We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Market Ghost Tours

Address: 1499 Post Alley, Pike Place Market, Just before Gum Wall, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number: +1 206-805-0195
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
89%
Ranked #66 of 209 Activities in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Owner description: Located in the Pike Place Market, Market Ghost Tours offers different...
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
More attraction details
Attraction details
Hours:
Sun - Mon 1:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Tue - Thu 1:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Owner description: Located in the Pike Place Market, Market Ghost Tours offers different walking tours year round. Named one of the Top Ten US Ghost Tours by tripavisor 2009 & 2010, the skeptic and believer can enjoy this exterior walking tour of Pike Place Market because it is rooted in history. Our emphasis is on storytelling. We also offer the Mortuary Investigation, which goes inside the Butterworth Mortuary during the summer and fall. During the day we have a 60 minute history tour focused on the merchants in the Market. The Pike Place Market is a nine acre district with over 400 residents as well as businesses. It also includes the city's first mortuary, part of an old graveyard, and a brothel that still has a red glow cast on its side. Leave the high heels at home because some of the streets are cobblestones. We encourage you to bring your cameras to try and capture phenomena and also to take some beautiful pictures of the neon and theatrical architecture in the Market. Find us, tickets and tours start at Ghost Alley Espresso at 1499 Post Alley, just before the Gum Wall!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    21
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
71 attraction reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I really was looking forward to this tour and when it started out it felt like it was going to be a great experience. Penny was our guide and she was great, personable and friendly. Unfortunately, her script was weak on content. This is a great opportunity and a potential hit for the company that gives the tour, but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mercedes C, Owner at Market Ghost Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and honest criticism of Penny's tour. I'm sorry that it didn't meet your expectations. We have several tour guides and tours throughout the year. More 

bay area, california
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 attraction reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We were cruising around Pike Place Market and had just finished looking at the lovely gum wall. Afterwards we stopped at Market Ghost Espresso. It's a cute little place right there in the corner. The coffee was deeelish & Fairy, our barista, was wonderful, warm & charming! It was just what was needed. We didn't do the tour but will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We did this tour mostly to have an after hours tour of the market. The tour itself wasn't particularly spooky or scary. There was some interesting history and stories, but nothing terrific or shocking. Our guide seemed confused and new. He wouldn't finish stories or would go back to points that he forgot to tell us. The pictures weren't great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I haven't been on very many ghost tours but this was a great experience! We were a small group but Jim, our guide was great! He is so entertaining and has some great stories! I was very happy that my husband and I took this tour. If you are looking for real ghosts, I suggest the mortuary tour. This tour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Having experience several ghost tours in different cities throughout the word I was a little disappointed with this tour. The guide/ storyteller was friendly enough but the stories/ your was fairly disjointed and the pictures he had to show were poor quality and held together with a metal ring and they kept falling off and dripping to the ground. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We went on the ghost tour at the Pike Place Market last weekend. What an informative tour of the history of the market & all the "characters" that lived & worked there & now some say Haunt the place. My husband & I learned history we never knew about even though he was born & raised here & I've lived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

It was an interesting guided tour with talks about the history of the aera and some colorful people that lived there. It was not a spooky or scary type tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We went on the last tour of the night. Pike Market was closed, so it is really quiet and dark inside. The older kids enjoyed it much more than the little kids did. Because it was the last tour I feel that we heard more history and ghost stories. The Mortuary was really cool. I would probably do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The ambience is really dark and creepy when you walk into a funeral parlor at the bottom of steps in Pioneer Square. Kids were a little scared, but it was fun. Not much history and we didn't really learn anything. It's just a fun place to be if you like the dark and eerie

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los gatos
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I bought expired overpriced ghost coffee from the shop. I was overcharged (I noticed the price label when I got home was $7 less than what I paid) and it was expired coffee! I feel like a fool. Buyer beware. We also took the tour which was not half bad. Tour guide was very passionate filled with historical information.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mercedes C, Owner at Market Ghost Tours, responded to this review

Hello, You coffee was actually roasted on the date that is stamped on the bag. Our coffee is roasted every Monday. Here is some information about buying coffee from thecoffeefaq : "look for bags with the roasting date printed on them. You want a roasting date, not an expiration date." It is also law in Washington that the roast date... More 

Been to Market Ghost Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Market Ghost Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?