We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rosslyn Chapel

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Chapel Loan | Rosslyn Chapel, Roslin, Roslin EH25 9PU, Scotland
Phone Number: 44-131-440-2159
Website
Today
9:30 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:45 pm
Mon - Sat 9:30 am - 5:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Fee: Yes
Description: Rosslyn Chapel, dating back to 1446, is just seven miles from Edinburgh...
Rosslyn Chapel, dating back to 1446, is just seven miles from Edinburgh city centre and is open to visitors all year. The Chapel's setting and the mysterious symbolism of its ornate stonework have attracted and intrigued visitors for generations. A starring role in The Da Vinci Code propelled it into the international spotlight. There are countless theories, myths and legends associated with the Chapel and our tour guides will be able to tell you more about these, and the building's history, when you visit. Please note that photography inside the Chapel is not allowed but there are no restrictions on outside photography. New visitor centre with touch-screen technology, letting you see the carvings close up; gift shop and good coffee shop. Full details of how to get here and what to see and do is on our website.
read more
Visit Rosslyn Chapel like an insider
Small Group
$48*
and up
Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from...

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,119 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 714
    Excellent
  • 270
    Very good
  • 75
    Average
  • 29
    Poor
  • 31
    Terrible
beautiful chapel

The chapel is great to visit - it's smaller than I thought but is crammed full of carvings - from the lion waterspouts to the flowers and "green men" inside. You cannot take... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 27, 2015
Mary R
,
Cork, Ireland
Add Photo Write a Review

1,119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

The chapel is great to visit - it's smaller than I thought but is crammed full of carvings - from the lion waterspouts to the flowers and "green men" inside. You cannot take photographs/videos inside - which was a shame but all part of the preservation I guess. Full of information and guides explaining the history and stories behind it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

This is a must see magical place to visit. Overlooking a plain this medieval chapel is famous for it fantastic Prentice piller Carved in stone.the story goes that the master mason went away and left his apprentice to carve it .on returning and seeing the wonderful spiral work he killed the young man out of jealousy! The stone barrel ceiling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tampa,Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Photos do not do the chapel justice!! This chapel is small and so packed with amazing carvings that it is hard to take it all in. Being a photographer it was agonizing not being able to take photos inside but, you have to understand that if they allowed photos inside no one would be able to move around to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

The main reason that I visited this location is that i have wanted to do so since I read the Da Vinci code. While the chapel is quite unique with all of the carvings, I believed that there was something mysterious about the chapel, but it was only when I visited, that I realised that there is nothing mysterious. Please... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staffordshire Uk
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

You do not have to be an avid history and ancient building lover to enjoy Rosslyn. The chapel has a brilliantly mysterious history, displayed and conveyed using the very best techniques. Set in a lovely location it engages every age group and all interests. Excellent visitor centre explaining everything in an interesting format. Make sure you sit in on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

Nine pound admission, ripoff. Want to use the toilet, its inside, same with cafe. I asked the gent taking money if photography was allowed, and was told NO. The chapel is tiny and looks very nice from the back. I can't find the price of admission their website. Looks like they don't want to frighten off visitors by advertising the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian G, Director at Rosslyn Chapel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. The cost for a family of 2 adults and 2 children would actually be £18 and not £34. We do have information about admission prices on our website (under the 'visiting' tab there is a page on admissions) and we publish prices on our promotional leaflet as well. We also state on the website and leaflet... More 

Omemee, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
75 attraction reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

I am not a religious person at all, but there are so many different conspiracies and stories surrounding this religious site, so this made me want to visit it. We arrived on the morning of the eclipse as it was happening right over the chapel. It was absolutely amazing. The price to visit Rosslyn is pricey, but it does help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dollar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Fantastic place, it is so interesting all you can see and learn here. It is worth more than one visit. There is also a very nice souvenir shop and a wee cafeteria with great home baking and sandwiches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Rosslyn is a magic building, you can spend hours watching its intrincated interior decoration and still be surprised by new things you'll discover! There's even traces of its mason constructors. Unfortunately it suffered a bad restoration so its real splendor is hidden behind a coat of a cementitious slurry. Sadly you can't take pics inside

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We had a rainy day in Edinburgh and our hosts suggested this place. It was amazing, the architecture was incredible , made us very humble considering it had been time for so many years. The castle behind it was also worth the walk,

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Rosslyn Chapel also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Rosslyn Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rosslyn Chapel and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Hobbs, New Mexico
Hobbs, New Mexico

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rosslyn Chapel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?