We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Highcraft Marina | Griffin Lane, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 0SL, England
Phone Number: 44 (0) 1603 701701
Website
Improve this listing
Description:

Relax Afloat A City Boat.

We offer many ways to enjoy the Southern Norfolk...

Relax Afloat A City Boat.

We offer many ways to enjoy the Southern Norfolk Broads; why not be your own skipper for the day and hire one of our picnic boats? During the summer months our scheduled river trips operate every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (7 days per week during the school holidays) and relax whilst our skipper gives a live commentary. Refreshments available and cream teas can be ordered in advance, toilets also on-board. We offer private charter cruises for special events, eg. birthday celebrations, corporate events and wedding events. For those of you wishing to spend a relaxing few days or a week on the Broads we offer classic Broads cruisers.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 38 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 8
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
C'est La Vie

We hired C'est La Vie for a week in order to explore the South Broads. The boat is old and, perhaps because it was at the end of the season, is in need of maintenance. It would be... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed September 22, 2015
Layces
,
Sussex, England
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

On first seeing the boat it was a bit of a shock... It gave the impression that it was not maintained as well as it should have been....On being shown round the boat prior to departing there were quite a lot of things that didn't work....It is not necessary to list these things....Apart from the sliding canopy....It could not be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A1917OYchristiner
Parotgal, Manager at City Boats, responded to this review

Another person who suffered from a holiday teamed with bad weather. Another person who wished for compensation. Another person who booked a bargain break........ C'est La Vie is a classic Broads Hire Boat, as modern as possible but clean, comfortable and good value for money. It is a shame that those people who have enjoyed many weeks and sort breaks... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

We enjoyed hiring C'est la Vie, a boat full of character, however there were problems which we pointed out to the yard, but received an aggressive e-mail in reply to our courteous comments. I'm sure as long as you don't raise any problems the company is fine, but don't raise any negative points!! I wouldn't recommend them, or sail with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christina B
Parotgal, Owner at City Boats, responded to this review

This couple made a complaint and wanted compensation which we refused as damage costing a significant amount of money to repair and not covered by their damage waiver had be caused. We explained that we would have to take the damage cost in favor of compensation. Two issues were raised and immediately put right. More 

Sussex, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

We hired C'est La Vie for a week in order to explore the South Broads. The boat is old and, perhaps because it was at the end of the season, is in need of maintenance. It would be easy to compare it unfavourably with newer, smarter boats but it was good value for the price paid. I tied up behind... More 

Helpful?
Thank Layces
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Mrs and I took a small dayboat out over the Summer, not much to say really but compared to other dayboats I have used this was in a poor state the yard was not a very welcoming place either. could do better.

Helpful?
Thank Marcus A
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

We wanted a week on the Norfolk Broards, but we were on a budget so we hired a boat from City boats as it was the cheapest one we could find. We arrived an hour early but the boat was ready for us and we got straight aboard. We were given a quick run down of the boat, and what... More 

Helpful?
Thank peter s
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

We went on the Cest le vie for four days. Our first time. An older boat than most we saw on the river which is what we wanted. It was great fun once we got used to the steering and tying up etc. We went on the South Broads, a bit quieter than the north I think It was great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tinners_10
Norfolk
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

We did the trip from the boatyard, into the city and back. We arrived early and easily found a parking spot. A friendly staff member told us that the vessel was still being prepared, and answered our questions. The Vanguard is a classic local boat, so don't expect modern luxury, but it's comfortable. The seating is all inside, undercover, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank gorby321
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Have done many day boat rentals from Wroxham. Something different this time. Very well signposted to the lane, but then easy to get lost between yards. Very friendly staff, not as hectic as other boat renters, day boats maybe a little older than many. Then decide to turn right and head into the centre of Norwich (more industrial, like a... More 

Helpful?
Thank john l
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

WE had a party of 60 on board Vanguard the boat is a 1949 model and getting tired however we enjoyed the 5hr day non stop trip. The catering which we had paid £5.25 per head was to say the least not worth bothering with. It was already on the table in the full sun when the boat arrived to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stanley W
Parotgal, Manager at City Boats, responded to this review

The client, was sent all information, however I don't think he really read the menu and ordered for a group of gentlemen what is advertised as a 'nibbles' selection. Perhaps ordering a proper lunch menu would have been more appropriate. The client was also sent a 'stock requirements sheet' on which he ticked every 'liquid' item, ie lager, beer, wine,... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Had a very good experience with this company. Picked up a boat at about 10am without prebooking. Paid by card without any problem, despite thee being a sign which said we can't. Boat was clean and tidy, although showing signs of age. Decent tutorial, and they seemed to want to be sure you were happy before sending you on your... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew R

Travelers who viewed City Boats also viewed

 

Been to City Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of City Boats and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Thetford Norfolk

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from City Boats staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?