We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mitchell Prehistoric Indian Village

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 3200 Indian Village Road, Mitchell, SD 57301
Phone Number: 605-996-5473
Website
Today
8:00 am - 7:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Mon - Sat 8:00 am - 7:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 76 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 42
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Great information even for young kids

We went with kids ages 10-6 and they really enjoyed it. Nice stop on our long road trip. The people working there were great with the kids. They were able to give us information... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 30, 2015
Maschall
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 NEW

We went with kids ages 10-6 and they really enjoyed it. Nice stop on our long road trip. The people working there were great with the kids. They were able to give us information that kept the kids interested. They even let the kids throw Indian spears.

Was this review helpful? Yes
msp
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 NEW

If you are in Mitchell, this is a fine place to stop. I would recommend it to anyone who is in town and needs something to do. I wouldn't travel to Mitchell just for this though. We were traveling through town on our way to Montana. We were glad we stopped. The kids loved it and it was quite educational.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stanley, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

I learned so much about the ancient Indians and their way of life. The guided tour was very informative and well worth the time and money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janesville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Very nice presentation overall of the prehistoric Native Americans of the area. Tour of the actual dig sight was truly interesting. No one was actively digging at the time, but the site and explanation of what the archeologists do was worth the trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Loved it. Very informative and nice to look thru. Great guides and easy to find. Great for all ages!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mission, South Dakota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

It did cost $6 a person.It is worth it.They have a place even where kids can dig.They have things I have never seen in another museum anywhere.They even have the dig sights for you to see & learn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

We had a great time with our 4 young children. We viewed the archeological dig site, museum, movie, and the kids dug for arrow heads. They were so excited they got to take them home. Perfect stop along our trip. And we got a free adult ticket from ad at cabelas. Kids under 6 free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

This place looks like it has been abandoned as we tried to visit there and there was no indication it was closed until we got to the location. Don't even think about going there and you will be highly disappointed especially if it is closed like it was for us

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cynthia G, General Manager at Mitchell Prehistoric Indian Village, responded to this review

We are closed for the season due to an expansion and remodel project here at the Mitchell Prehistoric Indian Village. We are so sorry you were not able to tour the Village. Our website and FaceBook page advises visitors to call first from November 1st to March 31st as we cannot be here every day in the winter months. We... More 

Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

The visit includes a guided tour. The tour is wonderful – the guide was very knowledgeable and was willing to answer all our questions. We went with two elementary aged children who also got a lot out of the experience. It's definitely worth the cost of admission.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

What I thought was interesting about this place is that the people who lived here were in contact with Cahokia. The guides were very helpful, and it's neat to see an archaeological dig in progress. It's fairly close to the Corn Palace, so if you're stopping at one, might as well check out the other.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Mitchell Prehistoric Indian Village also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell Prehistoric Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mitchell Prehistoric Indian Village staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?