We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Paso Saddleblanket

Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 6935 Commerce Ave., El Paso, TX 79915
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description:

The El Paso Saddleblanket Retail Outlet is No Longer Open to the Public. In...

The El Paso Saddleblanket Retail Outlet is No Longer Open to the Public. In order to enter our showroom you must present proof of business. El Paso Saddleblanket Company is the World's Largest Southwest Trading Post The wholesale showroom touts one of the widest selections of Southwest and Western crafts in the world, overflowing with Southwest rugs, blankets, turquoise jewelry, Mexico pottery, western purses, Brazilian cowhides, bedspreads, hand-painted artifacts, mounted horns, handwoven baskets, serapes, and much more! Founded by Dusty & Bonnie Henson, they have spent more than 44 years of traveling the globe-trading, buying, manufacturing, wholesaling and designing the best selection of Southwest products available anywhere.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 62 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 17
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Not As Expected

Saw the ad for this store in an El Paso brochure. It showed a lot of stuff. I was disappointed when I got there. They had stuff, but some looked like antiques. I was trying to... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 10, 2015
Jillsy0927
,
Enola, Pennsylvania
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Unless you are a retailer with a tax id number. They do sell on their website, but its not as fun as it used to be when you could just walk in. Please do pull your billboards down. We do not want anymore people from out of town dissapointed anymore.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

I was highly urged to visit and was told was a great place to purchase souvenirs. however when I got there I was met at the door and told that it was ONLY open to Retail vendors. NO public sales and pretty much escorted OUT THE DOOR. no need in WASTING your time.

Helpful?
1 Thank dianne p
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

They have closed their retail outlet. Said so on the door. Only open to the trade-- need a tax id number. Do not go, waste of time.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
336 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

I was going here to check it out and pulled in to a going out of business sale. They said they will still have on line sales just no more store... Not much left saw people buying some cool chairs and stuff. I bought some nice placemats that was about all I saw nothing I can't live without I guess.

Helpful?
Thank chefjeff60
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Saw the ad for this store in an El Paso brochure. It showed a lot of stuff. I was disappointed when I got there. They had stuff, but some looked like antiques. I was trying to find turquoise (they had some but didnt look like the real stuff) and silver jewelry. I ended up getting a shirt on clearance for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jillsy0927
KY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

After finally getting time to go to, what I understood to be, an El Paso landmark I was met with Going Out Of Business signs. I was a little disappointed going in to what amounted to a 1/4 full warehouse. But after only a few minutes I realized that if all the items for sale were like these few remaining... More 

Helpful?
Thank beautifultruth
G-Patch, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

So, here's the deal. I get that this is a "small business." I get that y'all want to spend holidays with family. But you know what? People travel during the summer, especially on summer WEEKENDS. So when you pass 1,863 El Paso Saddle Blanket billboard ads on your way into town, and when there are full page ads in every... More 

Helpful?
Thank P5_Crazy_Train
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Wow, This place has the be the worst in the city for bad attitude and rudeness. I would even call it racist! They must not like americans (gringos) and I mean it. You sensed it! Totally rude response from employees when asked anything about their products. I took a look around and left. THey do NOT deserve even a dollar... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Dino S
EPSB6926, Customer Service at El Paso Saddleblanket, responded to this review

Dear Dino S., I am very sorry that you were not met with exceptional customer service on your visit to El Paso Saddleblanket. We pride ourselves for being able to relate with customers and strive to achieve great customer service. We are by no means racist or discriminate against anyone. If you truly feel that you were a victim of... More 

Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

I was excited to stop at Saddleblankets and I wanted to bring back a Mexican blanket or rug to remember my trip to this beautiful region. I was disappointed to find row after row of Walmart quality imports from India and China. The prices were great but the quality not so much. Much of the turquoise necklaces and earings were... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Masch40
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Fun place, it is a shopping store---like a museum with 2 separate buildings. Has a large assortment of Western,Native American and Mexican items. All Native American items are however MADE IN MEXICO and they say so on a "small" sign. Knicknacks, rugs, pottery, furniture, T-shirts,jewlery,.....a wide assortment

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M

Travelers who viewed El Paso Saddleblanket also viewed

 

Been to El Paso Saddleblanket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of El Paso Saddleblanket and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Baton Rouge
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from El Paso Saddleblanket staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?