We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Washington's Mount Vernon

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 3200 George Washington Parkway, Mount Vernon, VA 22121
Phone Number: 703-780-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Fee: Yes
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Description: Come share the fascinating moments of America’s first family with yours at...
Come share the fascinating moments of America’s first family with yours at George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Explore the beautiful mansion and grounds and get to know the man, the ideas and the values that founded a nation. Dive into history through action-packed theaters, fascinating exhibits and meet characters from Washington’s world. Admire the view of the peaceful Potomac, or hop on board a sightseeing cruise. It’s a place where history truly comes to life.
read more
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$17*
and up
Super Saver
More Info
$90*
and up
Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and...
Private Tour
More Info
$45*
and up
Private Tour: George Washington's Mount Vernon

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 2,241 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 1651
    Excellent
  • 425
    Very good
  • 122
    Average
  • 33
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
I loved Mount Vernon

I enjoy history of our early presidents so this was a must of me to see. We took the metro from hotel then bus to Mount Vernon. Took about 50 minutes but well worth the effort... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed October 25, 2013
524Marg
,
Farmington, New Hampshire
Add Photo Write a Review

2,241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I enjoy history of our early presidents so this was a must of me to see. We took the metro from hotel then bus to Mount Vernon. Took about 50 minutes but well worth the effort. Arrived late morning and didn't have enough time to see everything offered. The views of the river are stunning. If you plan to visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to come visit us. There really is so much to see... I hope you'll come back! More 

Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is an amazing historical place with plenty of things to see; from the historical house of George Washington to the lake, the animals, the landscaping, the shop...Do not skip this attraction while in DC

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the visit and the kind words. Glad you enjoyed your time at Mount Vernon! More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent about four hours touring Mt. Vernon. The house, grounds, and museum were beautiful. We learned a lot about the life of George Washington. Well worth the trip. This is very well-run historical site. Do not miss if you have the chance to go

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thanks for your visit. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the estate and learned more about George Washington along the way. More 

Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Keeping a heritage site visitable and enjoyable isn't simple. I'm glad this isn't in the hands of the government. Going thru the home is a highlight but the view from the backyard and porch is stupendous. I'm tickled someone had the foresight to keep the opposite bank undeveloped. Walking the half mile down to the grave site and water is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My expectations were minimal as our visit was very last minute but I was completely blown away by the overall experience of Mount Vernon. Moving on though - the property, the view, the out buildings, the farm, the gardens are just so beautiful and serene with really well documented history behind them that I wish I could have spent hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting Mount Vernon! You sound like you really saw it all - and there's a lot to see! Many of the items in the house (such as the Key to the Bastille, Washington's bed and the chair in his study) really are Washington's. But historic restoration is always ongoing! I hope you will come and see us at... More 

Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife loves this sort of thing and I enjoy the insider stories the guides share. however, that was not the case here. When we were told that 7,000 visitors has passed through the gates the previous week I stopped feeling sorry for myself and felt sorry for them. We were herded 20 at a time through the small and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Individuals touring George Washington's house are in for a big disappointment. There are absolutely no signs on any of the rooms and there are no guided tours for those arriving on their own. Docents stand in various rooms and answer questions, but only if you know what to ask. Why can't there be a walk-through tour for 20 minutes with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting Mount Vernon. I am very sorry to hear you found the house tour to be a disappointment. Our interpreters stand in different sections of the house and give each group of visitors a brief explanation of the history of the rooms in their area. I am confused that you say they only answered questions... If you have... More 

Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A beautiful historic place to visit! Despite the government shut down, we had a great visit. The tour guides were informative and worked to keep the lines moving. There was a lot to see that we didn't get to see. We enjoyed a nice lunch in the restaurant. I was disappointed in the cost, I thought it was a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We where there during the government shutdown and yes it was busy. However not that busy as it rained and it rained hard. The staff where super cool pushing visitors through the house before the rain hit. From the front you have a super view over the harbour and just quietly the backyard was pretty spectacular too. However the rain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We just didn't allow ourselves enough time to explore all Mt Vernon has to offer. It's absolutely beautiful!! Lots to learn. There is a kids treasure hunt that my daughter had a fun time doing. We didn't go all through the house due to our short time here. We did get the hand held self guided tour which I recommend.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit. I hope you'll return when you have more time! More 

Travelers who viewed George Washington's Mount Vernon also viewed

 

Been to George Washington's Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of George Washington's Mount Vernon and other visitors
11 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York

Which tour/s to make time for?? I'll be traveling down and will arrive for the opening at 8:00 but will have to leave at 1:30 as there isn't a later boat back to D.C. I'll be by myself and may possibly come back with my 8 year old history nut son at the end of August before we fly back to UK. Seems I won't be able to do all National Treasure, Mansion Tour, Garden Tour, Slave tour and see the Pioneer Farm.... Only time I could do National Treasure could be if I did it at 9:30. Haven't seen the second movie but would do so if the tour is good. Garden tour is only at 11. Doesn't leave time for much else as have to be at dock at 1:15 but I'd like to know how good the slave tour is and am very interested in the farm and the museum too.... Do i need to book a tour to be able to go in the main building? I'm not interested in visiting the tomb area or distillery. I know that if I go back with my son, he will want to spend time doing the scouting activity outside and would love to see the farm and education center and house (there seem to be several house tours). Not sure if I should try and split things up between the two visits...

How does this sound: my trip - National Treasure Tour followed by 11:00 Garden Tour followed by either slaves tour, or museum or looking around the mansion before getting the boat. (I already booked a one way ticket to D.C)

trip with son - First mansion tour of day before it's too crowded, then scouting around outside in the grounds to earn his badge, then Education center, Pioneer Farm then boat (or if not time for boat then we'd have to get a taxi back to D.C.).

There's a possibility we could spend a night in Mt Vernon if really necessary. Will be moving overseas after and won't have chance to come again. We spent a few days at Colonial Williamsburg and Jamesown last month which we loved, and are also thinking of returning there for about 3 more days, so we might do this trip either on the way down there on on the return journey.

Any advice appreciated! I want to see everything, but I know that when I don't try and over squeeze in activities we have a more enjoyable time!

We thou

1 month ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from George Washington's Mount Vernon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?