We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 33261 State Park Road 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number: 956-772-7873
Website
Today
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Fri 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Sat - Sun 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Activities: Swimming
Description: Surf manmade waves, move from ride to ride without ever leaving the water...
Surf manmade waves, move from ride to ride without ever leaving the water, blast uphill and down on thrilling water coasters or float peacefully on passive rides at this tropical water park along the beaches of South Padre Island. Over two dozens attractions for all ages, park has both outdoor and indoor attractions. Indoor attractions are open year-round in an heated, covered environment. Waterpark also has a beachfront resort hotel, multiple restaurants, 100' tall zipline ride and underwater Sea Trek attraction (open seasonally). Outside food and beverages are allowed (no glass or alcohol), free parking, free use of inner tubes and free use of life vests. Private cabanas with table side wait staff are also available for rental.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 303 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 116
    Excellent
  • 101
    Very good
  • 41
    Average
  • 26
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Great value and lots of fun.

This park is kept very clean. Great family attraction. Price is decent and plenty to do the whole day. Great thing is, you are allowed to bring in your own food and drinks... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 13, 2015
danmtzjr
,
McAllen, Texas
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Vista, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

This is the very first waterpark I have visited and I love it...more than our kids, I think. Oh man is it fun. My parents, in their 50's and 60's, loved it too. We are season pass holders and go all we can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words and glad you had fun...we have things to do for all ages and everyone is a kid at heart anyway....especially at Schlitterbahn! We appreciate your loyal patronage and being one of our dedicated season pass holders. See you around the park this season! Mike More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our time there. The food was good but prices for the food and park were higher then expected. Though it may be a fancy restaurant and an awesome Waterpark not everyone is middle to upper class and can afford those prices. It would be fun to do again But will have to adjust other activities if we want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words and yes, we do strive to provide quality food and reasonable prices (about 20% lower than most amusement parks!).....plus.....remember, you can save even more money with our family-friendly policies of free parking, free use of inner tubes and feel free to bring along your picnic! Yes, we even allow outside food and beverages (no glass... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

Bought a groupon which said indoor/ outdoor passes included, well outdoor park is closed. On my way to complain,

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and sorry that Group-On had a description that was not clear. We provide Group-On with verbiage and also ask guests to refer to our operating schedule (as well as providing our website address and phone numbers) to avoid any confusion. Our indoor, heated waterpark is open year round (weekends plus daily during select time frames) and... More 

Forest Lake, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Don't waste your time or money! Customer service is terrible! Cleanliness is discusting! NOTHING IS COMPLINENTARY! Not even a cup of coffee!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review

We apologize for your poor experience and certainly wish we could have addressed your concerns more directly while you were staying with us. We are frequently complimented on our attention to detail and cleanliness and it is disappointing to hear we did not live up to those standards for you and your Guests. Please feel to reach out to myself... More 

Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

When we left Houston, it was 55 degrees. When we got to Padre Island, it was 54 degrees. But Schlitterbaun Indoor WaterPark was nice and comfortable. Glad we weren't going to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review

So are you saying you brought the unseasonably cold weather with you? lol While many think of mid 50's this time of year a heat wave, we did experience a few week s of cold weather (to us, at least). Hope you had the chance to enjoy the heated indoor waterpark and will be back soon when it is more... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Bought this on the yearly Groupon offer from Jan-April. Make you reservations before buying because there are no refunds & the best times fill up fast. Also be aware of Texas week, mid March, unless your a college student, don't go! The park itself is small fully open & a joke with just the indoor open,; This is suppose to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your comments and we do listen and take to heart all of the constructive comments we receive. Schlitterbahn Beach is one of the acclaimed and awarded waterparks not only in Texas, but the country with it's outdoor features that include four uphill water coasters, the world's first transportainment river system that allows guests to float from ride... More 

League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

This park's indoor attractions are good but few in number - a not-so-lazy river, two slides, and a kids area. Save your money for a summer visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review

Thanks for the visit and we always appreciate hearing feedback from our Guests! While the indoor park is smaller, it is a great escape from the "real world" when the mood strikes and also includes a carousel, MegaBlast interactive play area, seaside saltwater pool and huge heated swim-up palapa bar in addition to the attractions you mentioned. It is also... More 

Humble, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The indoor park is limited and great for families with small children.. Their is a kiddie water area, a rapids river which has very strong currents and all little ones and weak swimmers should be required to wear a life jacket to enter and a large water slide.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words and very nice review of your visit. We also appreciate you pointing out that life vests are available for no charge to our Guests that are younger or less strong swimmers. Our lifeguards continually receive the highest ratings available through independent auditing companies but we always encourage parents to make sure their young ones enjoy....... More 

Ponca City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
25 attraction reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Thought that we would spend the weekend at the park but after 2 hours we decided that it was a waste of time. The outdoor pool was fun of 50 kids or more throwing multiple footballs every where.After being hit multiple times we had enough . There was only one lifeguard on duty at a time and they were all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review

Sorry you did not have a more enjoyable experience and appreciate you sharing your time with us. We do hope you will come give us another try in the future. We staff anywhere from 15-25 lifeguards in the indoor section alone with several dozen more on staff at the outdoor park when it is open in the summer. Safety is... More 

McAllen, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

This park is kept very clean. Great family attraction. Price is decent and plenty to do the whole day. Great thing is, you are allowed to bring in your own food and drinks (except alcohol), and plenty is available for purchase at reasonalble prices. Parking is FREE!!!!! Not as big as the original park in New Braunfels, but still great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review

Thanks for the review....yes, New Braunfels is the #1 waterpark in the USA (16 years in a row...and counting), but they do not have our beautiful beaches :o) Thanks for pointing our family friendly amenities......plus, our resort Guests (yes, we have a beachfront hotel!!) provides discounts of 40% to our waterpark visitors and also allows them exclusive ride time at... More 

Travelers who viewed Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Marshall, Texas

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?