We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Rose

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 160 State St., Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number: (617) 742-2286
Website
Today
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 2:00 am

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 182 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 69
    Excellent
  • 72
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Irish History

A real history lesson. The napkins show the contribution the Irish made to our country after haveing been thrown in jail in some cases. Good Irish bands in the evening. Pretty... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 29, 2015
Mark D
,
Rochester, New York

Similar Things to Do in Boston

Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

A real history lesson. The napkins show the contribution the Irish made to our country after haveing been thrown in jail in some cases. Good Irish bands in the evening. Pretty much populated by tourists being so close to Faneuil Hall. Food ok, but nothing special. looks like most patrons came to drink beer and listen to music.

Was this review helpful? Yes
orlando, florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

We held a surprise 30th birthday party here last Saturday evening. We reserved the Guinness Room (a corner area with a half wall, tucked away beside the bar on the 1st floor, but perfect for our 25+ person group which didn't need to sit down. The Fireplace Room on the other side is larger with more armchairs). The staff (Bryan,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

My wife and I were walking in Boston and were trying to decide where to stop and eat. There are so many places to choose from. We stumbled across the Black Rose and decided to give it a try. The building is beautiful and the inside has a great look about it. Their was an Irish couple singing up front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelsey M, Manager at The Black Rose, responded to this review

We're so glad you stumbled into eat with us! Here's the link to our website if you're interested in buying a t-shirt to represent us in Canada! http://www.glynnhospitalitygroup.com/store/ More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

The clam chowder was good. Lobster roll wasn't great...they served it on plain sliced bread untoasted...wouldn't get again. The sandwiches also used a really bready thick bun..untoasted. other than that...it was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelsey M, Manager at The Black Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback a we are always looking to improve. Hopefully you're next experience with us is more enjoyable! More 

Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We were walking all around town and stopped in to get out of the sun. We had a great time talking with the bartender and looking at all the wonderful Irish pictures .Guinness on tap is always a plus. We hope to go back sometime for the food and live music.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelsey M, Manager at The Black Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing a great review! Come and join us for live music, offered 7 nights a week! More 

Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Ten years ago, I visited The Black Rose with my significant other to experience an Irish Pub in Boston. Ten years later, I returned with my kids, and it's STILL amazing. Irish music playing while Guiness is slung. The food is ok (Seafood is king in Boston, though they have some nice Irish dishes (the beef stew in particular). It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelsey M, Manager at The Black Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing a great review! We take pride in having consistent standards so you're feedback is important for us to maintain that! More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We were meeting a friend in Boston & arranged to meet here as it was central. We planned on being early & having lunch. I had the best French Onion Soup & my partner had chips with curry as an entree. As mains we has Fish & chips & A salad. The meals were all above standard, the service excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelsey M, Manager at The Black Rose, responded to this review

We're glad that you enjoyed your experience enough to share it with others! Thank you for such a great review and we look forward to serving you the next time you're in the States! More 

Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Conveniently located. Good atmosphere and music. Plenty of seating. Excellent whiskey and specialty drink menu. Great place to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelsey M, Manager at The Black Rose, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing a great review! Come back again the next time you're in town! More 

Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

This cool little Irish Pub featured live music and had a great local vibe to it. Met several local people and a few Europeans who were all on vacation. Great location on the North end of town and close to the Aquarium exit on the blue line of the MBTA. Prices were lower than many of the places we visited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelsey M, Manager at The Black Rose, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to serving you again in the future! More 

Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

the black rose or roisin dubh!! Is a super bar jus around the corner from Faneuil hall, the first night we came across it , it was buzzing, there was a band playing and no room.... So we tried again the next night and I'm glad we did, great seat at the bar, great selection of drinks and we all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelsey M, Manager at The Black Rose, responded to this review

Thanks for returning to visit despite us being too busy on your first attempt. We appreciate your great review and look forward to serving you the next time you're in town! More 

Travelers who viewed The Black Rose also viewed

 

Been to The Black Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Rose

Address: 160 State St., Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number: (617) 742-2286
Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Boston>  > Downtown
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 2:00 am
Monday 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Tuesday 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Wednesday 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Thursday 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday 9:00 am - 2:00 am

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Rose staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?