We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 18 Anson Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number: +1 843-722-8687
Website
Today
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Description: Bulldog Tours is Charleston's premier walking tour company featuring ghost...
Bulldog Tours is Charleston's premier walking tour company featuring ghost tours, history tours, and culinary tours.
read more
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 802 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 367
    Excellent
  • 159
    Very good
  • 112
    Average
  • 77
    Poor
  • 87
    Terrible
Excellent Walking Tour!

We had a great tour with Mary (Danny) last week. She was very personable & really knew the old city. She was also very helpful in suggesting restaurants to visit to some of the... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 23, 2015
Lally J
,
New Canaan, Connecticut
Add Photo Write a Review

802 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 NEW

We had a great tour with Mary (Danny) last week. She was very personable & really knew the old city. She was also very helpful in suggesting restaurants to visit to some of the people in our group. Noise was a little bit of an issue-garbage & recycle trucks (I guess Mondays are pick-up day!), leaf blowers & airplanes, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 NEW

Savor the Flavors of Downtown Charleston is a wonderful tour. Our guide was both knowledgeable about Charleston, cooking, and the foods we were sampling. And we sampled a lot of food. Don’t let anyone tell you this tour won’t substitute for lunch. There is plenty of food served, from delicious grits to hush puppies with praline butter to candy samples.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW via mobile

Can't remember our guide's name, but he was the younger, retired police officer, & he was phenomenal!! Definitely got us to jump pretty high in the last room that was completely dark. Not only was he exceptionally knowledgeable, but there was a genuine passion and respect for what had happened there. *Goosebumps* Two thumbs up, would recommend for any one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

A friend and I were looking for a late night ghost tour with a more mature spin on the historic tales of the city. I was very disappointed. Halfway through the tour we realized that this was NOT on a ghost tour at all, but rather on a tour highlighting the best know brothels of old Charleston. Our guide was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BulldogToursChas, Public Relations Manager at Bulldog Tours, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you went on the Dark Side of Charleston thinking that it was a ghost tour. We clearly state that the Dark Side of Charleston tour is a rated "R" history tour in all our literature about the tour and we explain that to people when they ask for descriptions. It sounds like the tour delivered... More 

Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Excellent and very knowledgeable tour guide. The history of charleston and its history of food was a great combination. Learned a lot even though I have been to Charleston many times. Mary was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Don't waste your money. I felt rushed like a herd of cattle for slaughter.Our guide was terrible, boring and not even funny. Disappointed to the fact that I wish I asked for my money back. I have been on many ghost tours and by far this was the worst.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BulldogToursChas, Public Relations Manager at Bulldog Tours, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that you had such a bad time on our ghost tour. Who was your tour guide? Which tour did you do? I would love to have some more information so that I could address the problem. We do wish that you would have either came back to get a refund or called. We do... More 

Harrisburg, North Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 attraction reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Just like city center lodging, it is not cheap. However, having said that, you must take the tours to understand, especially if it is first or one time visit. for me it was both. this tour company offers many different tours and times. Very / most convenient in city. guides are excellent. guides are very well versed on subjectS. they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dearborn, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I was disappointed, not by the content but because I was expecting to be thrilled and chilled. The Title of the tour "Ghosts and Graveyards" gave me an entirely different impression than what the tour actually included. Even as the tour began, the guide indicated that those of us that didn't believe in ghosts likely would by the end of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BulldogToursChas, Public Relations Manager at Bulldog Tours, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that you were expecting the tour to be like a haunted house experience. We do not sell the tour as being something that will "scare" people. It is actually history stories with some ghost stories mixed in. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour guide. We do take pride in having some... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

Our family took the Ghost and Dungeon tour. It. Was. Fantastic. This was, by far, the best tour I have ever been on. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The stops on the tour were all interesting and the tour guide provided is with some creepy visual aids to heighten the suspense. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Our group of 6, ranged from ages 13-52, had a great time. Out your guide, Dennis, kept our attention and kept a fast pace. We really enjoyed our tour and will have wonderful, fun memories from our time in Charleston.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Bulldog Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bulldog Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bulldog Tours and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Charlotte, North Carolina

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bulldog Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?