We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charleston's Best Tours, LLC

Neighborhood: French Quarter
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: The Griffon, 18 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number: (843) 819-4565
Website
Description: This business has been in operation since 1999, and offers nightly ghost...
This business has been in operation since 1999, and offers nightly ghost tours in the historic district of Charleston, SC.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 31 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 15
    Excellent
  • 6
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Spooky and Informative Ghost Tour

This is a great tour for those interested in the dark history of Charleston! It's important to note that this is a historical tour with local legend sprinkled in, rather than a... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 26, 2014
Faith5008
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I have been on many city ghost tours throughout the south including this one several years ago. I was so excited to go with my husband on this tour since he had never been on one. Unfortunately, we ended up with a terrible guiide- none of the great guides they advertised in their brochure... It turned into a very long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dalekallven, General Manager at Charleston's Best Tours, LLC, responded to this review

As one of the oldest walking tour companies in Charleston, our guides average 15+ years of experience each, and the reason we include the tour guide bios on the brochure is to demonstrate the breadth and depth of knowledge our company offers. We have received lots of feedback on our guides, but this is the first time one was described... More 

Moncks Corner, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have always talked about taking the walking ghost tour while in Charleston but could never quite convince ourselves that it would be of much interest. We were so wrong. Mike gave us more history of the city and documented events that occurred centuries ago in such an interesting way that some of that information will be with us forever.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a great tour for those interested in the dark history of Charleston! It's important to note that this is a historical tour with local legend sprinkled in, rather than a ghost hunting tour. I really enjoyed this tour: it was just the right balance of spooky and informative. Roy, the tour guide, made us feel like we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

we had a great time on the ghost tour in Charleston. We learn lots of good history about the city and the people in it. Our guide mike was very knowledgeable and professional and we really enjoyed ourselves on the tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We moved to the Charleston area a year ago and had explored the area a lot on our own and thought we knew a bit of the area history already, but we decided to go on a ghost tour just to see what it was like. We were glad we did! Our tour guide Roy walked us around areas we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I am a local in this town, I grew up in the Charleston area, but I didn't really pay too much attention to the history of this town, up until recently. I decided to take the Ghost tour with my daughter on Friday night for some family fun. Our guide,Roy was really informative, & I learned stuff I didn't even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went on this ghost tour with two friends. There were only 3 of us in the group- we went on a Monday night so there weren't a lot of people around. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about Charleston. The biggest drawback, as previous reviewers have mentioned, is that we didn't actually go to a lot of places. Most of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pasco, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Will, our guide did a great job in keeping us informed about Charleston, the tours, even gave some restaurant options. Very nice guy and had a good time on the tours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Of all the tours I took on a recent trip -- five in total -- this one was my favorite. We did a ghost tour with Jon and he was so great with his approach to telling stories, it didn't feel hokey at all. It was just me and my girlfriend on the tour because we visited in the low... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The guide was wonderful and the tour interesting and historical. However, I haven't experience such poor customer service in a very long time. The person answering phones was rude, aggressive and I felt like I was talking to a teenager - completely unprofessional and not acceptable. It is unfortunate because the guide and tour were so great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
dalekallven, General Manager at Charleston's Best Tours, LLC, responded to this review

Thank you for your input- i would like address the nature of the phone call you referenced: Your group of 4 was asked to arrive at 9:45pm to check in for the 10:00pm tour (along with 10+ other participants). You called at 9:58p to say you were "on the way" but weren't able to disclose your exact location--we explained that... More 

Travelers who viewed Charleston's Best Tours, LLC also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston's Best Tours, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Charleston's Best Tours, LLC staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?