We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

North Shore Shark Adventures

Haleiwa Small Boat Harbor, 66-105 Haleiwa Road / Check in at the Shark Shack, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
808 228 5900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 37 Activities in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Book Now

Type: Tours
275 visitor photos
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    50
    10
    8
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 NEW

I went swimming in the cage whilst my wife watched from the boat. Bit of a trip out and it gets choppy away from shore so sea sickness meds a good idea. 20 mins in the cage with loads of sharks swimming around (apparently they are attracted by the sound of the engines as they think its a crabbing boat).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 NEW

I had some adventurous visitors so thought why not? It's not something I ever thought about doing but was glad I did. 3 miles out takes the boat to the horizon & the shark cage. It was choppy so one couldn't help but be bobbed up and down. The Galapagos sharks were beautiful, about 8' long and there were maybe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braddah K, Customer Service at North Shore Shark Adventures, responded to this review

Aloha Kathleen W., Howzit! Mahalo for joining us and sharing your review. Glad to hear you finally checked us out and you weren't disappointed. We have kama`aina rates so tell your friends. Usually, our early morning tours are the prime hours to attend because the winds are calmer. For the best overall experience any day, the earliest tour time you... More

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 NEW

We originally booked the early morning tour on the day of my daughters birthday as a celebration; however, thanks to Hurricane Issele everything was cancelled that day. We received a call from the company advising us that they were cancelling all tours that day in anticipation of the hurricane, but they could get us in the day before prior to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braddah K, Customer Service at North Shore Shark Adventures, responded to this review

Aloha kimberja14, Mahalo for joining us on tour and sharing your review. I remember working with you to rearrange your original tour date and we appreciate you being flexible and understanding. We are very happy to hear that despite the choppy water, you tour was excellent. We appreciate your kind words, recommendations, and that you found great value in our... More

atlanta, georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

This was a great experience. The water was more choppy than I expected. You really need to be able to clear your snorkel with the rough water. I would practice if you're not used to it before going. The crew was great. The water was crystal clear. The sharks were beautiful. I did get the video but agree way too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Braddah K, Customer Service at North Shore Shark Adventures, responded to this review

Aloha mudell, Mahalo for joining us on tour and sharing your review. Glad you had a great experience! Our video service is available for anyone on board who wish to invest in capturing unique, priceless memories to keep forever. Sea-sick pills.... Yes, we recommend. We hope to see you again and please don't forget to tell your friends about us.... More

Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

Early morning pick up..three miles out to sea...my mouth was so dry...I was very nervous...but I LOVED EVERY MINUTE..the 20 minutes flew by...so close to these majestic creatures..the crew very friendly...the video is worth it...would do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braddah K, Customer Service at North Shore Shark Adventures, responded to this review

Aloha Caroline52, Mahalo for joining us on tour and sharing your review. We are happy that you loved the sharks! For dry mouths, we do provide cold drinking water on board. Thank you for your kind feedback and we hope you are enjoying your video. We hope to see you again and please don't forget to tell your friends about... More

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We did the North Shore Shark tour in August'14 and it was one of the best experiences ever. The crew is very knowledgeable, boat leaves on time and the sharks were really there! ;-) Definitely something worth doing while in Oahu. To those a little afraid to go in the water with sharks, I need to tell you that my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braddah K, Customer Service at North Shore Shark Adventures, responded to this review

Aloha Peter K., Mahalo for joining us on tour and sharing your review. We hope you had fun! We hope your wife enters the cage on the next time around. Our tours allow passengers to change their mind at the last minute and we will charge accordingly. We will also remove anyone from the cage by request. We look forward... More

San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I cannot give an adequate description of just how majestic it is to witness the sharks in their natural habitat. Everything about this company and experience was top notch. We followed the directions and took Dramamine. I was concerned about getting back up out of the cage because I was scheduled to have my knee replaced in a few weeks,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braddah K, Customer Service at North Shore Shark Adventures, responded to this review

Aloha Zwingli, Mahalo for joining us on board and sharing your review. We are eternally grateful that you were able to experience the cage tour and appreciate your comments regarding our staff. Your recommendations are great and we hope future clients will enjoy our tour as much as you did. We wish you the best regarding your upcoming surgery. Have... More

Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I did this last summer and I absolutely LOVED it! My boys (6 & 8) were begging to do it, so we agreed to do it when we returned to Oahu. We unfortunately had some bad luck with the hurricanes headed towards us and the water was very rough and choppy despite being the earliest tour of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Braddah K, Customer Service at North Shore Shark Adventures, responded to this review

Aloha ntdavis524, Mahalo for bringing the kids and joining us on tour again. We appreciate you returning. Although the weather is always unpredictable we are sorry that your second visit wasn't as good as your first. We hope the kids are OK! Because safety is our priority, we closed business for 3 days because of the Hurricanes. A whole day... More

Bayamon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We first went out in a group of 4 which happened to be the last tour of the day; it was really really rough going out, and I was kind of surprised that it was not canceled from the get-go. Anyway, we went out 3 miles, anchored, then were told that it really was too rough, and that it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braddah K, Customer Service at North Shore Shark Adventures, responded to this review

Aloha LyndaBayamon, Mahalo for joining us on tour and sharing your review. We are happy to know that your overall experience went well and you still enjoyed your tour. At least we tried to get all six on your first attempt. The tour before your first attempt was completed successfully so naturally we tried with yours. By the time we... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I loved this trip, water was so clear and could see loads of sharks all round the cage and boat. Would do it again 100% and definitely recommend for others as a "must do." Thought the video was a little expensive, at almost same cost as the trip, but after watching it when I get home it was very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braddah K, Customer Service at North Shore Shark Adventures, responded to this review

Aloha BenSwansea, Mahalo for joining us on tour and sharing your review. We're glad to know you loved your trip and we appreciate you recommending us as a "MUST DO". We're glad you appreciate the video despite the cost. It's the best $76 you'll ever spend. Visibility on our shark tours is great despite being in 400-600 feet (120-180 meters)... More

Travelers who viewed North Shore Shark Adventures also viewed

 

Been to North Shore Shark Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore Shark Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing