We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

C Big Island Tours

71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
+1 800-901-0468
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #8 of 46 activities in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Type: Tours
Owner description: C Big Island offers unique personalized land tours on the Big Island of Hawaii. Tours such as lava viewing on Kilauea volcano, waterfalls in the... more » Owner description: C Big Island offers unique personalized land tours on the Big Island of Hawaii. Tours such as lava viewing on Kilauea volcano, waterfalls in the rainforest,and Volcanoes National Park.All tours are done SUV,Eco style vehicles or 11-15 pas van. We DO NOT operate buses. We depart daily from Kona and Hilo. CRUISE SHIP CUSTOMERS - we have permits to pick you up directly from the pier and work with the cruise ships weekly. We would love to show you the Big Island....Give us a call! « less
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    5
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 NEW

C Big Island was fantastically helpful from the moment I booked - letting me know that the 2 tours I had booked had an overlap, and offering to reschedule me onto 2 slightly different tours that wouldn't offer any repetition. Then in the few days before the tour I had to reschedule - not a problem for them. They found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review

Aloha James C, thank you for the fantastic review. I'm so glad we could get you on the tours and that you enjoyed them. Glad you made it home safe and sound! Thanks Again, you were a great customer. More

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I expected much more from this tour. I would have been great to swim in the hot pond or at the beach. Rent a car and visit those thing alone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review

Aloha and thanks for your review. I'm sorry the tour was not up to what you expected but SAFETY is our number one concern for our customers and we do not allow swimming in the hot ponds because there has been bacterial infections that locals and visitors have got from there. The state finally put up a warning sign although... More

Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked several excursions and were very happy with all the choices that C Big Island Tours suggested. Oleathia was awesome...she arranged our plans and was a great point of contact for any questions we had. She made great suggestions as to places to eat and what else we might want to do each day...we were more than pleased. Money... More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review

So glad you hear you had a wonderful time on all your excursions! One of favorite things to do is help customers and give good advice since we have lived and done many things on the Big Island. Many thanks....we really appreciate the reviews. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our group of 8 were taken on a wonderful tour of areas south of Hilo including the Punalu'u Black Sand Beach on 15 October 2013. The Volcano National Park was closed that day. The tour was informative, interesting and made especially memorable because of our Tour Guide Lawrence who did a great job!! He was the first tour guide to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have the oportunity to enjoy dis summer the big island of Hawaii . As a visitor in Hawaii i wanted to see the nature so i bought a tour , where the guid was Mr Yakiim Johnson . I would say it couldn't be better , mr Yakiim wasnt just a tour guide knowing about all the things are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review

Thankyou so very much for the great review! Your driver will also be excited to hear it. We hope to see you again some day. Thanks for visiting the big island! More

Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a great day and Yakiim was a great tour guide. Many thanks Mark and Yakiim for looking after us when the National Park was closed. We thought we were going to be disappointed then Mark came to our rescue and organised a tour for us with Yakiim as our guide. We had a fabulous day lots of sights, legends,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review

So glad you hear you had a wonderful time! The lava forest and falls has some great hidden treasures and it is still very raw Hawaii. The lava forest and falls tour is one of my personal favorites. Glad you liked it too. I will be sure to tell Yakim about this review. He will be so excited! More

Whitman, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went on a tour in Hilo with C Big Island Tours and had Yakiim Johnson as a tour guide. He was a wonderful tour guide and took us to see some amazing sites. We did the Lava, Forest & Falls tour, it had more to offer than a similar tour through our cruise ship and the price was much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review

Wow thanks for the great review. Ill be sure to pass these great compliments to your guide. He will be so thankful! We try to keep our prices at a reasonable price for every one. especially because the ship prices are so expensive. So glad we provided a great experience for you.....and didn't hurt your pocket book while doing so... More

Bedworth, Warwickshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Due to the National Park being closed due to USA Government shutdown we had to change our tour at very short notice, we were very worried not booing through the cruiseline but honestly it was a great experience and we need not worried. The tour guide on the tour was Frank and very informative and friendly We went to rainbow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review

Yes even the tour operators are upset of the volcanoes national park being closed due to government shut down. We are happy to be able to offer the east side volcano tour since bus companies cannot fit onto the roads in that area. Sorry about the unexpected closer of the hot ponds. They were having to due water tests due... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked our adventures with C Big Island tours when staying at the Hilo Hawaiian hotel while on our honeymoon earlier this year. The lovely family working C Big Island tours at the hotel were helpful and assisted us when choosing the best tours for our needs. We did the Volcano all day tour with tour guide Lawrence, Mauna Loa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review

Wow it sound like you really explored! So glad you had such a wonderful experience from booking a tour to experiencing them. Thank you so very much on the great review. It is greatly appreciated. More

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

If you want an up close, personal tour with a small group, choose C Big Island. We booked a tour with them off our NCL stop in Hilo and weren't disappointed. Our group was 8 people in a comfortable van with a very knowledgable guide. We feel had plenty of time in Volcano National Park and time to walk through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review

I wrote back on this a while ago but it seems it didnt post. Any how wanted to say thank you for the wonderful review. Our guides have been trained by the Volcanoes National Park so it really help when it comes to showing the highlights and facts. Thanks again! More

Travelers who viewed C Big Island Tours also viewed

 

Been to C Big Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C Big Island Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing