairly widely in Africa (South Africa, Botswana, Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

After a long drive from Cape Town we arrived at the Welcome Lounge and greeted by the friendly staff. There was a further 1 hour drive from the Welcome Lounge to the Dwyka Tented Lodge but it was well worth the journey. The accommodation was unbelievable, large room and bathroom which looked out onto the national park. There was even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Really great, all around experience. The trip to the entrance to the lode from cape town can take around 2.5 hours, but plan for another hour from there to reach accommodation. We stayed at Dwyka, and were very impressed. Excellent value for money. The game drives were excellent with our guide, Pascal...very knowledgeable, passionate. Food, service, ambiance, all excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Outstanding, welcoming staff, food good and game drives morning and evening were brilliant. Accommodation is excellent with views over the mountains, pure peace and tranquility. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
31 attraction reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We stayed in Dwyka Tented Camp for two nights which was well appointed and operated and also had a great spa. The food was good (not excellent but very acceptable) and the game drives and rangers absolutely fantastic. JB and Jan in particular were first class: knowledgeable, entertaining and good hosts. We saw all the animals we'd hoped to (couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I had an amazing time here. This was the first time I had ever been to South Africa and been on a game drive, so I cannot compare it to others. The scenery was beautiful on our game drives. We seen lions, rhinoceros, giraffes, cheetas, baboons, zebras, springbok and others all up very close. The herd of elephants walked right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The park is arid semi desert. The land is stone & scrub and driving is confined to established tracks. Such an arid area doesn't support the huge game herds seen in other parts of Africa, so you see familes of zebra rather than herds. This limit on game limits the number of preditors, so you see a family of lions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Not a lot of animals on this reserve not worth the visit and very rocky. Can't say a lot more about this place as we did not enjoy it at all

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Sanbona Wildlife Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Sanbona Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sanbona Wildlife Reserve and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sanbona Wildlife Reserve staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?