We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 72-3890 Hawaii Belt Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number: 808 325 6625
Website
Today
6:00 am - 6:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 am - 6:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 57 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
good experience

this was the first course we played on our trip to Kona, we enjoyed the course and the peacocks, the course is definitely tight and takes a straight hitter to keep it sane. A lot... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 12, 2015
h2ofall2
,
Santa Barbara, Ca
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Kailua-Kona

Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015 NEW

I loved it all. The staff (Ralph the Starter and Barb the Driving Range were helpful. The peacocks were all over the place. The course has a driving range and practice putting and chipping greens. My morning round cost $85, which I scored from the golf club's website. My wife rode along at the cost of another 21 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tucson, AZ
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

I played this course three times during my visit to the Big Island during late May 2015. It was my sentimental favorite. It was challenging with its elevation changes and had a nice surrounding environment complete with a bird-like sanctuary. Peacocks and Nene's (a Hawaiian goose and official bird of the State of Hawaii) stroll freely on the course grounds.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Barbara, Ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

this was the first course we played on our trip to Kona, we enjoyed the course and the peacocks, the course is definitely tight and takes a straight hitter to keep it sane. A lot of tough lies due to the hilly conditions, but my wife and I really enjoyed the challenge. the price with the discount card was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee K, Manager at Makalei Hawaii Country Club, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for coming to play the Makalei course! It's great to hear that you enjoyed both the scenery and the challenges of our course. Hopefully you were able to keep the ball going straight so you didn't make it even more difficult! We appreciate your review and recommendation, hopefully you stop by and play our course again one day! More 

Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

This is a tough tract with emphasis on accuracy. Many holes have little margin for error. The Par 3's are tough because a straight shot is a must. Loved the layout though it was quite a drive to the range and #1 tee. Clubhouse was supposed to be close to #1 tee but during construction funds ran out. I really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee K, Manager at Makalei Hawaii Country Club, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for the review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the many aspects of our course and found it to be reasonable price-wise as well. We would like to apologize for the delay in acknowledging you and for any attitude you may have received. We do greatly appreciate you coming to our course and hope you visit again... More 

Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I like the course but it could be in better shape. However, my main issue is there's seemingly no pace of play, or eticate maintained there. We were sent out as a twosome behind a fivesome. We had to wait beginning on 3rd hole. Finally on number 11 we skipped and went around them only to find another fivesome. Then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee K, Manager at Makalei Hawaii Country Club, responded to this review

Aloha, While it is good that you liked the course, we would like to apologize for your slower-paced experience at our course. We always want our golfers to have an enjoyable experience at our course at a decent pace but without feeling rushed, and it can be quite frustrating being stuck behind a fivesome when you are clearly quicker as... More 

Lawndale
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This is the most difficult course I have ever played, but I keep coming back. Hawaii golf can be expensive. Here there are discounts available. I use the "Hawaii Discount Golf" card. This makes it more affordable to play multiple rounds. The clubhouse staff is friendly and accommodating. The Pro Shop has the usual items available, if you forget something.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fruitland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

I played this course once 9 years ago. Here is what is better now (2015). The course conditions are better. The whole course is greener with better grass coverage. The greens are firm, smooth, and fast. I give them 4 stars. The fairways, however, are not the best. The grass is spotty in places and you can get poor lies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee K, Manager at Makalei Hawaii Country Club, responded to this review

Aloha, We're glad to hear that you enjoy our course more than you did 9 years ago. We are constantly trying to improve our course and its conditions to make it better for all of our golfers, so it's good to hear that you find it to be improved. We still do have work to do, as you stated in... More 

Coleman, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Although I'm not the dedicated golfer my husband is, our experience at this golf club was enjoyable except for tee time management. We had to wait for a cart for our 1:08 PM tee time and then again at almost every hole. But the kicker was that we were not told (nor were others behind us) that we probably wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee K, Manager at Makalei Hawaii Country Club, responded to this review

Hi Diane, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We would like to apologize for the delay in getting you your cart for your tee off time, as well as your round being cut short. We always want to keep the golf games flowing as smoothly as possible so that our golfers are able to play their rounds without feeling... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

After checking-in the drive up the driving range is all uphill. The course claims an elevation range from 1,800 to 2,850 feet which creates both spectacular views of the ocean over the trees but also challenging holes where "up and down" has a whole new meaning. The four tee boxes have length/slope of 7091/144, 6698/140, 6161/134, and 5242/118. While there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Pleasant, Wi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I have played many courses around the country. This has to be one of the hardest. It isn't the longest out there, but it is tough. No level lies anywhere accept the tees. You are either firing up to a green or down to a green. The greens are relatively small but roll true and hold shots into them. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Makalei Hawaii Country Club also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Island of Hawaii, HI
 

Been to Makalei Hawaii Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makalei Hawaii Country Club

Address: Address: 72-3890 Hawaii Belt Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number: 808 325 6625
Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Island of Hawaii  >  Kailua-Kona
Open Hours:
Sunday 6:00 am - 6:00 pm
Monday 6:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday 6:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday 6:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday 6:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday 6:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday 6:00 am - 6:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Makalei Hawaii Country Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?