We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Haunted Cottage / Booth House

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 43 Old Taylor Ln, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Phone Number: +1 304-885-0707
Website
Improve this listing
Description: The Haunted Cottage is regretfully out of business. Due in no small part...
The Haunted Cottage is regretfully out of business. Due in no small part to our ability to promote and advertise ourselves being maliciously hindered, we felt it was time to move on.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 88 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 33
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 29
    Terrible
Closed!

Drove all over looking for it, finally found it, and it was closed :-( Would love to know if they ever re-open ... was very interested in seeing this.

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 25, 2015
Laura L
,
Joppa, Maryland
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joppa, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Drove all over looking for it, finally found it, and it was closed :-( Would love to know if they ever re-open ... was very interested in seeing this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Mrs Too and I spent two days in Harper's Ferry and Shepherdstown recently, and left some open time which we had planned to fill based upon local advice. Every single person we queried about Haunted Cottage responded with rolling eyes, uncomplimentary comments and shaking heads. Each ended by telling us that, thank goodness, the people who operated it split up,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Rowlesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a great time for those newly into ghost hunting. It was a great learning experience for my grandchildren. We were a group of experienced hunters that wanted to introduce ghost hunting to some newbies. There was great info given to adults and children in our group. Vince was willing to take the time to explain and answer questions.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Toms Brook, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The reviews here are hogwash. I got in touch with Vince with my first phone call, and scheduled a tour for us for the very next night. Also, what people don't understand is that this is a 200 year old house (which is very hard to clean and maintain) run by and lived in by people who are truly knowledgeable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I, along with his siblings and their spouses, purchased a Groupon for The Haunted Cottage, and had a great time! The host is passionate about his work, and that shows throughout the roughly 2 hour experience. We enjoyed learning the history of the Jersey Devil and the story of the Mothman, and thoroughly enjoyed the seance at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Where to start and where to end! Found this darling gem on Groupons with the following description.... "Though spectral forms and shadowy figures still reside in The Haunted Cottage, its greatest legacy is as the occasional vacation home of assassin John Wilkes Booth. Also known as the Booth House," Thought "Wow" this will be cool. I should have trusted my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 31
Vincent W, Owner at The Haunted Cottage / Booth House, responded to this review

You were in a bad mood when you got there. Interesting to come to a 200 year old haunted farmhouse and complain about "dust". Oookay. I admit, it is a constant battle, but I do what I can. Your review was very emotional. You complained about the content of the lectures. That is problem we are going to have to... More 

Charles Town, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The price is reasonable...that is about the only thing I can say good because had I paid more I would probably be really upset. This is most definitely not for those with a weak stomach. While the host (I believe his name was Vince) is nice enough he really needs to make himself and his attraction more presentable. The place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
Vincent W, Owner at The Haunted Cottage / Booth House, responded to this review

Even thought all of our advertising recommends calling in advance for reservations, I still like to take people in if they show up at the door. If I remember correctly, the reviewer showed called literally 2 minutes before showing. I was sitting down and having lunch with my family. We had pepperoni and sausage pizza. I like to dip my... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I went with a few friends a couple months back and had a great time!! He did a private tour for us which included stories and little tricks and Vince's own little "museum!" The mood was very light due to all the little jokes involved, but it was very fun nonetheless! We all sat at this big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife wanted to stop in and check out the haunted cottage. Upon arriving, it appeared the place was closed, it was a holiday during the off season, so I would not have been surprised. My wife rings the doorbell, and Vince answers, when my wife asked if they where open, he said hang on a second, I'll straighten up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I visited the Haunted Cottage with my wife and 6 year old son.. When we turned up it was shut but when we knocked on the door Vince, the owner, said he would open up just for us! He gave us a thoroughly entertaining tour and for a great price. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Harpers Ferry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed The Haunted Cottage / Booth House also viewed

 

Been to The Haunted Cottage / Booth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Haunted Cottage / Booth House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?