We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vavoom Volcano Tours

P.O. Box 4761, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
+1 808-937-5953
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 47 activities in Hilo
Type: Tours
Owner description: Vavoom Volcano Tours has been providing fun and educational tours of Volcanoes National Park, Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls and visits to other popular... more » Owner description: Vavoom Volcano Tours has been providing fun and educational tours of Volcanoes National Park, Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls and visits to other popular spots in the Hilo area such as the Mauna Loa Mac Nut Farm since 2007. We can now customize your tour to also include ziplining, horseback-riding and ATV adventuring on the slopes of Kilauea. Just call or email us to reserve your Big Island adventure with Vavoom Volcano Tours today.Note: The business has a new owner as of June 2013. The new owner is Kyle Rogers and can be reached at the listed number and email address which has been updated. « less
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    6
    1
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The company and the tour guide we had are excellent at what they do. They personalized our day to include local attractions like the rainbow falls and the volcano but also made it special by giving us a taste of local culture and food. The sugar cane, pineapple, vanilla bean, and coconuts fresh off the tree we such a delight.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'm so happy to have booked with Vavoom! I had booked well in advance, and through our communication, owner Lori Asana knew I had only 1day in Hilo, and that it was a very important part of my trip to see the volcano. Although nobody else joined the tour for that day, Lori very kindly went ahead with it, just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daytona Beach
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Not knowing what my work schedule was going to be like in Hawaii, my husband and I were not able to commit to booking any kind of tours in advance, should our plans change at the last minute. However, when I got my schedule we were too late to book tours and as we found out that most companies don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a great day with Lori which was particularily nice to have a local tour guide. Many guides are now not from Hawaii. Lori is a warm, friendly and knowledgable guide. We visited Rainbow Falls first then onto the steam vents then Kilauea Museum. The view was great and the explanations of the volcano and eruptions were very informative.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I hope this feedback on Lori, owner of Vavoom Tour will help you in your selection. I booked this tour on Thanksgiving day because my husband mistakenly booked our rental car at Kona airport and our flight was arriving at Hilo airport about 3 hours away. Realizing this on thanksgiving day, the day before our flight, I found Vavoom Tour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I travel quite a bit and must admit that I use tripadvisor often for information but don't post reviews (I know..I should post reviews). However, I felt compelled to write a review for Vavoom Volcano Tours because of the recent reviews from two people who said this was the worse tour ever. I was there that morning and as you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 4 that enjoyed our tour. Yes there was a delay as a van had a problem and had to be replaced, I don't know how those people can rate a trip if they don't experience it. Thoses people must never have car trouble. Patienence is a virtue. and we got plenty of tourist time in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South Yarmouth, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lori and the other tour guides could not have been any more accommodating! We were witness to the behavior of the people who wrote the two negative reviews. They were rude and impatient. Lori had called and stated she wanted to check the brakes on her van because she was concerned about the safety of us tourists, At best, she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vernon Hills, IL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked our tour on phone about 6 months in advance. Got confirmation paperwork that Lori would pick us up at pier at 8:30. Called at 8:45; she said p/u is for 9:00 but she was running late, so expect 9:30. Corrected her error b/c 8:30 was in writing. At some point were told the van broke down and had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HawaiianTigerlily, Owner at Vavoom Volcano Tours, responded to this review

This review of Vavoom and the one dated November 8th were both the same day of tour. What happened was one of the 3 vehicles we had , had a brake light that suddenly turned on while we were en route to the pier. Rather than take a chance and drive a van that could possibly have brake problems as... More

New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked with Lori 6 mths in advance unlike meeting her in person, she was very pleasant and profesional on the phone. We were supposed to meet on the dock, with a sign with our name on it, at the cruise terminal at 8:30 AM. When Lori didn't show up at 8:45 we called and she said she would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed Vavoom Volcano Tours also viewed

 

Been to Vavoom Volcano Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vavoom Volcano Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing