We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc.

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Route 987 Las Croabas, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Phone Number: 787-604-7375
Website
Improve this listing
Today
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Description:

Yokahu Kayak Trips Inc. is an eco-friendly company endorsed by the Tourism...

Yokahu Kayak Trips Inc. is an eco-friendly company endorsed by the Tourism Company of Puerto Rico and has been favored by travelers from all over. Their professionalism, experience and knowledge in environment themes, water sports and tourism made them remain in the industry for more than 10 years. Some of the Yokahu exciting and educative tours are: Bio Bay “Laguna Grande”, Sun Set Kayak Tour, Rainforest “El Yunque” and Beach & Snorkeling Kayak Day Tour.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 371 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 269
    Excellent
  • 64
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Biobay Kayaking

As many of the below reviews state it was a pleasure kayaking with Yokahu. Unfortunately when we went it was difficult to see the biolumiescence in the water due to the relatively... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
bess325
,
Arlington, VA

Similar Things to Do in Fajardo

Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in a group of 15. They called the night before and said the luminescence was "low." It was "NOT." We saw none. They should have been more clear; our kids were disappointed and so were the adults. Second, our grandparents were there and backed out after the guide described the physical requirements. They filled their boat with another... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hattie T
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As many of the below reviews state it was a pleasure kayaking with Yokahu. Unfortunately when we went it was difficult to see the biolumiescence in the water due to the relatively cold weather, but we were able to see some sparkles. Yokahu called us earlier in the day to make sure we still wanted to go and be clear... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bess325
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

I'm so glad you decided to join us for a fun night of kayaking, despite the low bioluminescence visibility. It can still be a great experience even without the full effect of the glow, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. Because so many other tours also depart from the same spot, things can be hectic at first, but I hope... More 

Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After listening too the guide giving pre-excursion instructions, We quickly realized that this is not a trip for older people. The degree of physical ability needed to participate was never explained until our arrival. We declined to go. For the 2 of us it would have been physically DANGEROUS. We were part of our daughters birthday group of 13 people.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Richard, I'm very sorry that you were unable to join your daughter's group for a tour with us. We always want to fully inform our customers of the experience and all that it requires. We generally consider it to be a manageable tour and have included a brief description on our website. I'm sorry you felt it would be too... More 

Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked the 8pm kayak trip with a bunch of friends and family and received a phone call the day before informing us that the bio glow was LOW and he offered us the chance to cancel. I thought... LOW glow is still be worth seeing... so I didn't cancel. Once we got in the water we were told there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joann M
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a wonderful family/friends vacation in PR and the only bad thing we experienced was YoKahu Kayak Tours. We booked the 8pm kayak trip at the bio bay a few weeks in advance of the trip for 13 people - ranging from age 9 to age 75. I called the company to book the trip because I wanted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurie L
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

If anyone would have told me I would have been so happy to have been sea kayaking - at night! - I'd think you were crazy. But that's what we did to view the biolumiescent microorganisms. Instructions are a lot to take in; I feel the group just nodded yes, even when we didn't know what we had been asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monica T
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Hi there, Monica! I'm so glad to hear that your first experience night kayaking was a pleasant surprise! Although it can be a lot to take in all the instructions, especially for the first time, it sounds like you still found it manageable and enjoyable. Thank you so much for sharing the love for our knowledgeable guides, and I hope... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

First, the winter and full moons make for a very poor bioluminescence experience. You do not see alot-- but if you move the water, it looks like small sparkles. That's it. Second, kayaking through the mangroves in the dark with all the other paddling companies makes for repeated traffic jams. It's not the quiet experience with nature you might hope... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luv2TravelNJ15
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Hey there -- although I'm so happy to hear that you had a nice time with us kayaking under a full moon, I'm sorry to hear it wasn't the exact experience you were expecting. We do our best to coordinate with the other tour groups that depart from the same location, but sometimes it does get a little crowded. As... More 

Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

We had a great time even with the low amount of bioluminescence. The guides informed us it was only 30-40% but we were still able to see it. The guides were incredibly friendly and informative. Would highly recommend this group. The guides let us know the peak time is in summer so if this is your main reason for travel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky K
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Becky, I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your trip with us, even if it wasn't during the peak period for bioluminescence! It's great to hear that your guides were welcoming and knowledgeable -- I'll be sure to tell them what you said. It's a real honor to receive your recommendation, and I hope you'll come back to see us the next... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

The staff was very friendly and informative. We went on a new moon day (no moon day) , so we expected the visibility to be excellent, but the staff told us before we stepped in that the visibility was less and around 35% Kayaking through the mangrove forest in pitch dark with just glowsticks as markers was absolutely fun though.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pradep K
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Hey there, Pradep! I'm so glad you had such a fun adventure with us on the new moon night! Thank you for sharing the love for our guides, the exciting experience of a night tour, and our refreshments afterward. I hope we'll get the chance to guide you on another fun tour someday. Until then, Luis, Owner More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Great from start to finish, in spite of the fact that we went at the wrong time of the month due to a very bright full moon. The website was easy to use for booking, with lots of information about how to book, what to bring, etc. Upon arrival at the bay, the guides were friendly, helpful and very clear... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara S
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

You don't know how much it means to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful tour with us, Sara! Although the timing of the trip was a bit off, I'm happy you still had a great time navigating the waters with our helpful guides to lead you. I hope this means that you and your family will... More 

Travelers who viewed Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc. and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc. staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?