We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Savannah History Museum

Address: 303 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401 (Yamacraw Village)
Phone Number: 912 651 6825
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$20*
and up
Savannah City Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
49%
Ranked #98 of 199 things to do in Savannah
Type: History museums, Museums
Fee: Yes
Owner description: In the former Central of Georgia Railway passenger station & adjacent...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Type: History museums, Museums
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Owner description: In the former Central of Georgia Railway passenger station & adjacent to the Savannah Visitor Center, the museum offers a brief introduction to the story of Savannah through exhibits and a short film on the history of the city.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    34
    37
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We enjoyed the movie as told by James Oglethorpe in the first person. A two hour tour of the museum was perfect and provided enough time for us take in the history of Savannah and many notable folks of it's history. Oh yeah, the people at the the visitor's information center were the most informative and helpful to help us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 attraction reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We purchased a combination ticket which allowed us to select three of the five properties to visit, it was bargain. We began by watching a 20 minute movie about the area's history, than wandered through the museum, probably spent around an hour total. It's not the largest museum or the smallest we've ever visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Visited this after going to other museums. Really seem a rehash with no unique content. Very little staff. Was able to walk through the museum in less than 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
77 attraction reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Not a whole heck of a lot to see. You have to pay for parking just to visit the museum! Tour the historic district as there's much more to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The museum does a good job telling the story of the city. $7 for adults to get in and one hour is certainly enough time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Enjoyed learning about Savannah's history. The museum is self guided so we could really take time to enjoy all the exhibits. Clean restrooms. Worth the cost of admission.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This museum did not teach me anything about this city. I visited with my mom and sister on a rainy day we were seriously disappointed. There was little to no history about Savannah. The whole museum seemed thrown together, disorganized and forgotten. There were errors on several informational posters and empty spaces on the walls where posters had clearly been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit! We are sorry that you were so disappointed and that you were unable to glean any information at all about the history of Savannah from any of our exhibits, all of which are quite pertinent to the diverse history of our city. Some of our exhibit space and... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This is a very small museum, the exhibits were poor. Many had nothing to do with the history of Savannah. There were a number of informative plaques with errors : one was upside down, another written in marker that had faded and yet another with the information corrected by scrating out the erroneous info and the corrected hand written in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our museum! We are so sorry that you were dissatisfied with the presentation of our exhibit labels, but as we are certain was evident during your visit, our museum is currently in the process of a massive renovation and reorganization, and we look forward to addressing the problems you mention. We would... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We went an hour before closing, mainly to see the forest gump bench... We could not believe the unprofessional exhibits and comical descriptions. The bench was a replica not even the actual one used in the movie and it is simply just a bench no other movie props. If you are looking for somewhere to dump $7 a person this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We regret that you were unable to find anything at all of value at our museum, but we so happy you enjoyed yourself on a trolley tour through our beautiful city! We would like to assure you that your $7 did actually get you up close and personal with a Forrest Gump bench! We get... More 

Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

This was one of our first stops, but once we got to the entrance we decided it wasn't worth our $14. Looked smaller than expected with more large artifacts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Savannah History Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Savannah History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Savannah History Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?