We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lost Creek Adventures

22475 Highway 13, Cornucopia, WI 54827
715-209-6956
Website
Improve this listing
89%
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Cornucopia
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located on the south shore of Lake Superior in the village of Cornucopia and adjacent to the Apostle Islands National Park. During the summer we have loads of KAYAK trips & rentals, STAND UP PADDLEBOARD lessons and rentals, and during the rest of the year we have FOLK SCHOOL and OUTDOOR SKILL courses and expeditions.Get outta town and visit us this year!
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    6
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife, our 2 friends, and i did the ISLAND WANDERER 3 day 2 night camping/sea kayaking trip in August 2014. 3 reasons why this was the most amazing adventure trip we've ever done: 1) Absolutely Top-Notch Guides: Alyssa and Jake went above and beyond what we expected to make this trip unforgettable. They were extremely knowledgeable regarding the 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

This is the kind of review that makes what we do worthwhile and look forward to next year. I'm so happy that the trip went so well for you and hope that now that you have a safety course under your belt you'll come back to Lake Superior again. I'll pass along your feedback to Jake and Alissa. Thanks again,... More

Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Our two guides were unknowable and patient with everyone. The sea caves are awesome. So glad we were able to do this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
65 attraction reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This group accomadated a last minute reservation when the bayfield area group fell through due to lack of guides. Were very pleased with the service, guides well trained and made the trip fun and safe, both novice and skilled kayakers in our 12 person group enjoyed the time in the sea caves. Nicely invited us back and sent a follow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Just went on the 4 pm guided tour on Sun with 2 other friends. None of us have experience with sea kayaking...x3 ladies in their 50's. No problems with the whole reservation process and we arrived late but they were still gracious enough to include us. There was a grp of 12 and x2 guides (Nick and Emily). I felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My husband and I were interested in kayaking the sea caves with our daughters (ages 12 and 9) while vacationing on Madeline Island this summer. I called numerous outfitters in the Bayfield area, and found they ranged from very hardcore (only full-day trips offered; no options unless 14 or older; high prices) to sort of unprofessional. Lost Creek Adventures is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you. Readers please note that if you have children under 12 they would be what is known in the kayaking/canoeing world as a "duffer" or somone who sits in the middle of the boat as a non-paddler. Best, Greg More

Liberty, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We chose the full day adventure and it was the perfect choice for us. We opted for a guide since we were unfamiliar with the area and had never kyaked in anything more than a calm lake. Our guide was knowledgable, professional, and personable. Wet suits, a delicious lunch, drinks, and transportation to the beach were all included. The experience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you. I'm often asked if the full day or half day is preferred. Honestly I think most folks underestimate how far they can paddle... The full day is about 8 miles round trip, while the 1/2 day is just over 4. But on the full day trip you are not on the water longer at any one time than... More

Dubuque, IA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My wife and I took the half day afternoon tour to the sea caves. We were lucky to have little wind or waves and it was overcast so the weather was nice for kayaking. We had great guides - Eddie and Alissa. The price was reasonable and they did a good job of making sure everyone was safe. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Those calm days should be cherished :-) Paddles up! Greg More

Bayfield, WI.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I wanted to move away from the BCU & get into the ACA and see what they are all about, and Lost Creek (Greg) provided exactly what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our classes run from beginner paddlers, to rolling a kayak on up through instructor certifications in coastal kayaking. If any readers out there are interested in improving your skills I'd be happy to talk to you about next steps. Sincerely, Greg More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

As a kayak guide for a competing outfitter my experience with Lost Creek has been as a direct observer both on day trips and multiday trips. Having said that, years of experience as a guide allows me to easily spot organizations with questionable practices. Lost Creek Adventures is not one of the questionable outfitters in our area. This company's guides... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Greg W, Manager at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for your observations and your review. We all appreciate it! It's the sign of a good guide/outfitter that you watch what others do. I take notes all the time too! Thanks again, Greg More

Bayfield, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My family and I went to Lost Creek for a SUP lesson. This is something new to us, we'd always been sea kayakers. The staff was organized and made us feel comfortable. After some verbal instructions, it was time to give it a try in the water. At first I'm sure I looked like I was being electrocuted, but with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Greg W, Manager at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thanks Mary. You did great! Greg More

Travelers who viewed Lost Creek Adventures also viewed

 
Apostle Islands, WI
Apostle Islands, WI
 

Been to Lost Creek Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing