We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 72-3890 Hawaii Belt Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number: 808 325 6625
Website
Improve this listing
Today
6:00 am - 6:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 am - 6:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 60 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 16
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
good experience

this was the first course we played on our trip to Kona, we enjoyed the course and the peacocks, the course is definitely tight and takes a straight hitter to keep it sane. A lot... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 12, 2015
h2ofall2
,
Santa Barbara, Ca
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Kailua-Kona

Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

Makalei is a terrific course in the hilly territory above Kona. Challenging play with the fun of seeing lots of local wildlife and beautiful flora. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Book on Internet for best rates. Do take water - there is none of the course. And extra balls as you may well lose a few,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

Makalei Golf Club, up country from Kona, presents a challenging course. It has steep slopes and requires precise shots to keep out of the rough and trees. Bring lots of balls if you tend to hook or slice your shots. Plenty of peacocks and other birds gather throughout the course. Apparently, folks feed the fowl, not a smart move for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Challenging round of golf-lots of hills-a very playable course if you don't play aggressive-great scenery-peacocks all over. Great afternoon of golf-would definitely play again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

I loved it all. The staff (Ralph the Starter and Barb the Driving Range were helpful. The peacocks were all over the place. The course has a driving range and practice putting and chipping greens. My morning round cost $85, which I scored from the golf club's website. My wife rode along at the cost of another 21 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tucson, AZ
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I played this course three times during my visit to the Big Island during late May 2015. It was my sentimental favorite. It was challenging with its elevation changes and had a nice surrounding environment complete with a bird-like sanctuary. Peacocks and Nene's (a Hawaiian goose and official bird of the State of Hawaii) stroll freely on the course grounds.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Barbara, Ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

this was the first course we played on our trip to Kona, we enjoyed the course and the peacocks, the course is definitely tight and takes a straight hitter to keep it sane. A lot of tough lies due to the hilly conditions, but my wife and I really enjoyed the challenge. the price with the discount card was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee K, Manager at Makalei Hawaii Country Club, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for coming to play the Makalei course! It's great to hear that you enjoyed both the scenery and the challenges of our course. Hopefully you were able to keep the ball going straight so you didn't make it even more difficult! We appreciate your review and recommendation, hopefully you stop by and play our course again one day! More 

Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

This is a tough tract with emphasis on accuracy. Many holes have little margin for error. The Par 3's are tough because a straight shot is a must. Loved the layout though it was quite a drive to the range and #1 tee. Clubhouse was supposed to be close to #1 tee but during construction funds ran out. I really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee K, Manager at Makalei Hawaii Country Club, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for the review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the many aspects of our course and found it to be reasonable price-wise as well. We would like to apologize for the delay in acknowledging you and for any attitude you may have received. We do greatly appreciate you coming to our course and hope you visit again... More 

Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I like the course but it could be in better shape. However, my main issue is there's seemingly no pace of play, or eticate maintained there. We were sent out as a twosome behind a fivesome. We had to wait beginning on 3rd hole. Finally on number 11 we skipped and went around them only to find another fivesome. Then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee K, Manager at Makalei Hawaii Country Club, responded to this review

Aloha, While it is good that you liked the course, we would like to apologize for your slower-paced experience at our course. We always want our golfers to have an enjoyable experience at our course at a decent pace but without feeling rushed, and it can be quite frustrating being stuck behind a fivesome when you are clearly quicker as... More 

Lawndale
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This is the most difficult course I have ever played, but I keep coming back. Hawaii golf can be expensive. Here there are discounts available. I use the "Hawaii Discount Golf" card. This makes it more affordable to play multiple rounds. The clubhouse staff is friendly and accommodating. The Pro Shop has the usual items available, if you forget something.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Fruitland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

I played this course once 9 years ago. Here is what is better now (2015). The course conditions are better. The whole course is greener with better grass coverage. The greens are firm, smooth, and fast. I give them 4 stars. The fairways, however, are not the best. The grass is spotty in places and you can get poor lies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee K, Manager at Makalei Hawaii Country Club, responded to this review

Aloha, We're glad to hear that you enjoy our course more than you did 9 years ago. We are constantly trying to improve our course and its conditions to make it better for all of our golfers, so it's good to hear that you find it to be improved. We still do have work to do, as you stated in... More 

Travelers who viewed Makalei Hawaii Country Club also viewed

 
Island of Hawaii, HI
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Makalei Hawaii Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Makalei Hawaii Country Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?