We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rosslyn Chapel

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Chapel Loan | Rosslyn Chapel, Roslin, Roslin EH25 9PU, Scotland
Phone Number: 44-131-440-2159
Website
Today
9:30 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:45 pm
Mon - Sat 9:30 am - 5:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Fee: Yes
Description: Rosslyn Chapel, dating back to 1446, is just seven miles from Edinburgh...
Rosslyn Chapel, dating back to 1446, is just seven miles from Edinburgh city centre and is open to visitors all year. The Chapel's setting and the mysterious symbolism of its ornate stonework have attracted and intrigued visitors for generations. A starring role in The Da Vinci Code propelled it into the international spotlight. There are countless theories, myths and legends associated with the Chapel and our tour guides will be able to tell you more about these, and the building's history, when you visit. Please note that photography inside the Chapel is not allowed but there are no restrictions on outside photography. New visitor centre with touch-screen technology, letting you see the carvings close up; gift shop and good coffee shop. Full details of how to get here and what to see and do is on our website.
read more
Visit Rosslyn Chapel like an insider
Small Group
$47*
and up
Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from...

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,043 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 660
    Excellent
  • 256
    Very good
  • 72
    Average
  • 28
    Poor
  • 27
    Terrible
Beautiful place to visit

We planned to visit for quite some time as often passed the sign on route to edinburgh. I have to agree that £9 is expensive and dont think people should be charged this just to... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 29, 2015
Pam190777
,
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

1,043 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW

We planned to visit for quite some time as often passed the sign on route to edinburgh. I have to agree that £9 is expensive and dont think people should be charged this just to visit the cafe as im sure many locals do. I understand that the chapel itself needs money to be maintained so do agree that an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW

Very special place with even the friendly black cat William in the chapel.Excellent informative staff talk which complemented the use of headset. Will read up on this site when I return home as it has caught my interest now. Free car park next to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

here is a place steeped in mystical history, this chapel goes back to the days of king Richard. inside is amazing , the guided tours of this place takes on a journey you think is amazing services like mass and other services are still performed here .there is a cat that wondered into the chapel a long time ago and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 attraction reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

We visited here recently and were really pleasantly surprised by the visitor centre quality of coffee and food and shop and then we went through into the chapel when the guide was starting her talk. She was really good her knowledge amazing she brought the place and history to life. Well worth a visit if you are in the are

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

The absolute highlight of our recent vacation - well worth the long car journey! Slightly sloping car parking is reasonably close to the visitor ctr entrance & wheelchair access is very good indeed. We were really taken aback by the intricacy of the chapel carvings, both inside & out, as documentaries/movies simply don't do it justice at all. The talk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 attraction reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

I found this to be one of the THE best 'churches' I have ever visited! Of course, know it from the 'Da Vinci Code', but seeing and being there, in real life, was quite an experience! There was a tour guide who gave a talk, which was very interesting, outlining the history etc. The architecture, masonic connection and everything else,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW via mobile

Roslyn chapel is not far from Edinbourgh, easily accessible by local bus, and really deserves to be visited. Truly enjoyed Informative guided tour inside this small chapel. And nice and friendly cat William living near this place is so cute.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Asking people to pay £9 (£7 concessions) for going inside a small old church is nothing short of a ripoff, in my opinion. The good news is the tickets are not checked when you go inside the actual church -you only need them to access the (completely separate) visitors centre next door housing a shop, cafe and toilets. All purchases... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian G, Director at Rosslyn Chapel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We make it very clear on our website, and on arrival, that there is an admission charge and it is a pity that you were not aware of that. Rosslyn Chapel Trust, which looks after the building, is a registered charity - rather... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

To get to the chapel, we took a bus from the city centre which was quite easy to do. When we got dropped off, it was a short walk to Rosslyn Chapel, we paid the admin fee (the staff was lovely and friendly) and walked around the grounds and the chapel. It is gorgeous inside. We listened to the tour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Great little chapel with lots of history, great tour guide with lots of history and interesting facts. I think the £9 charge is a little high and people pay it due to the Chapel featuring in the film Dan Browns 'Da Vinci Code' But all in all we wasn't disappointed once we explored the chapel was nice to take time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Rosslyn Chapel also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Rosslyn Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rosslyn Chapel and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Hobbs, New Mexico
Hobbs, New Mexico

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rosslyn Chapel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?