We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gettysburg Heritage Center

297 Steinwehr Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly American Civil War Museum)
+1 717-334-6245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 37 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Museums
Owner description: Discover... The Town, The People, Their Stories. Bordering the Gettysburg National Military Park battlefield, the Heritage Center is an educational... more » Owner description: Discover... The Town, The People, Their Stories. Bordering the Gettysburg National Military Park battlefield, the Heritage Center is an educational and entertaining experience for families and tour groups of all ages. Learn what the Battle of Gettysburg meant to the people who lived here during the war. Utilizing artifacts, historical documents, interactive displays, and 3-D productions, visitors will gain a better understanding of the events that took place in the town before, during and after the battle. Find out how the people reacted to the invasion of the town - freeze, flee or fight? Hear accounts of ordinary people doing extraordinary things in a time when their home was in turmoil. « less
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Mill, MD
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This museum has the potential of becoming a place that visitors may enjoy. The video is informative and much can be learned. There are some exhibits that are under construction and for that reason, we were allowed to enter free of cost. It is really "rustic" because there is much to be done. The floors, seating, and walls need to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emlenton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We look forward to this museum when it is completed. According to my research it was to be open when we arrived. When we got there, we were permitted to walk through free of charge, but the museum was not even close to being completed yet. Unfortunately, their timeline for completion was obviously not met.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephanie L, General Manager at Gettysburg Heritage Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you were unable to experience the completed museum. We had hoped to have phase I of our process completed by late summer, however, as with most construction time-lines, the completion date has been pushed back to early November. In light of the ongoing construction, we have been, and continue to offer complimentary... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

I have done the cd auto tour on previous visits to the battlefield. I wanted to try their ipad tour. Well for the $32+ it cost it is not worth it and very flawed. First they do not give you a car charger. The ipad is fully charged when you get it and they say it should take between 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

The video needs some updating but the changes are very nice to this location. Still under renovations but you can tell this will be a great new additional to the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Upgrades to look of gift shop were very nice. Good selection of gift items as it always has been. Good start to the new museum portion especially the piece of the witness tree. Didn't have time for the 20 minute movie this year even though it is currently free. Cant wait for the finished product!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor Mill, MD
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

On the day we visited, there were no fees charged for entry. This was due, more than likely, to the fact that this place has not been completed. The film that was shown was very informative because the events are from a civilian point of view. After visiting the Gettysburg Diorama, this was perfect to view. It gave viewers many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We walked around because it was free since there was nothing really to look at but you can watch the movie but we decided to skip it. You should skip it too if its under construction.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephanie L, Manager at Gettysburg Heritage Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Over the past year, we have changed ownership, and are working to renovate our entire facility. We are still a work in progress in our exhibit area. The new exhibit space should be completed by early October. In light of the work we are doing, we have chosen to offer complimentary admission to all our... More

Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

The museum was undergoing renovations while we were there. It is a very nice place to visit. I think the person who said the museum was "cheesy" must be confusing this place with some other museum. My wife, son, and I really enjoyed ourselves. The exhibits were informative and eye-pleasing. They have 3 different areas where 5 minute video presentations... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The inherent problem with a place like Gettysburg is that the longer something is a tourist attraction, the more likely it will be to, itself, become viewed as a historic site. Such was the case with the former National Civil War Wax Museum. It was, of course, cutting edge interactive by 1950s standards, and became a favorite place of mine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ishpeming
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
45 attraction reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was a waste of time and money. The displays were really cheesy and unreal. This was a huge waste. Skip this one......

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephanie L, Manager at Gettysburg Heritage Center, responded to this review

Are you sure you haven't confused us with another museum in Gettysburg since we are currently offering free admission until December 31, 2013? We take all of our reviews very seriously, and I would like to address your review. Currently, we are working with Tripadvisor to update our listing. We are no longer the American Civil War Wax Museum. In... More

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing