We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cajun Encounters

Address: New Orleans, LA
Phone Number: 504-834 1770
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$25*
and up
89%
Ranked #50 of 243 Activities in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Serving the New Orleans area for 15 years, Cajun Encounters is a...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Serving the New Orleans area for 15 years, Cajun Encounters is a local, family owned tour provider. #1 Swamp Tours, Top City/Cemetery Tours, and Plantation Tours that show why Nola is a city like no other.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    247
    70
    31
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 NEW

I did the City tour. It was $49 for 3 hours. Our guide, Butch, is a native son and gave us a lot of interesting details about the City. We visited areas devastated by Katrina, areas rebuilt, and learned about the rebuilding effort and how the musicians were lured back to help the City get on its feet. We also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 NEW via mobile

This was such a great time and we learned so much in the 3 hours of the tour with Jason. He explained the differences between Creole & Cajun. This should be done on day 1 of your trip not the last day. We have been here before but had no idea about the history and how the city came to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 NEW

Over from Australia for a couple of days and wanted to start by learning as much about New Orleans as we could. Spent two and a half hours with Jason our tour guide. Jason was excellent, great knowledge and humor, had a great afternoon. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

Great time this am with Butch on city and Cemetery tour of St Louis Cemetery 3. Very informative and comfortable bus. Yesterday with Stacey to Oak Alley and Laura plantation. Both tours thru Cajun Encounters and very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

The hotel concierge signed us up the day prior, collected $20 cash deposit. Morning of tour, we waited as instructed by the same concierge....outside for almost half an hour. The concierge informed us that the Cajun Encounter bus driver called us...when we showed him no calls came to our cell phone, he said. Bus driver "might" have called the wrong... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

Unfortunately for me I took a tour during one of New Orleans rare cold snaps. It was quite cold. Nevertheless it was an awesome tour. Our tour guide, Bishop, was very well knowledged and has a great sense of humor, making the tour all the more enjoyable. The weather made it difficult to spot swamp wildlife. We had fun watching... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CajunEncounters, Manager at Cajun Encounters, responded to this review

we are glad you enjoyed your swamp tour with Cajun encounters. there are sometimes in the winter months where some wildlife is hunkering down due to cold weather. but as you stated, there is more to see than just wildlife. the honey island swamp is a very beautiful place and when you put it with a great capt like bishop,it... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

We went on the City and Cemetery Tour, the Swamp Tour, and the Plantation Tour. We liked all three. The tour guides were informative, the large van was comfortable, and the stops were interesting. We stopped at a very beautiful cemetery with grand statues. It was beautiful and very interesting. The swamp tour was the best! Troy was our very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CajunEncounters, Manager at Cajun Encounters, responded to this review

we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your 3 tours you booked with Cajun encounters. capt. troy is extremely knowledgeable about the swamp. he loves to share his passion with guests from all over the world. and he definitely has an answer for just about every question. More 

St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

Just back from cruise to Caribbean and decided to take this excursion and was frankly disappointed with the whole experience. The visit to the Plantation was rather drab and the lunch provided was again a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CAMPBELL RIVER
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Our small group booked the Oak Alley and Laura Plantation tour with this company. The $80 fee includes the tour cost at $20/plantation so the transportation cost is $40/person. We were staying right in New Orleans so the cost worked out for us. You need to do your own math. For the fee we got transportation to/from the sites. Period.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We knew that in January it was off season for alligators so went in with realistic expectations. However the captain seemed disinterested. There was a problem with our return shuttle and it took them over an hour to figure out that there was another shuttle just sitting in the parking lot that they could use. Don't think I would return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Cajun Encounters also viewed

 

Been to Cajun Encounters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cajun Encounters and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cajun Encounters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?