We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Savannah History Museum

Neighborhood: Yamacraw Village
History Museums, Museums
As featured in 3 days in Savannah
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Address: 303 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number: 912 651 6825
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Fee: Yes
Description: In the former Central of Georgia Railway passenger station & adjacent to...
In the former Central of Georgia Railway passenger station & adjacent to the Savannah Visitor Center, the museum offers a brief introduction to the story of Savannah through exhibits and a short film on the history of the city.
read more
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 123 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 26
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 37
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Most recent review
Watch the movie

We purchased a combination ticket which allowed us to select three of the five properties to visit, it was bargain. We began by watching a 20 minute movie about the area's... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 23, 2015
Big D
,
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Book ahead on Viator
See All Tours on Viator
Special Offer
Savannah City Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
$20*
and up
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 attraction reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We purchased a combination ticket which allowed us to select three of the five properties to visit, it was bargain. We began by watching a 20 minute movie about the area's history, than wandered through the museum, probably spent around an hour total. It's not the largest museum or the smallest we've ever visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Visited this after going to other museums. Really seem a rehash with no unique content. Very little staff. Was able to walk through the museum in less than 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
73 attraction reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Not a whole heck of a lot to see. You have to pay for parking just to visit the museum! Tour the historic district as there's much more to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The museum does a good job telling the story of the city. $7 for adults to get in and one hour is certainly enough time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Enjoyed learning about Savannah's history. The museum is self guided so we could really take time to enjoy all the exhibits. Clean restrooms. Worth the cost of admission.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This museum did not teach me anything about this city. I visited with my mom and sister on a rainy day we were seriously disappointed. There was little to no history about Savannah. The whole museum seemed thrown together, disorganized and forgotten. There were errors on several informational posters and empty spaces on the walls where posters had clearly been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit! We are sorry that you were so disappointed and that you were unable to glean any information at all about the history of Savannah from any of our exhibits, all of which are quite pertinent to the diverse history of our city. Some of our exhibit space and... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This is a very small museum, the exhibits were poor. Many had nothing to do with the history of Savannah. There were a number of informative plaques with errors : one was upside down, another written in marker that had faded and yet another with the information corrected by scrating out the erroneous info and the corrected hand written in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our museum! We are so sorry that you were dissatisfied with the presentation of our exhibit labels, but as we are certain was evident during your visit, our museum is currently in the process of a massive renovation and reorganization, and we look forward to addressing the problems you mention. We would... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We went an hour before closing, mainly to see the forest gump bench... We could not believe the unprofessional exhibits and comical descriptions. The bench was a replica not even the actual one used in the movie and it is simply just a bench no other movie props. If you are looking for somewhere to dump $7 a person this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We regret that you were unable to find anything at all of value at our museum, but we so happy you enjoyed yourself on a trolley tour through our beautiful city! We would like to assure you that your $7 did actually get you up close and personal with a Forrest Gump bench! We get... More 

Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

This was one of our first stops, but once we got to the entrance we decided it wasn't worth our $14. Looked smaller than expected with more large artifacts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

This is a well done city museum with plenty of things to see. It's best feature for us was the display on the American Revolution. It featured several reproduction uniforms and miniature of the Siege. The organization of the museum is confusing but given the space that the city choose it is understandable that things got jumbled together. It wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Savannah History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Savannah History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Savannah History Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?