We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandcastle Water Park

1000 Sandcastle Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15120
+1 412-462-6666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 91 Attractions in Pittsburgh
Type: Water Parks
Owner description: Sandcastle is Pittsburgh's favorite destination for refreshing water fun! Open since 1989, this park spans 60-acres and offers over a dozen different... more » Owner description: Sandcastle is Pittsburgh's favorite destination for refreshing water fun! Open since 1989, this park spans 60-acres and offers over a dozen different water slides with varying speeds and angles of descent for thrill seekers of all levels. If you prefer to stay dry, take a leisurely stroll on the Boardwalk where you can enjoy food and games. From company outings to birthday celebrations, Sandcastle creates occasions everyone will remember with private VIP cabanas to tents for larger gatherings and plentiful food options with our professional service staff. With attractions like Thunder Run, Lazy River, and Wet Willie's Water Works for children, Sandcastle has something for everyone! « less
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    21
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

Park is overpriced. Little kids can't do much here. We rented a cabana. Although it was nice to have a little personal space , that's all it was. We were there for 3 hours and 15 minutes before we saw a waitress. Long after we gave up and stood in line and got food at regular price. Couldn't get drinks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 NEW

I like the smallness of this park and the local access as well. It is neither grand nor new but for a half-day family outing it is full of fun. The rides vary from tall and steep to very benign and you do not have to fight huge crowds most days. It will not fill an entire day but can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ringwood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The park itself is nice and mostly clean. Great location on the river and love the chairs on the grassy area with view of the pool, river and trains. Here's the but...the food is absolutely terrible. If I had known how bad we would've brought a picnic. The "healthiest" thing I found was grilled chicken sandwich. This was made by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Took seven kids for a day at Sandcastle. Wanted to save some money and pre order the food (which I appreciate that Sandcastle offers). The Guest Services department printed out my vouchers and tickets and all went smoothly. It was a cooler day in Pittsburgh so it was not too crowded and there were plenty of chairs available. When the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your experience at the food stand when you were redeeming your food vouchers that you purchased online. The Manager that you spoke with was misinformed and your voucher did entitle you to a drink with all of the combo meals that you purchased online. I wish that we could... More

Oil City, PA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I went to Sandcastle with a group of friends on Saturday, August 9th. We got there a little later, around 12:30pm (park opened at 11am), so there was no wait in line. I was a little weary of going to Sandcastle because of the reviews that I had read on here about the park, mostly that rides would be closed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sandcastle does offer many ways to save on regular admission tickets in addition to Giant Eagle including many online specials throughout the season. You can always check our discount page on the website for the many ways to save. Thanks again and we hope you visit us again soon! More

Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 attraction reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Buy your tickets at the Giant to get discount admission. Lines weren't too long, had a lot of fun with friends and kids. The water smells very musty though and it was quite cloudy in the wave pool, yuck! Waited 30 min in line for Tony's Pizza and they told me I would have to wait for pepperoni. They only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your day and I have passed your comments along to our management team regarding your experience at Uncle Tony's Pizza. Sandcastle offers a variety of food throughout the park and in order to deliver the freshest product possible, a wait is sometimes necessary. Thanks again and we hope you... More

Monroeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I am a season pass holder at Sandcastle water park in Homestead, PA. Myself and my two boys purchased season passes a few weeks ago. Today, an unfortunate event occurred while at the water park. Someone went into our bag and stole our belongings. In addition to my wallet, the person also took our (mine and both of my boys)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your experience at Sandcastle yesterday. We do recommend that all guests use a locker to secure their valuables or leave them in their locked vehicle. With that being said, the team member you spoke with was misinformed and we will in fact replace your pass for free due to the situation. Please visit guest... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I lived in pittsburgh all my life and just recently have been able to come back and enjoy sandcastle now that my kids are old enough to enjoy the rides. I never felt that it was worth the money for small children when they couldn't enjoy the slides. Everyone had a great time. The biggest drawback is the food lines.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

haven't been here in 30? years and now i brought my family. We had a great time riding the water slides and hanging out in the lazy river which is nice and long like lazy rivers should be. Food prices are pretty steep--recommend bringing your own snacks and drinks like we did. Get there at opening to avoid lines or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amity, Pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I took our 3 kids here on, Friday, July 11th. The park the entire day wasn't overly crowded, which was nice! Getting there once you arrive into the town of "Homestead" is hard! Sandcastle needs clearer signs on how to get INTO the parking lot. Admission is totally overpriced for the park size. We rented a medium... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

Jill, Thank you for your review. I want to take a few minutes and address some of your concerns. I have passed your comments on to our food and beverage managers. We do have sprinklers located along the boardwalk and strongly suggest footwear to be worn as well. Sandcastle works to keep admission prices affordable and has many options located... More

Travelers who viewed Sandcastle Water Park also viewed

 

Been to Sandcastle Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing