We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 18 Anson Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number: +1 843-722-8687
Website
Today
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Description: Bulldog Tours is Charleston's premier walking tour company featuring ghost...
Bulldog Tours is Charleston's premier walking tour company featuring ghost tours, history tours, and culinary tours.
read more
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 835 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 382
    Excellent
  • 166
    Very good
  • 114
    Average
  • 82
    Poor
  • 91
    Terrible
Interesting talk, good walk

Did the Ghost And Dungeon Tour with family. Even though I have been visiting Charleston annually for probably 15 years this was the first ghost tour I have done. It was also the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 2, 2015
CamAndPhoebsDad
Add Photo Write a Review

835 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 NEW

Did the Ghost And Dungeon Tour with family. Even though I have been visiting Charleston annually for probably 15 years this was the first ghost tour I have done. It was also the first one my family who live nearby had done. Paulette was our guide and she was fairly knowledgeable about both the city and its ghastly denizens. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

My 11 year old daughter and I recently did the Ghost and Dungeon tour with Stephen. We had a great time, she had read a few books on Charleston ghosts ahead of time and was very interested in the stories told. We both enjoyed it very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

This was an interesting tour, but not what I consider a 'ghost' tour. We visited an old jail, and the guide was full of info regarding those who were 'residents', and other historical nuggets. Bring water since it gets very hot inside. They also sell water if you forget to bring any. Best part was having the assistant get us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BulldogToursChas, Public Relations Manager at Bulldog Tours, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear that you thought the tour was interesting, but I am sorry to hear that it wasn't what you were expecting when it came to it being a ghost tour. Yes, the jail does get hot. We do encourage water in there. I'm glad you liked Scoop. I have not personally used it, but have heard good... More 

Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

We went on the Dungeon and cemetery tour while visiting Charleston late one evening and were rather disappointed. Having been on Ghost/Cemetery tours in St. Augustine, Tampa, New Orleans and a few other cities, this one was more of history tour than actual ghost/spooky tour. Our tour guide was a more elderly gentleman, and he was nice, but just expected... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BulldogToursChas, Public Relations Manager at Bulldog Tours, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't like the Ghost and Dungeon Tour. It sounds like you are well-versed when it comes to ghost tours and I'm sorry to hear that you enjoy the tour with us. Some of our tour guides do tend to lean a little more on the historical side of the ghost tour. Do you know... More 

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 NEW

We had tickets for the Jail tour...the guide was awesome, but the tour itself was very short and disappointing. The buidling although warned, was very hot and smelled damp and moldy. Not m favorite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BulldogToursChas, Public Relations Manager at Bulldog Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your tour guide. I am sorry though to hear that you felt the tour was disappointing and short. Yes, the building is hot in the summer and cold in the winter. There isn't central heat and air conditioning in there so the hallways, where the tours take place, are very much... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 NEW

My family and I took the Dark Side of Charleston Tour last weekend when we were in town for my daughter's wedding. We had hoped to learn more about the 'darker' side of Charleston's history. Having been given plenty of warning regarding the 'adult' content of the tour, we felt prepared to learn more. Unfortunately our tour guide, Lindsay, reveled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BulldogToursChas, Public Relations Manager at Bulldog Tours, responded to this review

Oh no! I am so sorry to hear about your experience. Lindsay is a great tour guide so I am surprised to hear that she offended you like this, but we have addressed it with her. We are very sorry. We would be happy to refund your money and give you comp passes for another tour because of the experience... More 

Galesburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 NEW via mobile

This was money wasted. We just stood around in front of one church and listened to stories, then stood around in a very UNspooky graveyard and listened to more stories. Not bad stories, but not spooky. The lady would have been a good storyteller if she hadn't taken 20 minutes to tell a five-minute story. It became very tedious. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BulldogToursChas, Public Relations Manager at Bulldog Tours, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the Ghost and Graveyard Tour. It is a part of our tour to stand in front of the graveyard and listen to stories. I am sorry if you were expecting it to be spooky, like a haunted house experience. We tell stories, but do not have anyone jumping out and... More 

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 NEW

Charleston local here, but first time on the tour. I give tours of Charleston for athletics reasons, and I learned quite a bit on this tour! Paulette kept the tour fun with her great knowledge and very interesting stories. Would have liked to see a few more locations, but overall I thoroughly enjoyed my experience, even learned some stories to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
24 attraction reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

We were with our 3 year old so we couldn't enjoy the Charleston nightlife (bars), but we did take the tour of the jailhouse which was a fun little excursion. We ended up getting to the location ahead of the group (since we were coming from dinner nearby) and waited in the parking lot. It was a great history lesson... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Ok went on the tour at 10 p.m. hoping for at least a little scare, turned out to be nothing more than a history of the building tour. The tour guide had a good knowledge of the history, but the building is not in original condition, it's crowded with student work in storage from the college, very much a "lame... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Bulldog Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bulldog Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulldog Tours

Address: Address: 18 Anson Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number: +1 843-722-8687
Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Charleston
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bulldog Tours and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Charlotte, North Carolina

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bulldog Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?