We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phillip Island Chocolate Factory

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 930 Phillip Island Rd, Newhaven, Phillip Island, Victoria 3925, Australia
Phone Number: 03 5956 6600
Website
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
More Info
$200*
and up
2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and...
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 410 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 99
    Excellent
  • 105
    Very good
  • 76
    Average
  • 58
    Poor
  • 72
    Terrible
Fun but expensive

Found it very expensive for our large family group and would not visit again. We are big chocolate lovers and enjoyed the tour around and making the chocolate item but it was not... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 21, 2015
Niceaussie
,
Bendigo, Australia

Similar Things to Do in Newhaven

Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

Save your money!! $15 for a tour?? And 16.95 for a bag of chocolates? Don't get me wrong it's lovely chocolate but too expensive for a bag of chocolate. I would of gone on the tour and Brought several bags of chocolates for gifts if they were under $ 10. I took my 3 international visitors and went else were.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this review

It disappointing when we have a visitor who is unable to experience what we have offer. We have so many things to explore, play and learn from in our tour not to mention all of the wonderful chocolates you can win along the way. Pricing is always tricky but we try to keep our prices as low as possible, but... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We were looking forward to going to the choclate factory after seeing it on our way to our accomodation. We made the effort to go there the following day and wished that we hadn't. With 5 children it was going to cost our family $75 just to go on the chocolate tour. After already going to Amaze n Things (which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this review

I am sorry you were unable to go on our tour and experience all the things we have to offer. I can understand when visiting so many attractions how the costs can quickly escalate. I am however disappointed that your review states "Don't Bother" when in fact you didn't experience what we have to offer. It is expensive for a... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

As a frequent visitor to Phillip Island we stop off every time as we drive past. My friend is obsessed with their chocolate. The tour is fun and interactive, great for children. It was a little busy when we went as there is often bus loads of tourists that arrive at once.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this review

Wow thank you for being a regular visitor of our Chocolate Factory, I am so pleased that you enjoy what we have to offer and you can't help but to keep coming back. I look forward to seeing you again soon Thank you for your review More 

Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Found it very expensive for our large family group and would not visit again. We are big chocolate lovers and enjoyed the tour around and making the chocolate item but it was not value for money and would not recommend to people travelling on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory and for leaving us a review. Our whole factory is about Family and having fun together, we have something for everyone on all age levels. I am glad that you all enjoyed your experience with us and can assure you our prices are on par with other similar establishments. Thank... More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Terrible. Games weren't working, trains weren't working, chocolate fountain wasn't working and chocolate swirl wasn't working. Asked for a refund got told they don't refund but would we like to go through again. I don't think so. Save ur money and don't go

Was this review helpful? Yes
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a disappointing time at our chocolate factory. Unfortunately some of our exhibits were not working when you visited us recently, and although we carry out maintenance to our exhibits at scheduled intervals on the odd occasion an item may be out of order. I apologise for this inconvenience, and the disappointment that you have... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

This was a great place. Lots of information fun games and free chocolate! From start to finish there is things for idle hands to play with and free chocolate at the start middle and the end. Dame Edna's collage was great and the fair games even better As you win chocolate. The lunch cafe was good also hot and fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us at the Chocolate Factory. You all had an amazing time enjoying everything we have to offer, with all of our exhibits and games, things to see and do. It is always fantastic read a review where everyone enjoyed themselves and took the time to take everything in that we have at the Chocolate Factory. We... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

I confess - I LOVE chocolate, so it was essential to go for a visit. We enjoyed the tour, complete with games, displays, chocolate waterfall and making you own twirly chocolate. As it was lunch time we decided to follow it up with a curry lunch and that was a highlight. Curries to suit from mild to hot and teamed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this review

I LOVE Cocolate too!! It is fantastic to read that you all enjoyed yourselves exploring Panny's Amazing World of Chocolate and everything it has to offer. With all of the amazing exhibits and games, there is something for everyone. Our cafe has a large variety to choose from but the Curries are hard to go past. I am very please... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

The short self tour bit expensive, stuff bit old, few fun games but the not worth paying. The shop and cafe are free to visit, but the prices also above average too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and leaving a review. I am glad that you enjoyed our games interactive exhibits creating your own chocolate masterpieces and much much more. Prices are tricky we have to make enough money to run all of our wonderful displays and exhibits, maintenance staff, and more. We are constantly monitoring our costs, and market to ensure... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Oh dear I was going to take the kids on Thursday but the bad reviews have put me off 😱 it sounds over priced and low on chocolate I think we'll go to anything else but this

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this review

We appreciate everyones opinions and reviews, we use the constructive and informative information to train staff and improve our services. Please consider that if you haven't experience our Chocolate factory perhaps leaving a neutral response and an average rating would be fairer and appreciated. Reviews are great they help you make a decision based on other people experiences as you... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Yes, tour is a tad expensive, but actually pretty good value for what you get. Plenty of opportunities for samples as you go and the displays/rooms have been put together with thought and care. Carnival games, sniff test and penguin selectors were favourites, but there were lots of other great activities and not too much waiting despite the big crowd.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us at the Chocolate Factory. Great to see that you all enjoyed yourselves playing our interactive games and wining lots of chocolates! We aim to have something for everyone of all ages, and it would seem that you had a great time exploring everything we have to offer. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Phillip Island Chocolate Factory also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Summerlands, Phillip Island
 
Phillip Island, Victoria
 

Been to Phillip Island Chocolate Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillip Island Chocolate Factory

Address: 930 Phillip Island Rd, Newhaven, Phillip Island, Victoria 3925, Australia
Phone Number: 03 5956 6600
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Phillip Island  >  Newhaven
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Phillip Island Chocolate Factory staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?