We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lost Creek Adventures

22475 Highway 13, Cornucopia, WI 54827
715-209-6956
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 attractions in Cornucopia
Type: Tours
Owner description: We are located on the south shore of Lake Superior in the village of Cornucopia and adjacent to the Apostle Islands National Park. During the summer... more » Owner description: We are located on the south shore of Lake Superior in the village of Cornucopia and adjacent to the Apostle Islands National Park. During the summer we have loads of KAYAK trips & rentals, STAND UP PADDLEBOARD lessons and rentals, and during the rest of the year we have FOLK SCHOOL and OUTDOOR SKILL courses and expeditions.Get outta town and visit us this year! « less
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    2
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We made a reservation for early Saturday morning and called to confirm the day before since we were making the drive from our weekend stay in Duluth. Our group included my husband, myself and our two kids (5 & 7). It was supposed to be a guided tour but when we arrived we were informed there was no one to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. One of the things I enjoy about having our business on Trip Advisor is the chance to hear the good things we're doing out there, as well as the concerns that arise. A few take-away lessons from what I read from your experience: #1 Adventure True adventure is not without risk. It is very important... More

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Although we did not accomplish what we set out to do (the sea caves) a great time was had by all. Much thanks to our exceptional guides Lucas and Jake, we adjusted to the conditions (30 knot winds and rough water), modified our route, and safely enjoyed living in nature. Our novice party of 4 (2 adults a 17yo and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, you guys had quite the wind starting off! Lake Superior can be flat calm or a roiling mess within an hour. While we hope for the former we also enjoy the challenges of the later. (Within reason) For all of our trips we match our guide skills and experience to the potential challenges. For... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our trip was on 7/5/14 for a half day sea caves trip. When we arrived they told us that we probably wouldn't see the sea caves because there was a storm coming. We got on the water and within 20 minutes they made us turn around because one of the guides "saw lightning". We called about getting our money refunded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

While it is true that our policy as stated on the website and the confirmation email that we send to everyone before the trip says that once we've been out paddling that no refund should be expected, we always try to work with guests who for some reason or another were not happy with the experience. You should feel free... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My adventure with Lost Creek Adventures far exceeded my expectations. The guides were super knowledgeable, professional, and most importantly fun. I had a blast and learned a lot. I would recommend Lost Creek Adventures to anyone looking for a paddling adventure to remember!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. My guides often remind me to have more fun too! All winter long we wait for summer, so you can imagine how excited we are to get out there when it finally hits. Sincerely, Greg More

Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
141 attraction reviews
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

There were a number of kayaking companies in this area that were well rated, but this was the ONLY one that would take a child under age eight. Fortunately, it was also very affordable, so that made our decision pretty easy! We did the half-day tour to Roman’s Point. It was about five miles round trip. We met at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're happy that you got to experience our Romans Point trip. It's one of my favorite places to go on a stand up paddleboard too. A question others might be asking is how we are able to offer kayaking trips for younger folks, and how it all works. For our sea kayaks we require two... More

New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I am new to paddling and my friend had some experience so we gave this place a try. It was amazing they catered to both our level of skills. The staff is friendly and helpful, the sea caves were spectacular! Thanks Lost Creek Adventure I am glad I found you see you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. A lot of people ask us if our trips would fit their experience. We've found that over half of all of our guests have never paddled a kayak before so we try to meet the needs of novice paddlers, but also enjoy the challenge of coaching experienced paddlers to get to the next level. Best,... More

Corydon, Indiana
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband booked our trip in advance. He did quite a lot of reviewing but did not locate anything that would have prepared him for the surprise when we arrived at the location. We were informed we had to carry 3 kayaks down to the beach. That didn't seem to be too much until you saw the stairs. There were13... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments and concerns. As a guide at Lost Creek Adventures, (as well as the owner) I know that carrying the boats can be a struggle for some, especially at the end of a trip. Though it may seem obvious to say, it is important that people know that outdoor adventure and kayaking does take... More

Duluth Mn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Six of us went on the sea cave 1/2 day tour with lost creek adventures. It was the first time in sea kayaks for all of us. It was a great time and the caves are something to see. Our guides were great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our team is happy to hear it! Best, Greg More

Champlin, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A truly memorable experience. It was the highlight of our trip to the Apostle Islands and Bayfield, WI area. Outstanding outfitter with great staff and reasonable prices. Lost Creek Adventures caters to kayakers at all skill levels. We are in our 60's and it was my husband's first time kayaking. We are definitely going back again. So if you're headed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Hi Maxine, Thank you so much. I'm glad that you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to seeing you again! Greg More

New Franken, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed our trip immensly!!! Kia was a very enjoyable guide and described so many points! We took the Roman Point tour since we have a 4 yr old with us. Unbeliveable views of the sea caves!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you I'm glad that your trip went well. I really love the Romans Point Caves myself. It's more protected from wind and weather, but feels more remote in some ways than any of the other caves. Take care, Greg More

Travelers who viewed Lost Creek Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Lost Creek Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Creek Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing