We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Off The Hook Fishing Charters

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 86 Point Comfort Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number: +1 843-298-4376
Website
Improve this listing
Today
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description: Come fish the beautiful inshore waters of the Lowcountry with Captain...
Come fish the beautiful inshore waters of the Lowcountry with Captain Brian Vaughn and Byron Sewell both natives of Hilton Head Island with over 25 years experience guiding inshore, offshore, light tackle and fly fishing charters. You will be fishing on a brand new 2014 Egret flats boat or 22ft. Pathfinder bay that can accommodate up to 4 passengers. These boats are equipped with only the finest fly, spin and conventional fishing tackle. Sight fish for redfish year round on the beautiful flats and estuaries of Hilton Head & Beaufort. Target other species including tarpon, cobia, sharks, spanish mackerel, speckled trout and many more on a seasonal basis. During your charter view dolphins and many other species of wildlife. Whether you're a beginner or an expert let us take you fishing and share our wealth of knowledge acquired from an entire life on and around Hilton Head Islands waters. We are very dedicated to making every trip a safe, productive and a memorable experience for our clients. Fish with OFF THE HOOK FISHING CHARTERS and experience one of the best inshore, light tackle & fly fishing guide services in South Carolina!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 419 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 398
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Fishing Extravaganza

Went out with my 11 year old son and captain Brian on 8/12/15. A short ride to the southern tip of HHI put us right on a great spot. We caught seven sharks with in the first hour... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 18, 2015
Ray8743
,
Cincinnati, Ohio
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Went out with my 11 year old son and captain Brian on 8/12/15. A short ride to the southern tip of HHI put us right on a great spot. We caught seven sharks with in the first hour or so and my son insisted on naming each one. We moved to a second area about 2 miles off the south... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OffTheHookCharters, Owner at Off The Hook Fishing Charters, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to fish with you and your son and what a great trip we had. I can't wait to get you out again on your next visit to Hilton Head with your younger son as well. Thanks again! Captain Brian More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

Banging trip. Lemon sharks, Black tip and Hammer head. Byron was awesome and even went out of his way to get me a tee time at a beautiful golf course the next day. Loved it. Look no further!

Was this review helpful? Yes
OffTheHookCharters, Owner at Off The Hook Fishing Charters, responded to this review

Thanks for you business and review we look forward to getting you again next time you are visiting Hilton Head. Thanks Captain Brian More 

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

We had scheduled a fishing trip over a week in advance with this company and they cancelled at the last minute and could not reschedule. It was very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OffTheHookCharters, Owner at Off The Hook Fishing Charters, responded to this review

The reason why Captain Byron canceled your trip was due to bad weather and poor fishing conditions yesterday which is a very valid reason to cancel a trip last minute. I am very surprised you would not write that specific detail of why he canceled your trip in your review in the first place. It also would have been nice... More 

Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Most definitely the highlight of our first family vacation to HHI, Captain Byron took my husband, 2 teenagers, and me out on his boat for an amazing afternoon of fishing yesterday! Captain Byron is a fun, friendly, and helpful captain who is extremely knowledgable and passionate about fishing these waters- and he worked non-stop for the 3 hours we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OffTheHookCharters, Owner at Off The Hook Fishing Charters, responded to this review

What a awesome action packed trip you guys had! I appreciate your business and we look forward to fishing with you again next time! Thanks Captain Brian More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

Went out with Captain Brian. Brian is born and raised on HHI. He knows the Dolphins and can track fish. My family and I were treated to a great fishing experience. Nothing for the dinner table but got to wrestle sharks all morning. My son age 12 had a blast! When on the island and looking for a charter give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OffTheHookCharters, Owner at Off The Hook Fishing Charters, responded to this review

Great to meet and fish with your family. It was a sharky morning for sure but they are always a blast to catch. Thanks for your business and I hope to see you all next year! Thanks! Captain Brian More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Three of us went on an afternoon fishing trip. Captain Byron searched to find us fish. We had a great time and caught some sharks. We will probably use him again when visiting HHI.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OffTheHookCharters, Owner at Off The Hook Fishing Charters, responded to this review

Thanks for your business and we look forward to getting you out again on your next visit to HHI. Captain Brian More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Captain Brian was great! We were debating......short we stay or should wr g o? go ? Bryan made it worth while I wish i could say m more than he is the best

Was this review helpful? Yes
OffTheHookCharters, Owner at Off The Hook Fishing Charters, responded to this review

I am glad we decided to go as the weather and tides really were not that favorable on our trip but it turned out to be a epic day catching all those big jacks! Look forward to getting you out again next time. Thanks! Captain Brian More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

Terrible terrible experience. They don't let you bait or cast. On a 4 hour trip there were 4 bites and two of us NEVER even touched a pole the entire 4 hours. The boat broke down and we had to be hauled in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OffTheHookCharters, Owner at Off The Hook Fishing Charters, responded to this review

I apologize that Captain Byron's boat broke down which is a total first for me to have happen in all my years in business with my boats. I came to pick you up and tow you and your sons in and you personally rode back with me on my boat. I didn't even CHARGE you for the time that you... More 

Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

My son, Andy, and I have fished with Brian Vaughn since Andy was 7 (Andy turned 15 this year on the day of our trip). Every one of our trips has been excellent and different - Red Fish, Spanish Mackerel, and this year, Jack Crevalle. And this year, Brian V. was out of town, so he hooked us up with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OffTheHookCharters, Owner at Off The Hook Fishing Charters, responded to this review

What a Birthday fish you guys got! Sorry I couldn't get you out personally this year but am glad it went great with Captain Byron as he is a incredible fisherman and has been doing a great job working for me. I look forward to fishing with you again next time you are on Hilton Head. Thanks again! Captain Brian More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

There is only one word to describe our tip "EPIC!!!!" Captain Brian Vaughn with Off the Hook Charters is your 1 stop shop for fishing on HHI. I have been with him multiple times on our yearly family vacations and this year I took my 2 teenage daughters and a friend for a morning trip. We started the day at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OffTheHookCharters, Owner at Off The Hook Fishing Charters, responded to this review

Once again it was awesome fishing with you guys and what a great trip we had! Thanks so much for your review and posting all of the pictures. I can't wait to get you again next year! Thanks! Captain Brian More 

Travelers who viewed Off The Hook Fishing Charters also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Off The Hook Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Off The Hook Fishing Charters and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Richfield, Ohio
6 months ago
Richfield, Ohio
6 months ago
Richfield, Ohio
6 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Off The Hook Fishing Charters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?