We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Luau Kalamaku

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 3-2087 Kaumualii Highway, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number: 1-877-622-1780
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Thu - Fri 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Book ahead on Viator
More Info
$108*
and up
Luau Kalamaku and Buffet Dinner
More Info
$152*
and up
Luau Kalamaku with Plantation Owner's Dinner and Champagne Reception

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 652 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 310
    Excellent
  • 219
    Very good
  • 69
    Average
  • 40
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
A very entertaining overall good time!

We went with a big group of family on a Friday night (they only do Tues and Fri productions). It was a full house (they said there were 700 guests that night). Despite the fact... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 8, 2015
Josh C
,
Ventura, California
Add Photo Write a Review

652 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

We had the Plantation Owners dinner package that included premier seating for the show at Luau Kalamaku on Kauai. The grounds of the plantation are exquisite and the layout is beautiful and welcoming. The dinner was so much more than just an alternative option to the buffet luau, it was a fine dining experience that we will never forget. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrayLineHI, Manager at Luau Kalamaku, responded to this review

Mahalo for that great review Darryl! Your comments about the Luau Kalamaku was much appreciated. It’s such a wonderful feeling to know that our guests are enjoying themselves and experiencing all that the luau has to offer. Hope you’ll return to Hawaii and visit us again soon. More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

If you want to pay $108 to sweat to death and get overheated this is your show. First of was mediocre and the place was so hot we almost left. Would only go back to this show if they paid me $108 and installed a/c. Also, way too many people and only three bathroom stalls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrayLineHI, Manager at Luau Kalamaku, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced and would like to thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Please know that have shared your observations and concerns with our internal team for appropriate follow-up. We are dedicated to providing a favorable experience for all our guests and hope to see you again. More 

Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

There were at least 800 people and only 7 bathroom stalls for women. Salad was served family style. Good luck if you are last to get bowl. Food is mediocre and only one trip to a buffet! Entertainment was best part but whole experience not worth the money. Vendors selling overpriced items while you wait for dinner. Scene on metal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GrayLineHI, Manager at Luau Kalamaku, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced and would like to thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Please know that have shared your observations and concerns with our internal team for appropriate follow-up. We are dedicated to providing a favorable experience for all our guests and hope to see you again. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Great entertainment and food. Had a great time and took lots of pictures. They had pork, Mahi Mahi, teriyaki noodles, Poi, Jasmine Rice, macaroni salad and pineapple upside down cake and a couple more things

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GrayLineHI, Manager at Luau Kalamaku, responded to this review

Aloha Richard! Your comments about the Luau Kalamaku was much appreciated. Hope you’ll return to Hawaii and visit us again soon. More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

We enjoyed the Luau in Plantations. I guess this is the only Luau in the island that is told in Story format. The fire dance was awesome. The food was amazing as well. This is about 2 hrs show. Small stores with hand made crafts and local stuff are good as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrayLineHI, Manager at Luau Kalamaku, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your lovely sentiments. Much appreciated! When you return to the islands, please remember to visit with us again! More 

Ventura, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We went with a big group of family on a Friday night (they only do Tues and Fri productions). It was a full house (they said there were 700 guests that night). Despite the fact that it is a BIG group and production overall, we never felt like we were being herded like tourist cattle. Everything from check in, photo-op,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrayLineHI, Manager at Luau Kalamaku, responded to this review

Mahalo for that great review Josh! Your comments about our Luau Kalamaku was much appreciated. It’s such a wonderful feeling to know that our guests are enjoying themselves and experiencing all that Hawaii has to offer. Hope you’ll return to Hawaii and visit us again soon. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

We really enjoyed this show. Our group included my wife, 20 year old daughter, and her two friends 18 and 20 years old. For me, the band made the experience. Good guitarists, good vocals. I enjoyed the dancing too, and judging by the enthusiasm of the crowd all enjoyed the evening. I have to say that we were skeptical but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrayLineHI, Manager at Luau Kalamaku, responded to this review

Aloha Dean! It’s such a wonderful feeling to know that our guests are enjoying themselves and experiencing all that Hawaii has to offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to express your lovely sentiments. Much appreciated! When you return to the islands, please remember to visit with us again! More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

I enjoyed this luau for the show - it had a lovely story, and was well performed. The food/drinks were not my favorite - I've had better luaus on Maui - but overall, and for the show alone, this is a good experience, and nice if you have not been to a luau before.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrayLineHI, Manager at Luau Kalamaku, responded to this review

Aloha Beth! Thank you so much for taking the time to express your lovely sentiments. Much appreciated! When you return to the islands, please remember to visit with us again! More 

Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

We didn't know what to expect when we booked this event and we were hoping it wouldn't be cheesy. It definitely was NOT cheesy!! Luau Kalamaku was first class and excellent with their costumes, enthusiasm, and great story expressed through their dances, fire scenes, & monologue. The show was approx 1 hour and it was a quick 60 minutes with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrayLineHI, Manager at Luau Kalamaku, responded to this review

Aloha Sherman! It’s such a wonderful feeling to know that our guests are enjoying themselves and experiencing all that the Luau Kalamaku has to offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to express your lovely sentiments. Much appreciated! When you return to the islands, please remember to visit with us again! More 

New Boston, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

This was my first Hawaiian luau. We paid the extra for the owners dinner before the show. The food and service were both excellent. We were given an escort to the performance after by a pair of torch bearers. The production was excellent, music and dance, along side a great story. To add to the fun. They picked us up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrayLineHI, Manager at Luau Kalamaku, responded to this review

Mahalo for that great review! Your comments about the Luau Kalamaku was much appreciated. Hope you’ll return to Hawaii and visit us again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Luau Kalamaku also viewed

 

Been to Luau Kalamaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Luau Kalamaku and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Kalispell, Montana, United States
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Luau Kalamaku staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?