We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers' Notch Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 4323 Vermont Route 108 South, Jeffersonville, VT 05464-9537
Phone Number: 800-451-8752; 802-644-8851
Activities: Skiing, Dining, Swimming, Snowboarding
Description: Smugglers' Notch offers fun for the whole family no matter the season.

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 225 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 107
    Excellent
  • 61
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
excellent slopes with old styles lifts

we loved our day at Smuggs this place is fantastic. Plenty of sky styles for everyone. This might take of some charm off this place but a renewal of the lifts might be... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 23, 2015
earthflyers
,
Montreal, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

we loved our day at Smuggs this place is fantastic. Plenty of sky styles for everyone. This might take of some charm off this place but a renewal of the lifts might be appreciated. Everyone working there is fantasticly nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review

Hello from Smugglers' - We're so glad to know that your ski visit was a great experience. Thank you for the positive review and in particular, the recognition of our staff. We hope to see you again! Best wishes, Karen Boushie Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations More 

Stillwater, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Had a January day for skiing in Vermont and upon recommendations decided to try Smugglers Notch. Good skiing with a variety of terrain. One thing I didn't like though was they only have non-detachable double lifts, so the lines got to about 25 minutes long. Could use one high speed or at least a slow quad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review

Hello - Glad you had a good day of skiing during your January visit. We appreciate that you followed up on recommendations to sample our terrain. Thanks for the review and hope to see you again. Karen Boushie Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations More 

Allentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We have visited Smuggs for the third year in a row and have a great time each and every time. There is so much to do for all ages from skiing and snowboarding to snow showing, tubing, fireworks... This year we were a little disappointed that skating was not open at all while we there even though it was cold,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review

Greetings from Smugglers' - We are glad that your family has such a great time on your stays; thank you for choosing Smugglers' as your destination. You mentioned disappointment that our rink was not available during your stay. Because the rink is outdoors it is subject to the weather. And as with ski terrain, recovery can involve hard work and... More 

New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The 2800'+ of vertical attracted me, as well as its proximity to Stowe. It's an older resort with double chair lifts and a T-bar. The skiing was OK but not exhilarating. The beginner slopes were fine to teach on, and the crowds were not bad but they seemed a bit cliquey. It's sort of Stowe-lite, trying to have a Village... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review

Hello from Smugglers' - From your comments, it appears the experience at Smugglers' was not what you were looking for in terms of terrain and activities. Thanks for giving us a try. Best wishes, Karen Boushie Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations More 

Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The three mountain peaks that make up Vermont's Smuggler's Notch Resort provide old fashioned New England Skiing at its best. It's such a treat to ski winding trails that take advantage of the natural terrain as opposed to wide open slopes that have been bulldozed into boring uniformity as is prevalent at so many US resorts today. The terrain is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review

Hello from Smugglers' - Thank you for your ode to our three mountains! We're very glad to hear that you and your family have found much to love over the years about our terrain. Your positive comments about your lodging and our ski school are also very much appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to share a review. Best wishes,... More 

WESTERN MASS.
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
77 attraction reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Today, 3/13/15, was an amazing day on the slopes. The weather was perfect, the views spectacular, and the lines within reason for the 7 hours we skied 22 runs here. The longest run was 3.6 miles, and the fastest was Snake Bite at 61 MPH. The grooming was done well, the food great, and the staff friendly. (I noticed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review

Hello - We're glad your amazing day inspired you to write a review! It's nice to hear about all the positives you encountered, and that you found our terrain fun and interesting. Although you mentioned we've been crossed off your bucket list, we hope you'll be back! Best wishes, Karen Boushie Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations More 

Bedford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Smugglers' Notch is recognized as a great place for families and with good reason...there is so much to do. I have been skiing here for 30+ years and I love it. It is not geared as a day-trip resort (especially on weekends). The double chairs are a throwback to simpler times, but during the week, you hardly ever wait. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review

Hello from Smugglers' - Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and share your perspective as a longtime guest. We hope to see you on a return visit soon! Karen Boushie Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations More 

Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

My wife and I and our 2 adult boys and our 2 teenage daughters have skied many times out west, New York State and northern Michigan. We recently stayed and skied for the first time in northern Vermont at Smuggler's Notch. We had a blast and I would highly recommend Smuggler's Notch as a skiing destination. Our accomodations were perfect,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review

Hello - Thank you for posting a review; we love to hear that families are already talking about a return after a recent visit! We're glad that the skiing, your lodging, and support from our staff were highlights, and that you found plenty to do once your ski day was over. We very much appreciate your recommendation of Smugglers' to... More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I heard good reviews of this place but sadly disappointed. The resort is split between a green run family area and an experienced upper mountain area where we spent two days of skiing. There are three lifts all of which are slow two seaters which caused long lines at peak times. Highly recommend you get there early when the lines... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review

Hello - Our mountain terrain is indeed split between Morse and Morse Highlands, with mostly beginner terrain served by three chairlifts, and upper mountains Madonna and Sterling, with their mix of intermediate and advanced terrain served by three chairlifts. Between marked trails and glades, we have quite a variety of terrain. It sounds as though you were looking for a... More 

Brewster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I have been visiting Smuggler's Notch Resort for the past 14 years. I especially like visiting in the summer months. The resort offers guided hiking trips of the trails in the area. The resort provides transportation to the trail head and expert guides who are familiar with the region. My family loves spending time at the pools and hiking the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review

Hello - Thank you for giving Trip Advisor travelers a little taste of summer at Smuggs! We're glad to hear you enjoy the guided hiking. Visitors who are avid hikers truly could hit a different trail each day through this program and not have to worry about driving to a trailhead. It's a great way to enjoy Vermont's beautiful scenery.... More 

Travelers who viewed Smugglers' Notch Resort also viewed

 

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Smugglers' Notch Resort and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Union Dale, Pennsylvania
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Smugglers' Notch Resort staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?