We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waipi'o Valley Wagon Tours

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Address: 48-5300 Kukuihaele Rd, Neptunes Gardens/Last Chance Store, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727
Phone Number: +1 808-775-9518
Website
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 51 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 17
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Most recent review
Great way to see the valley

Our tour of the Waipi’o Valley was on an extremely rainy day, but it didn’t dampen our experience. The driver/tour operator picked us up in front of a small store in a van that... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 9, 2015
AngeliqueCPA
,
Houston, TX
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Our tour of the Waipi’o Valley was on an extremely rainy day, but it didn’t dampen our experience. The driver/tour operator picked us up in front of a small store in a van that had seen better days. I must have missed this on the website and given the rain, was confused as to why the mule drawn wagon wasn’t... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
4 attraction reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We booked this tour primarily because we only wanted to do the Waipi'o Valley and not be tied to the entire day with a tour group. Pick up, at a dusty old building, was half an hour past the appointed time. The driver claimed the problem was "traffic", but a postman who was dropping off mail had already told us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The pick-up stop was awful. One terrible awful toilet that didn't work and everyone wanting to use it before the trip. It is very difficult to fine the pick-up spot. Someone had to talk us to the place by phone, but then we all lost phone service. Wish there had been a few more stops for picture-taking. Even though the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
waipiospirit, Owner at Waipi'o Valley Wagon Tours, responded to this review

We apologize if you had a problem with the restroom. It is actually a fairly new facility made for the tour. It is checked frequently for cleanleness and operation and are sorry you had a problem with it. Also, the road in Waipio can be bumpy at places. We do make numerous stops for pictures and narrative consistent with the... More 

Oroville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

My first time on this tour was epic so I was looking forward to visiting again. Two friends with me this time were looking forward with great anticipation based on my past experience. What a disappointment. The pick up stop was dirty and dingy. Personnel changes and a much shorter tour route felt like this attraction may be coming to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
waipiospirit, Owner at Waipi'o Valley Wagon Tours, responded to this review

We certainly apologize is you were disappointed with the tour. The tour has been operating for 25 years into the sacred valley of the kings. To preserve the valley and for respect for the people in the valley a few things have changed. The state has made the black sand beach a state conservation district which restricts commercial activity at... More 

Ferrysburg, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Had a nice time with family on this tour. The first part of the trip we traveled down a very steep, bumpy road. It was a bit uncomfortable, but not the fault of the tour guide--he can't do anything about road conditions. The view down into the valley was amazing! Second part of the trip we were carried into tahe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our tour started an half hour late so not sure if we got to in as far as we should? We went through the river twice. The tour guy was knowledgable and friendly. Once in the wagon you do not get out. We saw some pretty trees, plant and fruit. Another shuttle passed us and went further into the valley.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

A friend from work recommended we do the wagon ride to see the Waipi'o Valley. First it was hard to find where to meet the van since the Expedia desk told us to meet at the "Lat Change Store" but the name has change. The ride down and up the hill was done in an old van in a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canada de Gomez, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I loved the tour it was very informational but the guide made me very uncomfortable .It is great for small children and the older

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NEBRASKA
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
59 attraction reviews
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

While the valley is very beautiful and worth seeing, this trip is not as advertised. It is not a 90 minute wagon tour. They don't tell you that you actually spend half of the time in a dirty, smelly SUV traveling up and down a 25% grade road. Then you wait around while the guide feeds the animals and does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We really enjoyed this trip. What a wonderful place to see. Would not want to try it on our own. Saw many poor soles who tried to walk and were really struggling to make it back up. The look if despair on there faces! The wagon ride was enjoyable. Great to be in the open air without any motors from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Waipi'o Valley Wagon Tours also viewed

 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Waipi'o Valley Wagon Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waipi'o Valley Wagon Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?