We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Fonmon, Barry CF62 3ZN, Wales
Phone Number: 01446 710206
Website
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 34 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 21
    Excellent
  • 6
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Christmas afternoon tea with friends

Went to the castle for afternoon tea . Walked in and we were given mulled wine! The atmosphere Was wonderful . Barry ladies choir were singing . We were shown upto the... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed December 15, 2015
GEOFF24
,
WALES UK
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
WALES UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Went to the castle for afternoon tea . Walked in and we were given mulled wine! The atmosphere Was wonderful . Barry ladies choir were singing . We were shown upto the function room upstairs where there was a log fire laid the whole experience was wonderful the staff were lovely and could not do enough for us It would... More 

Helpful?
Thank GEOFF24
Rhoose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

Very disappointed. After looking forward to afternoon christmas tea for months, upon arrival we were actually made to wait outside in the cold as the choir (who were very good) took up most of the room inside, there were elderly people sat waiting on the stairs as we were left to stand for quite a while. We were sent upstairs... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam G
AlikiCurrimjee, Owner at Fonmon Castle, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to give your feedback on Christmas Afternoon Tea at Fonmon Castle. I'm very sorry that you were disappointed & we do take your feedback seriously. If you can get in touch with me at the castle directly, we can discuss further the points you have raised & hopefully rectify these issues. Kind Regards, Casey Govier... More 

Caerphilly
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

This evening I visited this venue to meet up with some friends before Christmas. We were met with a choice of warm mulled wine or a non- alcoholic drink.Good choice as most of us drove there. The hallway had an extremely tall Christmas tree, beautifully decorated. Staff were friendly and kept returning to see if we wanted anything, ( our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine658
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

Great setting , lovely food , good atmosphere . Mulled wine on arrival and choir singing . Followed by food in library , tea and coffee , selection of sandwiches , quiches , scones , mince pies and cakes . Highly recommend . Lovely lady hosting it very friendly . Great idea for taking parents and grandparents .

Helpful?
Thank Sarahbarlow40
Penarth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Carol singers and mulled wine on arrival. Superb Christmas cream tea. Excellent service. Make time for a Fonmon tea.Lesley

Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

Went to a wedding here and what a disappointment. The manager argued with the guests and was generally not a nice warm person. The castle was freezing, no heating on, most guests didn't take coates off the whole day. My friend was driving so drank tap water as no bottle water available, when he asked for his third glass of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

This is a lovely building with a long history. The grounds and gardens are also well worth seeing. It was a great venue for a wedding.

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

We pre-booked a buffet lunch and tour of the castle, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. But not worth £6 as we only saw five rooms including the entrance hall. The lunch can only be described as dire. A vegetable lasagne made with inch thick slices of courgettes and olives with a sauce that was split and looked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
Moray
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

Recently attending my nieces wedding at this venue. It was just perfect. The setting is absolutely beautiful and it helped that the sun shone for us all day. The service was excellent and the wedding meal was totally delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank DottysueMoray
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 via mobile

My friends wedding was beautiful BUT .This place is resting on its laurels plastic garden furniture is NOT acceptable no lighting in grounds no where comfy to sit during evening reception there were about 20 chairs for 70 guests and as for the food whilst is was nice it was most definitely not worth what my friends paid . the... More 

Helpful?
Thank crazeegee
AlikiCurrimjee, Owner at Fonmon Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at Fonmon Castle. We are looking into the lighting situation in the garden in response to your comments. We would be interested in hearing from you further regarding the catering, as we are not certain which event you attended and have only received positive comments in general. If you would like to... More 

Travelers who viewed Fonmon Castle also viewed

Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Fonmon Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fonmon Castle and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fonmon Castle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?