We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salem Trolley

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 8 Central Street, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number: +1 978-744-5469
Website
Description: Since 1982, Salem Trolley has offered sightseeing tours and exceptional...
Since 1982, Salem Trolley has offered sightseeing tours and exceptional transportation North of Boston. Once on board, visitors discover the Witch City's unique, colorful past. Our hop-on, hop-off service includes a one-hour narrated tour and all-day shuttle service through beautiful and historic Salem from the witchcraft trials of 1692, to literary and maritime history. Our eight-mile ride around the city takes you past the Charter Street Burial Ground, The House of the Seven Gables, Witch Dungeon Museum, Witch History Museum, New England Pirate Museum, Salem Witch Museum, along the historic waterfront and along historic streets such as Chestnut Street. Your professional driver and talented local tour guide will entertain you with factual history and interesting tidbits about the city. Feel free to get off and on at any of our 14 stops throughout the day and view Salem at your leisure, using our trolley as a convenient shuttle service. Private charters are available year round.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 260 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 119
    Excellent
  • 84
    Very good
  • 34
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Trolley

It is worth the ticket. Gives you an overview of where things are. You get some of Salem History and stories.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 30, 2015
Jean M
,
Salem, Massachusetts
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

It is worth the ticket. Gives you an overview of where things are. You get some of Salem History and stories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

The trolley is a nice way to get to see Salem and decide what attractions you wish to see first. The guides are full of humor but the trolley is not air conditioned and the cashiers at the trolley depot are not friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warren, Massachusetts
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

Great way to get around the city with an hour long narrated tour. Finish the tour and you can use the trolley to get to points of interest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

This is not only a great way to learn about Salem, but a great way to find out where are the good places to eat. It is also a fantastic way to get around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 NEW

The Trolley ride is a good way to get an introduction to Salem. Our guide was knowledgeable and you can jump on and off at the tops. But be aware there may only be two trolley buses in operation so there will be limited seat availability when rejoining following a stop off - a victim of its own success! At... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 NEW

The trolley was a great way to get a tour of Salem. Also had the ability to get off at a stop to look around and then get on the next passing trolley. Great on those very hot and humid days when you don't feel like walking everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Made the mistake in Boston of not first taking the trolley to first see what the city had to offer and wasted a lot of time trying to figure things out. The trolley in Salem made us aware of all the points of interest and helped us to determine which places we wanted to explore further. The trolley had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We enjoyed our trolley ode through the city to see the sites and understand the history. They had some great stories and I was happy they talked about the witch trials but that was only a part of the story.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olathe, Kansas
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Very informative, enlightening, funny tour guides! Well worth the minimal cost for the trolley for the day. Great way to learn about the city and learn the topography of the area before you head out to the actual points of interest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Green River
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Terrible waste of $17--promised to be about an hour and even with traffic was 25 minutes long. Didn't follow trolley route on map, No great stories from tour guide just pointed out different attractions that were mostly all fee-based. Save your money, in fact wouldn't recommend visiting Salem at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tammy H, General Manager at Salem Trolley, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry you had an unpleasant time on our Trolleys - But there is a bit of information I am confused about. Our highest ticket price is $15.00 not $17.00 and our Trolley tour is an hour long (two sides of the tour a 40 minute section to the waterfront area, House of the Seven Gables, Winter Island... More 

Been to Salem Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Trolley

Address: 8 Central Street, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number: +1 978-744-5469
Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Salem Trolley and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Salem Trolley staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?