We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: P.O. Box 4761, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number: +1 808-937-5953
Website
Description: Vavoom Volcano Tours has been providing fun and educational tours of...
Vavoom Volcano Tours has been providing fun and educational tours of Volcanoes National Park, Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls and visits to other popular spots in the Hilo area such as the Mauna Loa Mac Nut Farm since 2007. We can now customize your tour to also include ziplining, horseback-riding and ATV adventuring on the slopes of Kilauea. Just call or email us to reserve your Big Island adventure with Vavoom Volcano Tours today.Note: The business has a new owner as of June 2013. The new owner is Kyle Rogers and can be reached at the listed number and email address which has been updated.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 89 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 69
    Excellent
  • 6
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Volcano and day tour

The company and the tour guide we had are excellent at what they do. They personalized our day to include local attractions like the rainbow falls and the volcano but also made... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed October 3, 2013
Utsi W
,
Bismarck, North Dakota

Similar Things to Do in Hilo

Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The company and the tour guide we had are excellent at what they do. They personalized our day to include local attractions like the rainbow falls and the volcano but also made it special by giving us a taste of local culture and food. The sugar cane, pineapple, vanilla bean, and coconuts fresh off the tree we such a delight.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'm so happy to have booked with Vavoom! I had booked well in advance, and through our communication, owner Lori Asana knew I had only 1day in Hilo, and that it was a very important part of my trip to see the volcano. Although nobody else joined the tour for that day, Lori very kindly went ahead with it, just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Not knowing what my work schedule was going to be like in Hawaii, my husband and I were not able to commit to booking any kind of tours in advance, should our plans change at the last minute. However, when I got my schedule we were too late to book tours and as we found out that most companies don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a great day with Lori which was particularily nice to have a local tour guide. Many guides are now not from Hawaii. Lori is a warm, friendly and knowledgable guide. We visited Rainbow Falls first then onto the steam vents then Kilauea Museum. The view was great and the explanations of the volcano and eruptions were very informative.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I hope this feedback on Lori, owner of Vavoom Tour will help you in your selection. I booked this tour on Thanksgiving day because my husband mistakenly booked our rental car at Kona airport and our flight was arriving at Hilo airport about 3 hours away. Realizing this on thanksgiving day, the day before our flight, I found Vavoom Tour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I travel quite a bit and must admit that I use tripadvisor often for information but don't post reviews (I know..I should post reviews). However, I felt compelled to write a review for Vavoom Volcano Tours because of the recent reviews from two people who said this was the worse tour ever. I was there that morning and as you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were a group of 4 that enjoyed our tour. Yes there was a delay as a van had a problem and had to be replaced, I don't know how those people can rate a trip if they don't experience it. Thoses people must never have car trouble. Patienence is a virtue. and we got plenty of tourist time in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South Yarmouth, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lori and the other tour guides could not have been any more accommodating! We were witness to the behavior of the people who wrote the two negative reviews. They were rude and impatient. Lori had called and stated she wanted to check the brakes on her van because she was concerned about the safety of us tourists, At best, she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vernon Hills, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked our tour on phone about 6 months in advance. Got confirmation paperwork that Lori would pick us up at pier at 8:30. Called at 8:45; she said p/u is for 9:00 but she was running late, so expect 9:30. Corrected her error b/c 8:30 was in writing. At some point were told the van broke down and had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HawaiianTigerlily, Owner at Vavoom Volcano Tours, responded to this review

This review of Vavoom and the one dated November 8th were both the same day of tour. What happened was one of the 3 vehicles we had , had a brake light that suddenly turned on while we were en route to the pier. Rather than take a chance and drive a van that could possibly have brake problems as... More 

New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked with Lori 6 mths in advance unlike meeting her in person, she was very pleasant and profesional on the phone. We were supposed to meet on the dock, with a sign with our name on it, at the cruise terminal at 8:30 AM. When Lori didn't show up at 8:45 we called and she said she would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed Vavoom Volcano Tours also viewed

 

Been to Vavoom Volcano Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vavoom Volcano Tours

Address: P.O. Box 4761, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number: +1 808-937-5953
Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Island of Hawaii  >  Hilo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vavoom Volcano Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?