We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Riders

Address: PO Box 6222, Kahului, Maui, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number: 808-877-4944
Website
Improve this listing
67%
Ranked #3 of 5 Attractions in Kahului
Type: Other
Attraction details
Type: Other
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 10:00 pm

Hotels near Mountain Riders

Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    48
    24
    27
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coleman, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015 NEW

Great ride. This is the only way to come down this mountain. They have a controlled ride down there is a guide in the front and a van at the rear of the riders. Because you do not have to worry a out traffic coming up from behind you just fly down the hill. Great way to do this ride.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

My husband and I decided to do the sunrise bike tour down Haleakala. Pickup was set for230am but they did not show up until 3... Not a great start but our bus driver k'aloha was great. Then off to base camp for a safety video and a very lite bite with terrible coffee. Make sure your dress warm because by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy T, Manager at Mountain Riders, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear you had a great day on Haleakala. Although our pick up times are listed as 2:45 at some of the hotels. We actually pick up between 2:45 and 3am. Sorry for any confusion. Thanks for coming! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Our day started by being picked up early at our hotel, as planned. Our driver Shannon was not only very non verbal and unfriendly, but a HORRIFIC driver. Before we reached the mountain we were swerving all over, and slamming on brakes for no apparent reason. When we met the rest of our group they reported the van that picked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy T, Manager at Mountain Riders, responded to this review

I looked into this response. It does not make sense. Shannon is our driver with too much to say. She always is chatting and laughing constantly. We Neither van had brake problems. Both were checked after this post and had over 60% remaining on the pads.. All the helmets are new with a retainer that looks like a hair tie.... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Sunrise on Haleakala and Bike down Volcano....beautiful! What made the trip perfect was Kea Aloha as our shuttle driver and Kaulana as our bike tour guide!!! Kaulana's hospitality cannot be surpassed by anyone else on Maui !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Troy T, Manager at Mountain Riders, responded to this review

Thanks Doug, We agree Kaulana and Kealoha both have volumes of great comments written about them in our company logs. Glad you were able to experience it with us. More 

Baton Rouge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Unbelievable bike ride down Haleakala volcano. Our lead, Mike, was excellent at instructing us on proper way to bike down the mountain for maximum fun while keeping us safe. He is a "biker dude" but knows more history about Hawaii and Maui than most historians! That was a bonus to learn so much about the area and the history. Oh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troy T, Manager at Mountain Riders, responded to this review

So glad the day was great for you folks. Mike does a great job of showing the value of a guided tour by sharing his personal knowledge and insights into our islands history. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

The overall experience was not what i expected. They say they feed you breakfast, which is a granola bar. The bus driver "K" was scaring some of the passengers on the way up the mountain and when we asked her to get off her phone she was very rude. Once we got going on the bike ride we were fine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Troy T, Manager at Mountain Riders, responded to this review

Sorry you felt you had a less than satisfactory experience with our driver Kealoha. She receives more positive responses than any driver we have had. As our website and brochure mention we do not provide breakfast, just snacks. In what way did you feel it was unorganized or unsafe? It sounds like you had a personality conflict with our driver.... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

My family of 5 and I took off on this adventure this morning. I would have to say the customer service was terrible and highly unorganized. The driver "k'aloha" was extremely rude, and was using her cellular device while driving up the dangerous roads. She defended her self when we kindly asked her to stop, and said she could call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy T, Manager at Mountain Riders, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bad experience with Kealoha. This bike ride is all downhill and requires very little energy. We also do not take riders younger than 12, although some of our competitors let kids as young as 7 ride down. I would suggest you take a self paced tour next time. Dress warm and be prepared for sunrise at... More 

Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We took the guided tour and rode down Haleakala on the 6:30 AM pick up. They pick you up at your hotel and take you to the base station where you get an idea of the day. The ride up the mountain can be a bit tough on the stomach in the van with the windy steep roads, but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troy T, Manager at Mountain Riders, responded to this review

sorry the ride up was a little rough on the tummy. We put safety as our number one priority. Glad it showed! More 

Kula, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We live up on Haleakala, and so encounter all of these tour groups pretty much daily. Of all of them, Mountain Riders seems to have their groups spread out all over the road, with stragglers poking along behind the support fan -- very unsafe. "Fast" riders far out in front of the guide and group. Much larger groups per guide.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troy T, Manager at Mountain Riders, responded to this review

This is bogus. You have never been our ride. You are obviously a disgruntled individual who in your review wishes for the bike companies to be gone period. Please save space for real reviews. More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Yes, you should get up at 2am to see the sun rise over the Pacific from the top of a volcano then turn around and bike down a volcano. But I would certainly pick a different touring company than this. The guides were nice enough and personable and knowledgeable but there was a huge whiff of pot in the van... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy T, Manager at Mountain Riders, responded to this review

We give people the choice of location to eat or not. On your day you rode the majority of our customers choose not to eat. Contrary to what you are saying. We provide snacks not breakfast whereas our competitors make you buy water, snacks etc... We are sorry you felt that you were not treated well. We spoke to the... More 

Travelers who viewed Mountain Riders also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Riders staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?