We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandcastle Water Park

1000 Sandcastle Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15120
+1 412-462-6666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 92 Attractions in Pittsburgh
Type: Water Parks
Owner description: Sandcastle is Pittsburgh's favorite destination for refreshing water fun! Open since 1989, this park spans 60-acres and offers over a dozen different... more » Owner description: Sandcastle is Pittsburgh's favorite destination for refreshing water fun! Open since 1989, this park spans 60-acres and offers over a dozen different water slides with varying speeds and angles of descent for thrill seekers of all levels. If you prefer to stay dry, take a leisurely stroll on the Boardwalk where you can enjoy food and games. From company outings to birthday celebrations, Sandcastle creates occasions everyone will remember with private VIP cabanas to tents for larger gatherings and plentiful food options with our professional service staff. With attractions like Thunder Run, Lazy River, and Wet Willie's Water Works for children, Sandcastle has something for everyone! « less
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    22
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Family and I were recently at a amusement and water park called Dorney park (nice place) a week before coming to Sandcastle water park in Pittsburgh. When we got to Sandcastle we were a little disappointed. For starters, we met a young attendant in the parking lot who was extremely rude and lazy. We were bothering him by asking how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

We appreciate our guests comments and I have passed some of them along to the Sandcastle management team. You can always email us at feedback@sandcastlewaterpark.com about your experience to help us identify if something at park needs to be addressed or tweaked. More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My friend and I have been going to Sandcastle for 4 years now and we love the park. This year we got our season passes as usual. We purchased a locker and put our passes in there. When we got home, we realized the ID cards were nowhere to be found. I immediately called the park and their response was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Park is overpriced. Little kids can't do much here. We rented a cabana. Although it was nice to have a little personal space , that's all it was. We were there for 3 hours and 15 minutes before we saw a waitress. Long after we gave up and stood in line and got food at regular price. Couldn't get drinks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I like the smallness of this park and the local access as well. It is neither grand nor new but for a half-day family outing it is full of fun. The rides vary from tall and steep to very benign and you do not have to fight huge crowds most days. It will not fill an entire day but can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ringwood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The park itself is nice and mostly clean. Great location on the river and love the chairs on the grassy area with view of the pool, river and trains. Here's the but...the food is absolutely terrible. If I had known how bad we would've brought a picnic. The "healthiest" thing I found was grilled chicken sandwich. This was made by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

We appreciate all of our guests comments and concerns. We are glad you had a great day. We appreciate your feekback and have passed this along to our management team. We encourage our guests to share their experiences with us at feedback@sandcastlewaterpark.com to help us recognize if something at the park needs to be addressed or tweak. More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Took seven kids for a day at Sandcastle. Wanted to save some money and pre order the food (which I appreciate that Sandcastle offers). The Guest Services department printed out my vouchers and tickets and all went smoothly. It was a cooler day in Pittsburgh so it was not too crowded and there were plenty of chairs available. When the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your experience at the food stand when you were redeeming your food vouchers that you purchased online. The Manager that you spoke with was misinformed and your voucher did entitle you to a drink with all of the combo meals that you purchased online. I wish that we could... More

Oil City, PA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I went to Sandcastle with a group of friends on Saturday, August 9th. We got there a little later, around 12:30pm (park opened at 11am), so there was no wait in line. I was a little weary of going to Sandcastle because of the reviews that I had read on here about the park, mostly that rides would be closed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sandcastle does offer many ways to save on regular admission tickets in addition to Giant Eagle including many online specials throughout the season. You can always check our discount page on the website for the many ways to save. Thanks again and we hope you visit us again soon! More

Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
42 attraction reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Buy your tickets at the Giant to get discount admission. Lines weren't too long, had a lot of fun with friends and kids. The water smells very musty though and it was quite cloudy in the wave pool, yuck! Waited 30 min in line for Tony's Pizza and they told me I would have to wait for pepperoni. They only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your day and I have passed your comments along to our management team regarding your experience at Uncle Tony's Pizza. Sandcastle offers a variety of food throughout the park and in order to deliver the freshest product possible, a wait is sometimes necessary. Thanks again and we hope you... More

Monroeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I am a season pass holder at Sandcastle water park in Homestead, PA. Myself and my two boys purchased season passes a few weeks ago. Today, an unfortunate event occurred while at the water park. Someone went into our bag and stole our belongings. In addition to my wallet, the person also took our (mine and both of my boys)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your experience at Sandcastle yesterday. We do recommend that all guests use a locker to secure their valuables or leave them in their locked vehicle. With that being said, the team member you spoke with was misinformed and we will in fact replace your pass for free due to the situation. Please visit guest... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I lived in pittsburgh all my life and just recently have been able to come back and enjoy sandcastle now that my kids are old enough to enjoy the rides. I never felt that it was worth the money for small children when they couldn't enjoy the slides. Everyone had a great time. The biggest drawback is the food lines.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Sandcastle Water Park also viewed

 

Been to Sandcastle Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing